





**Calhoun: The NPS Institutional Archive** 

History of NPS

Committee on the Future

2011-09-20

## Dr. Karl van Bibber, Vice-President & Dean of Research, Naval Postgraduate School (Biographical Essay)

Naval Postgraduate School Committee on the Future



Calhoun is a project of the Dudley Knox Library at NPS, furthering the precepts and goals of open government and government transparency. All information contained herein has been approved for release by the NPS Public Affairs Officer.

> Dudley Knox Library / Naval Postgraduate School 411 Dyer Road / 1 University Circle Monterey, California USA 93943

NPS Home

About NPS

Academics

Administration

Library Research

Technology

Services

Calendar | Directory SEARCH





Home

Contact Us

Membership
Charge
Timeline Overview
Publications & Media

Documents
Send Us Your Comments

## Member

Dr. Karl van Bibber Vice-President & Dean of Research, Naval Postgraduate School

Karl van Bibber received B.S. (Physics, Mathematics) and Ph.D. (Physics) degrees from the Massachusetts Institute for Technology, where he subsequently served as Instructor of physics. After a Lectureship at the University of California Berkeley, and Postdoctoral fellowship at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, he joined the faculty of Stanford University, serving as Assistant Professor of Physics from 1980-1985.

He joined LLNL in 1985, where he founded and built up the High Energy Physics & Accelerator Technology Group, bringing the Laboratory into collaboration with DOE Office of Science laboratories in the design, construction and scientific exploitation of accelerators for high energy physics. He was the LLNL Project Leader for the SLAC/LBNL/LLNL B Factory accelerator and detector, which announced the discovery of CP-violation in the b-quark system in July 2000, and Program Leader for R&D on the future International Linear Collider. He is Co-Spokesperson for the Axion Dark Matter eXperiment (ADMX) sited at Livermore, the most sensitive search for axionic dark matter in the world.

In 2001, he became Chief Scientist for the Physics & Space Technologies Directorate. In 2002 was appointed Deputy Director of the Laboratory Science & Technology Office (LSTO) at LLNL, providing day-to-day management of the Laboratory's \$95M Laboratory Directed Research and Development (LDRD) Program. In 2007 he was appointed Chief Scientist for the newly-constituted Physical Sciences Directorate.

He joined the Naval Postgraduate School in January 2009, serving as Vice-President and Dean of Research. He also holds an appointment to Professor of Physics within the Graduate School of Engineering and Applied Sciences.

He has authored or co-authored more than 100 papers in nuclear and particle physics, accelerator technology, and particle astrophysics. He was the recipient of an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship (1982), the Director's Distinguished Performance Award for the B Factory (1997), and the LLNL Science and Technology Award (2002, with the B Factory team) for outstanding scientific and technical contributions to the discovery of CP-violation in the B-Meson System. In 2000 he shared the DOE Deputy Secretary's Award for the B Factory. In 2001 was elected Fellow of the American Physical Society, and in 2006 he was elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, for his research in dark matter. Five physics postdoctoral fellowships were endowed in his name at Stanford University in 2005 by an anonymous industrialist and Stanford alumnus. He currently serves as the Vice-Chair of the California Section of the American Physical Society.

Contacts | Employment | Copyright/Accessibility | Privacy Policy | FOIA | Intranet Access

This is an official U.S. Navy website.

All information contained herein has been approved for release by the NPS Public Affairs Officer.

Page Last Updated: Sep 20, 2011 10:58:24 AM | Contact the Webmaster