Skip to main content
Article thumbnail
Location of Repository

Selected students of Leopold Auer: a study in violin performance-practice

By Ruth Elizabeth Rodrigues


This thesis investigates the teaching and legacy of Leopold Auer; it addresses, in particular to what extent his promulgation of the ‘German’ School of Violin Playing was instrumental in establishing the ‘Russian’ and ‘American’ Schools. Recent research in late 19th-century violin performance-practice has focused mainly on the ‘German’ and ‘Franco-Belgian’ Schools, and on tracing ‘genealogies’ of violin playing, especially within the ‘German’ school itself. Auer, however, has been little studied, as remarkably is also true for descendents of the German school such as Ossip Schnirlin, Benno Rabinof, and Mischa Weisbord. This research will also briefly examine the authority of Joachim and Auer (who were both native Hungarians) on their students with regards to Hungarian musical gestures and Gypsy performance styles, in an era where violin playing was more uniform and the style hongrois gradually disappearing from Western music altogether. A clearer picture of Auer, his influence and the achievements of his students, allows us to form a more sophisticated image of late 19th-century to early 20th-century violin performance practice, and of the much disputed question of the existence of distinct national schools in this important transitional era

Topics: ML Literature of music
Year: 2010
OAI identifier:

Suggested articles


  1. (1924). Alexander (1873-1949): Saint-Säens The Swan
  2. (1966). Dynamik und Agogik. Lehrbuch der musikalischen Phrasierung auf Grund einer Revision der Lehre von der musikalischen Metrik und Rhythmik (Hamburg, 1884) RIEMANN, HUGO, A Dictionary of Music (London,
  3. (1948). Knocker as A Treatise on the Fundamental Principles of Violin Playing doi
  4. (2004). The Cambridge Companion to Elgar (Cambridge: doi
  5. (1992). The Cambridge Companion to the Violin (Cambridge: doi
  6. (1984). The Musical Quarterly , doi
  7. (1958). transcribed for violin and piano by David Hochstein (New York: Carl Fischer,

To submit an update or takedown request for this paper, please submit an Update/Correction/Removal Request.