Student Media Board Committee

Fall 2015 Student Media Board Committee -

No Meeting was called by the Office of Student Development.

Spring 2016 Student Media Board Committee Meeting Minutes -

DATE – April 1, 2016, 1130am-110pm

MEMBERS PRESENT –Kim Greuter, Emily Sane, Cameron Morgan, Kinnawa Kaitibi, Jenison Owens, Nicole Brown, Mike Andrews, Mike McCluskey, Lisa Burke-Smalley (Committee Chair), Jim Hicks, Ethan Mills, David Sachsman, Emily Thompson, Erica Hausler, Sarah Grace- Battles, Tara McGlocklin, Julian B. Robinson Parks.

BUSINESS CONDUCTED:

- Committee was informed of 2 potentially New media outlets from the Dept of English proposed by Rebecca Jones. Jim Hicks will explore further with English & bring to the Board in the Fall, if necessary.
- Updates were provided from each current Student Media Editor and Faculty Advisor for each UTC Media outlet.
- To fill upcoming vacancies of student positions on each UTC Student Media outlet, due to graduations, applications were sourced and distributed to members prior to the meeting.
- 1 applicant for each position applied via Org Sync and attended to be interviewed by the broader committee.
- During the meeting, applicants were interviewed by the committee and then stepped out (along with any other non-voting applicants), and a vote was taken.
- By majority vote, the position for Sequoya Review was filled with Tara McGlocklin; the Mocs News with Jenison Owens; The University Echo with Sarah-Grace Battles, and Julian B. Robinson Parks (provisional) for The Perch.
- Jim Hicks gave final instructions to new editors and instructions for their transition period including submitting needs/wants to his office, discussing Ad Sales issues, and seeing his office about IRIS entry.
- Meeting adjourned.