

Available online at www.sciencedirect.com



Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science

Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science 256 (2009) 1-3

www.elsevier.com/locate/entcs

Preface

This volume contains the proceedings of the Fourth Workshop on Logical and Semantic Frameworks, with Applications (LSFA 2009). The workshop was held in Brasília, Brazil on August 28, 2009, as an affiliated event of the Federated Conference on Rewriting, Deduction and Programming (RDP 2009). Previous workshops have been organized in Natal (2006), Ouro Preto (2007) and Salvador (2008).

The aim of LSFA is to bring together researchers and students interested in theoretical and practical aspects of logical and semantic frameworks and their applications. This includes topics such as proof, type and rewriting theory, specification and deduction languages, formal semantics of languages and systems, among others.

For LSFA 2009, 7 regular papers were accepted for presentation out of 9 complete submissions. Each submission was reviewed by at least three reviewers, and an electronic Program Committee (PC) meeting was held using Voronkov's *EasyChair* system. The reviews were written by the 30 PC members and 9 additional reviewers. We would like to thank the PC members and the additional reviewers for doing such a great job in writing high-quality reviews in time and participating in the electronic PC discussion.

The LSFA 2009 program also included three invited talks by Delia Kesner (Pattern Calculi), Jonathan Seldin (A Reduction in Combinatory Logic Equivalent to $\lambda\beta$ -Reduction) and Luis Fariñas del Cerro (Deduction and Abduction of Information about an Entity), from which a technical contribution of the latter was reviewed and included in the proceedings.

In addition to the PC members, the authors and the invited speakers, many people helped to make LSFA 2009 a success. In particular, we would like to thank the LSFA Local Chair, Cláudia Nalon, who worked hard and was highly instrumental in guaranteeing this success.

Finally, we would like to thank the sponsors of LSFA 2009: the District Federal Research Support Foundation (FAPDF) and the Coordination of Personnel Trainning in Higher Education of the Brazilian Education Ministry (CAPES), the Brazilian Computer Science Society (SBC) and the Universidade de Brasília (UnB).

Program Committee

Serge Autexier	(DFKI, Bremen, Germany)		
Mauricio Ayala-Rincón	(UnB, Brasília, Brazil), Co-chair		
Benjamin R. C. Bedregal	(UFRN, Natal, Brazil)		
Mario Benevides	(UFRJ, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)		
Guilherme Bittencourt	(UFSC, Santa Catarina, Brazil)		
Christiano Braga	(UFF, Niteroi, Brazil)		
Andreas Brunner	(UFBA, Salvador, Brazil)		
Marcelo Coniglio	(UNICAMP, Campinas, Brazil)		
Clare Dixon	(University of Liverpool, UK)		
Gilles Dowek	(École Polytechnique, Paris, France)		
William Farmer	(McMaster University, Hamilton, Canada)		
Marcelo Finger	(USP, São Paulo, Brazil)		
Edward H. Haeusler	(PUC Rio, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)		
Tudor Jebelean	(RISC Johannes Kepler University, Austria)		
Fairouz Kamareddine	(Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK), co-chair		
Manfred Kerber	(The University of Birmingham, UK)		
Luis C. Lamb	(UFRGS, Porto Alegre, Brazil)		
Daniel Leivant	(Indiana University, USA)		
Joo Marcos	(UFRN, Natal, Brazil)		
Ana Teresa C. Martins	(UFC, Fortaleza, Brazil)		
Dale Miller	(INRIA Saclay, Orsay, France)		
Flvio L. C. de Moura	(UnB, Brasília, Brazil)		
Luca Paolini	(Università di Torino, Italy)		
Alberto Pardo	(Universidad de la República, Uruguay)		
Elaine Pimentel	(UFMG, Belo Horizonte, Brazil)		
Ruy de Queiroz	(UFPE, Recife, Brazil)		
Simona R. Della Rocca	(Università di Torino, Italy)		
Amr Sabry	(Indiana University, USA)		
Christian Urban	(TUM, Munich, Germany)		
Freek Wiedijk	(Radboud Universiteit, Nijmegen, The Netherlands)		

Additional Reviewers

	Daniel Lima Ventura	Alexis Saurin		Marcello D'Agostino	
	Luca Vercelli	Katsuhik	to Sano	Thomas Schneider	
	Balder ten Cate	Petrucio	Viana	Renata de Freitas	
Organizing Committee					
	Cláudia Nalon		(UnB, Brasília, Brazil), Local Chair		
	Elaine Pimentel		(UFMG, E	MG, Belo Horizonte, Brazil)	
	Edward Hermann Haeusler		(PUC Rio, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)		
	Mauricio Ayala-Rincón		(UnB, Brasília, Brazil)		
	Guilherme Albuquerque Pinto		(UnB, Brasília, Brazil)		
Sponsoring Institutions					

Coordination of Personnel Trainning in Higher Education of the Brazilian Education Ministry (CAPES) District Federal Research Support Foundation (FAPDF) Brazilian Computer Society (SBC) Universidade de Brasília (UnB)

> Mauricio Ayala-Rincón Fairouz Kamareddine