Location of Repository

Escherichia coli ornithine carbamolytransferase isoenzymes: evolutionary significance and the isolation of lambdaargF and lambdaargI transducing bacteriophages.

By C Legrain, V Stalon and N Glansdorff


Among the Enterobacteriaceae, Escherichia coli K-12 is the only strain known to have two structural genes (argF and argI) for ornithine carbamoyltransferase. The two gene products interact to form a family of four functional isoenzymes, respectively designated FFF, FFI, FII, and III. The FFF and III isoenzymes exhibit nearly identical kinetic parameters in the conditions applied. FFF is more thermolabile than III; this allows the straightforward characterization of new transducing phages carrying either argF or argI. The bearing of the available information regarding ornithine carbamoyltransferase isoenzymes on the evolution of the ancestral E. coli chromosome is reconsidered

Topics: Research Article
Year: 1976
OAI identifier: oai:pubmedcentral.nih.gov:232823
Provided by: PubMed Central
Sorry, our data provider has not provided any external links therefore we are unable to provide a link to the full text.

Suggested articles

To submit an update or takedown request for this paper, please submit an Update/Correction/Removal Request.