# Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science

Volume 5 Article 4

1952

# 35th Annual Meeting, 1951. Secretary's Report

W.W. Grigorieff

Follow this and additional works at: http://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas

## Recommended Citation

Grigorieff, W. W. (1952) "35th Annual Meeting, 1951. Secretary's Report," *Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science*: Vol. 5, Article 4. Available at: http://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas/vol5/iss1/4

This article is available for use under the Creative Commons license: Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-ND 4.0). Users are able to read, download, copy, print, distribute, search, link to the full texts of these articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without asking prior permission from the publisher or the author.

This Arkansas Academy Annual Meeting report is brought to you for free and open access by ScholarWorks@UARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science by an authorized editor of ScholarWorks@UARK. For more information, please contact scholar@uark.edu, ccmiddle@uark.edu.

#### ARKANSAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

### SECRETARY'S REPORT on the 35th Annual Meeting University of Arkansas, Fayetteville April 27 and 28, 1951

President R. H. Austin formally opened the 35th meeting of the Academy at 10:30 A.M. on Friday, April 27, in the Chemistry Auditorium. The Honorable Powell Rhea, Mayor of Fayetteville, warmly welcomed the participants in a short address emphasizing the significance of scientific contributions to our daily life on the national, state, and local levels.

The first business meeting of the Academy was called to order by President R. H. Austin at 10:40 A.M. The minutes of the 1950 meeting as they appeared in Volume IV of the Proceedings were approved.

The following committees were appointed:

Nominating: C. V. Robinette, P. G. Horton, T. L. Smith

Resolutions: J. R. Mundie, W. C. Munn, Mrs. Jean Williams

Auditing: D. M. Seward, O. J. Hall, O. C. Estes, L. E. Porter

Meeting Place, 1952: W. K. Noyce, Howard Baker, I. A. Wills

Research: R. R. Edwards, Delbert Swartz, M. E. Thompson

Professor Z. V. Harvalik, chairman of the Policy Committee, presented recommendations of his committee, which were acted upon as follows:

(a) It was moved, seconded, and passed that the standards of quality of papers and articles should be further increased.

(b) It was moved, seconded, and passed that the Proceedings should be further improved and continued as an annual publication.

(c) It was moved, seconded, and unanimously approved that the annual fees be increased to \$3.00.

(d) It was resolved that the Academy sponsor a Junior Academy.

Professor W. H. Bennett gave an address on "The Mascope--A New Analytical Instrument" to the general meeting of the Academy.

The morning session was adjourned at 12:10 P.M.

Following a luncheon served in the Student Union, President Lewis Webster Jones of the University of Arkansas gave a warmly-received presentation entitled "Science in the Service of the People."

The sectional meetings of the Academy took place at 2:00 P.M. A total of 74 papers was presented in ten different sections. The attendance at all sessions was approximately 250.

Members of the Academy reconvened for dinner at the Washington Hotel. The dinner was followed by an address by Professor Irwin Edman, of the Department of Philosophy of Columbia University, at the Art Center Auditorium at 8:00 P.M. Professor Edman spoke on "Art as Education in Freedom." The talk brought to the audience significant thoughts on the interrelationship of the arts and sciences and was the subject of continued discussions.

The second business meeting of the Academy was called to order on April 28 at 8:45 A.M.

- (a) D. M. Seward presented the report of the Auditing Committee, and it was
- (b) It was moved, seconded, and passed to approve with thanks the report of
- the Treasurer, showing a balance of \$210.00.

  (c) It was moved, seconded, and approved that the National Science Foundation Committee be dismissed and that the Research Committee deal with matters pertaining to the Foundation.
- (d) Approval of J. R. Mundie's report of the Resolutions Committee was moved, seconded, and passed.
- (e) The report of the Policy Committee, presented by Z. V. Harvalik, was accepted as a guide for future action.

#### ARKANSAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

(f) Following the presentation by T. V. Smith of candidates for membership in the Academy they were duly elected.

(g) C. V. Robinette presented the Nominating Committee's recommendations, and the following were elected for 1952:

President: E. A. Spessard Vice-President: Delbert Swartz Secretary: W. W. Grigorieff Treasurer: T. V. Smith

Editorial Board: C. E. Hoffman, Chairman

D. M. Moore W. K. Noyce Leta M. Adler Z. V. Harvalik

(h) It was moved, seconded, and agreed, on the recommendation of W. K. Noyce, that the 36th meeting be held in Jonesboro on April 25 and 26, 1952.

The new President, E. A. Spessard, adjourned the business meeting at 9:35 A.M.

A symposium on "The Resources of Arkansas" was presented by six speakers representing important phases of Arkansas activities. (M. D. Barnes presented the talk, prepared by F. Soday, who was unable to attend.)

The 35th meeting of the Academy was adjourned by President Spessard at  $12{:}15\ P.M.$ 

Many Academy members participated in field trips and the Annual Agri Day festivities in the afternoon.

The 35th annual meeting was characterized by a further growth of the Academy activities, particularly in the direction of a Junior Academy. The membership, numbering 141 at the time of the meeting, is continuing to give enthusiastic support to the expanding program of the Academy.

W. W. Grigorieff, Secretary