Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science

Volume 4 Article 4

1951

34th Annual Meeting, 1950. Secretary's Report

W.W. Grigorieff

Follow this and additional works at: http://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas

Recommended Citation

Grigorieff, W. W. (1951) "34th Annual Meeting, 1950. Secretary's Report," Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science: Vol. 4 , Article 4. Available at: http://scholarworks.uark.edu/jaas/vol4/iss1/4

This article is available for use under the Creative Commons license: Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-ND 4.0). Users are able to read, download, copy, print, distribute, search, link to the full texts of these articles, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without asking prior permission from the publisher or the author.

This Arkansas Academy Annual Meeting report is brought to you for free and open access by ScholarWorks@UARK. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of the Arkansas Academy of Science by an authorized editor of ScholarWorks@UARK. For more information, please contact scholar@uark.edu, ccmiddle@uark.edu.

ARKANSAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

SECRETARY'S REPORT on the 34th Annual Meeting Mt. Petit Jean State Park, Arkansas May 5-6, 1950

The registration for the 34th Annual Meeting began at 10:00 A. M. on Friday, May 5, 1950, and a total of 167 members and guests registered during the two day session.

C. V. Robinette, chairman of the Local Committee, Z. V. Harvalik, chairman of the Program Committee, and the other members of the two committees had provided for the organization of a most successful meeting.

The annual meeting was called to order at 11:00 A.M. by Vice President R. H. Austin, acting in the absence of President R. H. Totter. The reading of the minutes of the last annual meeting was dispensed with, since they were included in Vol. III of the Proceedings. The acting president appointed the following committees:

Nominating: Ruth Armstrong, Chairman, L. B. Ham, Z. V. Harvalik

Resolutions: W. C. Munn, Chairman, G. R. Turrentine, H. H. Hyman

Finance: J. E. Pryor, Chairman, D. Swartz, E. A. Spessard

At the general meeting of the Academy, Professor Delbert Swartz, of the University of Arkansas, presented an address "A Mycologist Views the Individual." After a luncheon served in the general dining room, the Academy sessions took place in seven different sections: biology, chemistry, geology, mathematics, physics, social research and history. A total of 65 individual papers were presented.

The general dinner was held jointly with Society of the Sigma Xi at 6:15 P.M. and was followed by the annual address presented by Dr. C. E. Duffy, of the University of Arkansas Medical School on "Methods Employed in the Characterization of Viruses." This excellent presentation, illustrated with slides, was received with interest by the members and created a lively discussion.

The general meeting of the Academy was resumed on Saturday, May 6 at 9:00 A.M. and six papers of general interest were presented.

The business meeting was opened at 11:00 A.M. with R. H. Austin presiding:

- (a) The treasurer, T. L. Smith, submitted a list of new candidates for membership to the Academy who were elected unanimously.
- (b) The report of the Finance Committee was accepted; it showed that a sum slightly in excess of \$200.00 was to be available after the expenses of the meeting and of the publication of Vol. III of the proceedings were deducted.

6

ARKANSAS ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

(c) The President appointed a Policy Committee consisting of:

Z. V. Harvalik, Chairman

T. L. Smith

C. V. Robinette

Ruth M. Armstrong

to consider any matter that the committee deems of importance in the continued growth and development of the Academy.

- (d) It was decided that the 35th meeting of the Academy would be held in Fayetteville, preferably on April 27-28, 1951.
- (e) The question of our participation in the efforts to create a National Science Foundation was discussed and referred to the existing committee.
- (f) The Nominating Committee presented the following slate of officers who were elected by the Academy:

Officers for the 1951 year

President: R. H. Austin

Vice-President: H. B. Foxhall

Treasurer: T. L. Smith Secretary: W. W. Grigorieff Editor in Chief: D. M. Moore

Associate Editors: William K. Noyce Carl E. Hoffman

Leta M. Adler

The business meeting was adjourned at 12:15 P.M. and followed by an afternoon session of the psychology section at which three individual papers were presented. A field excursion around the west end of the mountain, conducted by Dwight M. Moore, was attended by a good number of interested members and guests.

The 34th Annual Meeting vividly demonstrated both quantitatively (65 papers in 8 sections) and qualitatively the continued active growth of the Academy. It was the general opinion that this was one of the best meetings of the Academy and the membership is looking forward to the 35th meeting in Fayetteville with keen anticipation of another interesting meeting.

W. W. Grigorieff, Secretary