

EURASIP Journal on Applied Signal Processing 2003:1, 1–2 © 2003 Hindawi Publishing Corporation

Message from the Editor-in-Chief

Marc Moonen

Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, ESAT-SISTA, Kasteelpark Arenberg 10, B-3001 Heverlee, Belgium Email: marc.moonen@esat.kuleuven.ac.be

Only two years ago, EURASIP Journal on Applied Signal Processing was launched. By now EURASIP JASP is a codeword known to everyone in the signal processing community. Its rise was spectacular and beyond everyone's expectation. Editor-in-Chief Prof. K. J. R. Liu (University of Maryland, College Park, USA) initiated the "Special Issue" system, which now in particular differentiates EURASIP JASP from other signal processing journals and in its start-up phase allowed EURASIP JASP to immediately gain momentum. Selecting timely topics for the special issues and striking a good balance between special issue papers and submitted regular papers have been crucial to the success of EURASIP JASP and will continue to be a major editorial target. The immediate success of EURASIP JASP also led to a spectacular increase in the number of published pages per year, already at the start of 2002. EURASIP JASP now publishes more pages annually than most other journals in the signal processing area.

I sincerely thank Prof. Liu for the magnificent work he has done in launching EURASIP JASP. I feel very grateful, challenged, and motivated to be given the opportunity to continue his work.

Over the past two years, Prof. Liu has been backed up by an outstanding Editorial Board. Apart from organizing regular paper reviews, the Editorial Board is responsible for the selection of suitable topics for the special issues and hence plays a crucial role in *shaping* EURASIP JASP. I would like to take the opportunity to welcome our new Editorial Board members: Prof. K. Barner (University of Delaware, Newark, USA); Prof. P. Djuric (Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, USA); Prof. T. Ebrahimi (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland); Prof. M. Gabbouj (Tampere University of Technology, Tampere, Finland); Prof. S. H. Jensen (CPK, Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark); Prof. T. Kalker (TU Eindhoven and Philips Research, Eindhoven, The Netherlands); Prof. S. U. Lee (Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea); Prof. B. Ottersten (KTH - Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Stockholm, Sweden); Prof. D. Slock (Eurécom Institute, Sophia Antipolis, France); Prof. X. Wang (Columbia University, New York, USA).

Prof. Liu and I would also like to express our heartfelt thanks to the Editors currently retiring from the Board: Prof. I. Defee (Tampere University of Technology, Tampere, Finland); Prof. E. Deprettere (Leiden University, Leiden, The Netherlands); Dr. S. Katagiri (NTT Communication Science Laboratories, Japan); Prof. J. Mendel (University of Southern California, Los Angeles, USA); Dr. R. Nakatsu (Advanced Telecommunications Research Institute, Japan); Dr. Raja Rajasekarn (Texas Instruments, USA); Prof. W. Sandham (University of Strathclyde, Strathclyde, UK); Prof. M.-T. Sun (University of Washington, Seattle, USA); Prof. Y. Wang (University of Texas, Dallas, USA); Prof. Z. Xiong (Texas A&M University, College Station, USA).

During my dress rehearsal as Editor-in-Chief, I have also been particularly impressed with the support provided by "Hindawi Publishing Corporation," its technical staff and especially Dr. Ahmed Hindawi, whose entrepreneurship has certainly been another crucial factor in the success of EURASIP JASP. I certainly look forward to our further cooperation.

I would also like to acknowledge the continued support from the EURASIP Advisory Committee, its past President Prof. P. Grant, as well as its current president Prof. F. Marqués. It is a pleasure to announce that the EURASIP AdCom has recently decided to install an annual EURASIP JASP Best Paper Award. More information on this will be provided in a future issue.

From this year on, EURASIP JASP will adopt a new publication policy in that it will publish as many issues as necessary, based on the flow of accepted manuscripts. For 2003, we have quoted "14± issues," meaning we expect to publish about 14 issues, but we could have more, for example, if more regular papers are accepted or if more special issues are finalized in time for publication in 2003. A significant advantage of this procedure is that if we receive a special issue proposal that needs a fast track or if we have a special issue that is finalized ahead of schedule, we can publish the special issue immediately, without delaying something already scheduled. We will also separate special issues from regular issues, meaning we will now publish issues with regular papers only. We

believe this adds to the attraction of setting up special issues and submitting papers for the special issues and for the regular issues. We do hope you will find this convenient.

Finally, I would again like to encourage everyone to support our journal, by submitting papers, by assisting in reviewing papers, by suggesting special issue topics, and by writing to us and expressing ideas and suggestions. The journal will certainly benefit greatly from your comments and feedback.

Marc Moonen Editor-in-Chief

Marc Moonen received the electrical engineering degree and the Ph.D. degree in applied sciences from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Leuven, Belgium, in 1986 and 1990, respectively. Since 2000, he has been an Associate Professor at the Electrical Engineering Department of Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, where he is currently heading a research team of 16 Ph.D. candidates and postdocs, working in the area of sig-



nal processing for digital communications, wireless communications, DSL, and audio signal processing. He received the 1994 K.U. Leuven Research Council Award, the 1997 Alcatel Bell (Belgium) Award (with Piet Vandaele), and was a 1997 "Laureate of the Belgium Royal Academy of Science." He was Chairman of the IEEE Benelux Signal Processing Chapter (1998–2002). He is a EURASIP AdCom member (European Association for Signal, Speech and Image Processing) (since 2000) and a member of the editorial boards of Integration, the VLSI Journal, EURASIP Journal on Applied Signal Processing, and the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems II.