

Available online at www.sciencedirect.com

ScienceDirect

Procedia
Computer Science

Procedia Computer Science 97 (2016) 1 – 3



Preface



Following the successful CF2015 conference in Pisa, October 2015, the Cloud Forward 2016 Conference brings together experts from industry and academia in Madrid from 18 to 20 October 2016 in order to share, discuss and contribute towards the building of the future of - and beyond - Cloud Computing. The conference is supported by the European Commission, through the funded HOLA CLOUD project, targeting to establish effective mechanisms for efficient collaboration among the members of the Software, Services and Cloud Computing community.

The aim of this conference is twofold; (a) to establish a dedicated forum for the scientific community to discuss, exchange ideas and further advance innovative architectures, services, methodologies and mechanisms in the area of distributed or autonomic computing and (b) to contribute towards the setting of future directions and priorities in the areas of Software, Services and Cloud Computing by both industry and academia in a strongly collaborative and productive manner.

CF2016 covers different dimensions of distributed computing technologies, with an emphasis on clouds and a view towards advanced fields that it strongly relates or expands to, such as Internet of Things, Big Data and fog computing. In fact, the conference provides a platform for discussing recent developments in a wide variety of topics including management of cloud environments, policy management, resource-aware data placement, mobile cloud applications, SLAs, Semantic Web, security, privacy and legal issues.

We would like to thank all participants for their contributions to the conference programme and these proceedings. We would also like to express our warm thanks to the Programme Committee members for their expertise, time and enthusiasm. Last but not least, we would like to thank Elsevier for supporting publications of the conference proceedings.

Given the rapidity with which research is advancing in all of the areas and topics covered by CF2016, we expect that the future Cloud Forward conferences will be at least as stimulating and far-reaching as this most recent one is.

Keith G Jeffery, euroCRIS Lutz Schubert, U Ulm Vassiliki Andronikou, ICCS/NTUA Efstathios Karanastasis, ICCS/NTUA Geir Horn, UIO

CF2016 Conference Committees

Conference Co-Chairs

Keith Jeffery – euroCRIS, UK

Lutz Schubert - University of Ulm, Germany

Conference Executive Committee

Antonella Fresa, Promoter srl, Italy

Eva Garcia, RTDI, Spain

Tiziana Lombardo, Promoter srl. Italy

Claudio Prandoni, Promoter srl, Italy

Diego Rey, RTDI, Spain

International Scientific Committee

Jörn Altmann, Seoul National University, South Korea

Danilo Ardagna, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Alvaro Arenas, Instituto de empresa business school, Spain

Rosa Badia, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain

Dalibor Baskovc, EuroCloud Slovenia, Slovenia

Ivona Brandic, Tuwien, Austria

Göetz Brasche, Huawei, Germany

Rakjumar Buyya, University of Melbourne, Australia

Daniele Cattedu, Cloud Security Alliance, France

Kumardev Chatterjee, Unmanned Life, Belgium

Yin Chen, EGI, Netherlands

Patrizio Dazzi, ISTI-CNR, Italy

Alex Delis, University of Athens, Greece

Nuria de Lama, ATOS, Spain

Beniamino di Martino, Seconda universita degli studi di Napoli, Italy

Jörg Domaschka, University of Ulm, Germany

Peter Domschitz, CenoLabs, Germany

Kevin Doolin, TSSG - Waterford Institute of Technology, Ireland

Michel Drescher, Cloud Consult, UK

Schahram Dustdar, TU Vienna, Austria

Michael Fehse, Consultant, Germany

Mike Fisher, BT, United Kingdom

Georgina Gallizo, 1&1, Germany

Anastasius Gavras, Eurescom, Germany

Yuri Glickman, Fraunhofer, FOKUS, Germany

Peer Hasselmeyer, NEC, Germany

Geir Horn, University of Oslo, Norway

Yücel Karabulut, VMware, United States

Roger Kilian-Kehr, Huawei, Germany

Alexander Kipp, Bosch, Germany

George Kousiou, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Dimos Kyriazis, Piraeus University, Greece

Keith Jeffery, euroCRIS, UK

Ilias Maglogiannis, University of Piraeus, Greece

Maciei Malawski, AGH University of Science and Technology, Poland

Philippe Massonet, CETIC, Belgium

Andreas Menychtas, National Technical University of Athens, Greece

Ralph Müller-Pfefferkorn, TU Dresden, Germany

Burkhard Neidecker-Lutz, SAP, Germany Jörg Nolte, BTU Cottbus, Germany Leire Orue-Echevarria Arrieta, TECNALIA, Spain Dana Petcu, West University of Timisoara, Romania Paolo Romano, INESC-ID/IST, Portugal Alessandro Rossini, SINTEF, Norway Lutz Schubert, University of Ulm, Germany Uwe Schwiegelshohn, TU Dortmund University, Germany Lionel Seinturier, INRIA, France Craig Sheridan, Flexiant, United Kingdom Olaf Spinczyk, TU Dortmund University, Germany Domenico Talia, University of Calabria, Italy Stefan Tai, TU Berlin, Germany Wolfgang Theilmann, SAP, Germany Marinos Themistocleous, University of Piraeus, Greece Cedric Thomas, OW2, France Luis Vacquero, Hewlett Packard Labs, United Kingdom

Mazin Yousif, T-Systems International, United States Wolfgang Ziegler, Fraunhofer Institute SCAI, Germany

Philipp Wieder, GWDG, Germany