



GOLDSMITHS Research Online

Book Section

Le Feuvre, Lisa

Joachim Koester

Copyright Exit. Please cite the publisher's version.

You may cite this version as: Le Feuvre, Lisa, 2010. Joachim Koester. In: 100 Video Artists. Exit, Barcelona, pp. 254-257. ISBN 9788493734701 [Book Section]: Goldsmiths Research Online.

Available at: http://eprints.gold.ac.uk/2917/

This document is the author's final manuscript version of the journal article, incorporating any revisions agreed during peer review. Some differences between this version and the publisher's version remain. You are advised to consult the publisher's version if you wish to cite from it.

Copyright © and Moral Rights for the papers on this site are retained by the individual authors and/or other copyright owners.

This January EXIT Publications launches its latest publication: 100 Video Artists.



100 Video Artists is a bold commitment to the medium that was born just 50 years ago, and which has become the most distinctive visual language of the 21st century.

A hundred of the most significant and innovative video artists working today, of every generation, from the pioneers who began to develop this medium to young experimental creators. Video is a new and changing form of visual expression, on the crossroads of film, television, photography and action, between conceptual art, social criticism and the documentary.

100 Video Artists is a book which includes essays by two prominent specialists in the history of video art and current international video creation (David A. Ross and Christine Van Assche). The 100 artists each have a text devoted to their practice, written by an expert on contemporary art, illustrated with images of some of their most important videos (selected by the artists themselves). The majority of the artists chose the critic or theorist who wrote their essay. Authors from the whole world and from every sphere have taken part in this landmark publication which establishes a starting point for the study and analysis of video art today.

100 Video Artists is the first publication to approach the subject at this international level: 100 artists of 36 nationalities and 85 authors from 19 countries have come together to participate in an innovative and independent project, far from the trends presented by collections, museums and the market. A work made up exclusively of visual creation and specialised criticism.

The 100 Video Artists included are:

Eija-Liisa Ahtila, Doug Aitken, Chantal Akerman, Francis Alÿs, Emmanuelle Antille, Kutlug Ataman, Michel Auder, Shoja Azari, Eugènia Balcells, Rosa Barba, Matthew Barney, Judith Barry, Yael Bartana, Guy Ben-Ner, Ursula Biemann, Dara Birnbaum, Manon de Boer, Candice Breitz, Klaus vom Bruch, François Bucher, Matthew Buckingham, Peter Campus, Janet Cardiff & George Bures Miller, Chen Chieh-Jen, David Claerbout, Javier Codesal, James Coleman, Phil Collins, Donigan Cumming, Jonas Dahlberg, Dias & Riedweg, Sebastián Díaz Morales, Willie Doherty, A K Dolven, Stan Douglas, Harun Farocki, Peter Fischli & David Weiss, Douglas Gordon, Rodney Graham, Johan Grimonprez, João Maria Gusmão & Pedro Paiva, David Hall, Doug Hall, Gary Hill, Hubbard/Birchler, Marine Hugonnier, Pierre Huyghe, Emily Jacir, Christian Jankowski, Isaac Julien, Jesper Just, William Kentridge, Joachim Koester, David Lamelas, Annika Larsson, Mark Leckey, Zilla Leutenegger, Mark Lewis, Marcellvs L., Christian Marclay, Dorit Margreiter, Steve McQueen, Bjørn Melhus, Aernout Mik, Tracey Moffatt, Bruce Nauman, Jun Nguyen-Hatsushiba, Tomás Ochoa, Marcel Odenbach, Melik Ohanian, João Onofre, Tony Oursler, Paul Pfeiffer, Pipilotti Rist, Julian Rosefeldt, Ulrike Rosenbach, Michal Rovner, Aïda Ruilova, Anri Sala, Hiraki Sawa, Ann-Sofi Sidén, Michael Snow, Sean Snyder, Jennifer Steinkamp, Hito Steyerl, Catherine Sullivan, Eve Sussman/Rufus Corporation, Fiona Tan, Sam Taylor-Wood, Salla Tykkä, Francesco Vezzoli, Bill Viola, Marijke van Warmerdam, Gillian Wearing, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Jane & Louise Wilson, Robert Wilson, Yang Fudong, Catherine Yass, Artur Zmijewski.

Authors main texts:

Christine Van Assche is Head Curator at the Centre Georges Pompidou, in charge of the New Media department. She has curated numerous exhibitions, on artists such as Nam June Paik, Marcel Odenbach, Tony Oursler, Gary Hill, Stan Douglas, Johan Grimonprez, Bruce Nauman, Pierre Huyghe, and David Claerbout, as well as thematic shows such as La Vidéo, un art, une histoire.

David A. Ross has a 38 year career as a museum professional, educator and arts entrepreneur. He directed the Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston (1982-90), the Whitney Museum, New York (1991-98), and SFMoMA, San Francisco (1998-2001). Ross has lectured at various universities across the U.S., and has served as juror and commissioner at a broad range of international exhibitions, including the Venice Biennial and the Carnegie International.

Authors artists' texts:

Carsten Ahrens, Montserrat Albores, Mieke Bal, Joaquín Barriendos, Stephan Berg, Etienne Bernard, Caroline Bourgeois, JJ Charlesworth, C. Ondine Chavoya, José Luis Clemente, Elena Crippa, Penelope Curtis, Ann Demeester, Celia Díez, Thom Donovan, Laurence Dreyfus, Davýd Elliott, Robert Enright, Harald Falckenberg, Jane Farver, Jean Fisher, Santiago García Navarro, Amber Gibson, Marta Gili, Marc Gloede, Chema González, Jennifer A. González, Samuel Gross, Paz Guevara, John G. Hanhardt, Yuko Hasegawa, Miguel Á. Hernández-Navarro, Wulf Herzogenrath, Dave Hickey, Philipp Kaiser, Thomas Kapielski, Laurence Kardish, Martha Langford, Emma Lavigne, Lisa Le Feuvre, Pedro de Llano, Francesco Manacorda, Marti Manen, Marta Mantecón Moreno, Tara McDowell, Ali MacGilp, Chris Meigh-Andrews, Philippe-Alain Michaud, Jonathan T. D. Neil, Susanne Neubauer, Michael Newman, Karen Newman, Rosa Olivares, Sean O'Toole, Jean Perret, Raphaela Platow, Mónica Portillo, George Quasha, A. L. Rees, Robert R. Riley, Sarah Robayo Sheridan, Dieter Roelstraete, Jean-Christophe Royoux, Sergio Rubira, Michael Rush, Bartholomew Ryan, Rasha Salti, Alberto Sánchez Balmisa, Daniel Schreiber, Barry Schwabsky, Karin Seinsoth, Berta Sichel, Raimar Stange, Catherine Summerhayes, Amy Taubin, Michèle Thériault, Carmela Thiele, Rachael Thomas, Gregory Volk, Gilda Williams, Octavio Zaya, Tanya Zimbardo, Lori Zippay, Maxa Zoller.

You can place your orders at:

Cataclismo. Distribution of books on art.

E-mail: circulacion@exitmedia.net | Tel. [+34] 914 058 485

To request a press kit:

EXIT Publicaciones. E-mail: redaccion@exitmedia.net | Tel. [+34] 914 049 740

