

LEARNING TECHNOLOGIST OF THE YEAR AWARD 2012

The Association for
Learning Technology's
Learning Technologist of
the Year Award
celebrates and rewards
excellent practice and
outstanding achievement
in the learning technology field.

This year's entries again represent a wide range of practitioners from across educational sectors. Their examples of overcoming the challenges posed by economic, social and technological change demonstrate an inspiring commitment to learners, to colleagues and to their own professional development that this award honours.

The Award was presented at the ALT conference in Manchester in September 2012.

Individual Award

Winners



Steph Ladbrooke, Pedmore CofE Primary School.

Steph Ladbrooke is joint winner of the individual award. Her enthusiastic and imaginative approach to enquiry-led learning with her Year 4 class impressed the judging panel. Particularly outstanding is Steph's use of technology-powered projects to

encourage children to support each other in their learning and to create global learning circles.



Philip Tubman, Learning Technology Group, Information Systems Services, Lancaster University

Phil Tubman is joint winner of the individual award. He was nominated for his outstanding achievements in implementing a new Virtual Learning Environment across Lancaster University and his contribution to Open Educational Resources. The judges

recognised in particular Phil's ability to effectively facilitate exchange between academic, administrative and technical staff and to translate these diverse perspectives into practice.

Highly Commended

David Renton, Extended Lecturer in Computing at Reid Kerr College

David Renton is highly commended in the individual award for his development of education games for primary school children.

James Pickering, University of Leeds

James Pickering is highly commended in the individual award for his development of a series of technology based learning resources for Higher Education.

Andy Smith, Blackpool & The Fylde College

Andy Smith is highly commended in the individual award for his construction of a Virtual Learning Environment for foundation degree students in Project Management.

Team Award

Winner

Lambeth City Learning Centre

Lambeth City Learning Centre wins the team award in recognition of the centre's commitment to developing a new business model independent of government funding and the success it has achieved doing so. Working together with schools and other organisations in the local area and increasingly further afield, the centre's team focuses on their clients' diverse needs. A deep understanding of the requirements of



Left to right:
Top row – Joe Halloran, Julia Lawrence, Valerie Cumings
Sarah Horrocks, Suki Coe, Hannah Quigley
Front row – Tim Jacques, Blossom Carrasco, Susie
Hookinson. Alistair Whyte.

teachers and learners and a vibrant imagination when it comes to use of technology contribute to the team's success and makes this an inspirational showcase of an innovate business model that has real impact on the learning experience.

Runner up

Team SCARLET, University of Manchester

Team SCARLET is joint runner up in the team award for the excellent development and implementation of the pioneering SCARLET Augmented Reality (AR) toolkit. This innovative team showed how AR toolkits can be used to enhance learner engagement with artefacts and bring library special collections to life.

Skills@Library, University of Leeds

Skills@Library is joint runner up in the team award because of their outstanding development and implementation of internationally recognised open e-learning resources. Supporting both learners and staff across a wide range of disciplines the team showed great commitment to professional and skills development.



The judging panel for 2012

The award was judged by a panel chaired by Gilly Salmon, President of ALT. The panel was:

- Eddie Erasmus representing last year's team winner (In-Folio Implementation Team based on JISC Techdis, The Rix Centre, The National College for Young People with Epilepsy, Portland College and National Star College, UK.);
- John McLaughlin recently retired from the Department for Business, Innovation & Skills, where he was responsible for policy on Learning Technologies and other uses of ICT in further and higher education;
- Oliver Quinlan one of last year's individual winners (from Robin Hood Primary School, South Birmingham, UK, but now Lecturer in Education at Plymouth University.);
- Clive Shepherd since 1997 he has operated as an independent consultant for UK and international public, private and third sector organisations. He was recognised for his Outstanding Contribution to the Training Industry at the World of Learning Conference in 2004 and for four years was Chairman of the eLearning Network.

A note about the 2013 Learning Technologist of the Year Award

Details of next year's Award will be published in early 2013.

Organisations interested in sponsoring the 2013 Award should contact Maren Deepwell, Chief Executive of ALT – maren.deepwell@alt.ac.uk

Contact us

Phone

+44 (0)1865 484 125

Email

alt@alt.ac.uk

Website

www.alt.ac.uk

Postal address

ALT, Gipsy Lane, Headington, Oxford OX3 0BP, UK

