Columbia College Chicago Digital Commons @ Columbia College Chicago

Commencement Programs

College Publications

6-7-1974

1974 Commencement Program

Columbia College Chicago

Follow this and additional works at: http://digitalcommons.colum.edu/commencement



Part of the History Commons

Recommended Citation

Columbia College Chicago, "1974 Commencement Program" (1974). Commencement Programs, College Publications, College Archives & Special Collections, Columbia College Chicago.

This Book is brought to you for free and open access by the College Publications at Digital Commons @ Columbia College Chicago. It has been accepted for inclusion in Commencement Programs by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ Columbia College Chicago.

COLUMBIA COLLEGE CHICAGO

COMMENCEMENT 1974

The 1974 Commencement is dedicated to the memory of Albert P. Weisman (1913-1974), member of the Board of Trustees and the College's Faculty.

He was our dear friend and good counsel.

Friday Evening
June 7, 1974
at eight o'clock in
The Auditorium of
Prudential Plaza

Program

Prelude and "Sanctus" from Mass in D Minor

Processional Conducted by the composer Joseph Reiser

Columbia College Center for New Music

(The audience is requested to remain seated during

the Processional.)

Introduction H. Thaine Lyman, Chairperson, Television

Department, Columbia College

Invocation The Reverend Raymond Sullivan

Archdiocesan, Co-ordinator for Campus

Ministry, Chicago Archdiocese

Music "Love's Sweet Fruttage" from Song of Songs

... by William Russo

the man Albert Williams the woman Barbara Cody

Presentation of the Distinguished Honors

Commencement Albert E. Jenner, Jr.

Address

Music "Canticle"

... by William Russo Soloist, Emiko Suzuki

Presentation of Faculty Citations

Presentation of Student Honors

Class Spokesperson Paul Joseph Hodge, Jr.

Charge to the Mirron Alexandroff

Graduates President of the College

Award of Degrees

Music "The Farmer's Wife" from The Civil War

... William Russo/Irma Routen

Text by Paul Horgan Soloist, Carrie Badgley

Recessional "Lovely Ladies" from Isabella's Fortune

... by William Russo
Text by Albert Williams

Soloists, Sherman Washington, Barbara

Cody, Albert Williams

Distinguished Honors

Ruth Page

An Honorary Degree: Doctor of Arts

"Premier danseuse. Free spirit. Consummate artist of movement and joy."

Presented by Shirley Mordine Chairperson, Department of Dance, Columbia College

Ivan Albright

An Honorary Degree: Doctor of Arts

"Master painter. Your profound artistic statement will stand for ages to come."

Presented by Harry Bouras
Chairperson, Department of Humanities, Columbia College

Charlemae Rollins

An Honorary Degree: Doctor of Humane Letters

"Unique woman. You made a library a temple of life and put books in the hands of countless children who, without you, would not have known the world or their own delight."

Presented by Cyrus Colter Eminent Writer

James T. Farrell

An Honorary Degree: Doctor of Letters

"A great writer. Indeed, an American giant. Your extraordinary artistry has made us more human: more knowing, more feeling."

Presented by Harry Mark Petrakis Celebrated American Writer

Albert E. Jenner, Jr.

An Honorary Degree: Doctor of Humane Letters

"Your lifeswork is a brilliant catalogue of devotions to a rational and compassionate system of human relationship and to the noblest ideals of law in a free society."

Presented by Kenneth F. Montgomery Distinguished Lawyer

Faculty Citations

David Avison, Photography Department Michael Rabiger, Motion Picture Department

Presented by Members of the 1974 Graduating Class

Student Honors

As First Scholar in his class Robert Forrest Lupu

For Excellence in Creative Writing
George H. Bailey
Curtis E. Bechtel
Dorothy Jean Gails
Rose Simon

For Excellence in Photographic Arts
Eric H. Futran
Glen Cecil Koyama
Carlton C. McAvey
Constance Scanlon
Ruth Thorne-Thomson

For Excellence in Television Arts George James Kapoulas

For Excellence in Graphic Arts Eric Neil Kister

For Outstanding Achievement in the Public Arts Vandell E. Cobb

"Who has put his intelligence and imaginative abilities to significant social and educational purpose."

The Graduating Class of 1974

Bachelor of Arts Degree

Roger Frank Alter George H. Bailey Raymond J. Baldy Anthony Bartolomeo Charles E. Bean, III Curtis E. Bechtel Eliezer Berger James Bicknell Marsha Carolyn Bise Jay W. Boersma Carl Burdinie Robert Michael Cabanban Randall Patrick Clark Frank Albert Clay Karen Cooper Richard Lee Cornell Carleton W. Curry Gregory J. Davidson Bruce L. Drennan Kurt William Dressel Joel Estes Todd D. Evans Thomas L. Eulberg James W. Ewing William Michael Ficht Jon J. Fistler Mark D. Fritkin Eric H. Futran Dorothy Jean Gails Steven John Garland Deirdre Eileen Garvey William Gathings Melvyna Gaynor Laurence M. Glickman Candace Smith Gray Mark Fredrick Grippo James Bernard Gross Steven Gurner John Hall, Jr. Joyce Elizabeth Hendrickson **Bruce James Hickey** Paul Joseph Hodge, Jr. Larry David Hovde Lonnie Hurd, Jr. Kenneth L. Ingles

Marsha Gracie Jenks Carol J. Johnson Ronald Earl Johnson George James Kapoulas Edward J. Kaufman Horace Wardell King Mashruwala Kiran R. Eric Neil Kister Janette S. Koga Stephanie Kolakowski Glen Cecil Koyama Markus John Potter Kruesi Edward A. Kudlik, Jr. Harriet Kurkov Ronald C. J. Lapinski Martin Hal Levin Belinda Louise Lewis George J. Loechl Robert Forrest Lupu Eleanor E. Maas Carlton C. McAvey Michael E. Motenko Greg Roman Mroczek Cary I. Nasatir Robert Bruce Navratil Robert Stephen Neches Sean O'Connor Todd Ellsworth Opela John A. Orb, Jr. Glen F. Pekin Keith Bernard Perry Randall Glenn Piant Gregory Allen Pirolo Bruce Vincent Rehberger James C. Robinson Ira Steven Saltzman Richard Charles Sandoval Constance Scanlon Doris Ann Schubert Linda J. Schwartz Joanne Seymour **Drew Shiflett** Stephen Brooks Siegel Rose Simon Sharman Skally

Laurene Orlanda Slicer Elliott Jerone Smith John Sopcic Sharon L. Strickler Keith Wayne Swinden James Edward Syme Ruth Thorne-Thomson Robert B. Tolchin Cecilia H. Tracz Daniel M. Troiani
Martin Turck
Peter Vitone
Irwin Weiner
Sanford Scott Weinstein
Gary Fleet Whitney
Bruce D. Wilson
James Edward Woodley

Board of Trustees of Columbia College

Alfred B. Perlman, Chairman

Samuel J. Baskin
Deanna Bezark
Harry Bouras
Patricia Crowley
Patrick F. Crowley
Roger Davis
Dwight W. Follett
Franklin Fried
Sydney Gordon
Myron Hokin
H. Ernest Lafontant
Stanton Leggett

Richard P. Miller
John Naisbitt
Stephen M. Neumer
Richard S. Rosenzweig
Robert L. Rothschild
Alan Saks
Erwin A. Salk
Hope Samuels
Devorah E. Sherman
David S. Solomon
William W. Wilkow

Barry Burlison, Faculty Member John Hagman, Faculty Member Lynn Koons, Faculty Member Thaine Lyman, Faculty Member

Mirron Alexandroff, President, Columbia College