MINUTES FOR FISCAL YEAR 2015

The following are brief synopses of the minutes of the meetings of the Hawaiian Entomological Society for the fiscal year 2015. The HES fiscal year runs from March 1 to the end of February of the following year. More detailed minutes are kept with the Secretary of the Society.

Erratum: The 2015 Pacific Entomology Conference, held in April 2015, was prematurely reported in the minutes of Volume 47 and should have been placed under the notes for Fiscal Year 2015, within this current volume.

The notes for meeting 1114 reported in Volume 46 should be placed in Volume 47 under the month of March 2015.

September

The 1118th meeting of the Hawaiian Entomological Society was held at the Department of Plant and Environmental Protection Sciences, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Honolulu, on Friday, 18 September 2015, with President William Haines presiding. Seventeen members and ten guests were present on Oahu and one member was present via the Halawai Online internet broadcast.

Program: Guest speaker Dr. Karl Magnacca gave two talks: "Sierola (Hymenoptera: Bethylidae): Hawaii's Forgotten Mega-Radiation" and "Successful Traslocation of *Hylaeus anthrcinus* in Kona".

Reports of Committees

Elections: President Will Haines reported that the call for nominations produced one nomination for President-Elect. For the first time, the committee made a call for nominations via email, which was not according to the By-Laws. The Society needs to establish a committee to update the By-Laws. The last time HES By-Laws were updated was 1995. President Haines asked if a By-Laws Committee should be assembled to update the HES By Laws. Darcy Oishi moved to create a By-Laws Committee to update the By-Laws. Dick Tsuda seconded this motion. Nine members voted in agreement; motion passed.

Editorial: Co-editor Daniel Rubinoff reported that Rodrigo Almeida has resigned as a co-editor of the Proceedings of the Hawaiian Entomological Society. The Editorial Committee would like to nominate Gordon Bennett as a co-editor.

Science Fair: The 58th Hawaii State Science and Engineering Fair was held at the Hawaii Convention Center from the 23rd to the 24th of March. The following students were selected as winners of The Kanjyo and Bertha Sakimura Awards:

Senior Research Division

First Place: Kupaaikekaiao Thomas: Lipid Baits for *Wasmannia auropunctata* (Little Fire Ants)

Second Place: Kairos Pacheco: Integrated Pest Management Control of Naio Thrips (Klambothrips myopori and Scirtothrips dorsalis)

Junior Research Division

First Place: Kaili Delos Santos: Do *Drosophila melanogaster* Prefer Fruit With or Without Holes?

Π

Second Place: Megan M. Nakamoto: What's Bugging the Mamane? (Jesse Eiben, Mentor)

Medical/Veterinary Entomology: Ian Kaiao Kam: What Botanical Agent Repels Mosquitoes the Most?

Notes and Exhibitions: President Haines reported a new record of a chrysomelid tortoise beetle found on Maui. This previously unreported beetle was collected near the entrance to Haleakala National Park feeding on *Eucalyptus globulus* (blue gum) near other alien *Eucalyptus*-feeding beetles. Dr. Chris Reid at the Australian Museum confirmed this new state record as *Paropsisterna m-fuscum* Boheman, an Australian native specialist which feeds on the glaucous waxy leaves of juvenile blue gums. Mr. Darcy Oishi reported an update on the coconut rhinoceros beetle: "The First Report from Hawaii of CRB Reproducing in the Crown of a Live Coconut Palm Tree in the Ewa Plains-Puuloa Area."

January

The 1119th meeting of the Hawaiian Entomological Society was held at the Department of Plant and Environmental Protection Sciences, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Honolulu, on Friday, 22 January 2016, with President William Haines presiding. Fourteen members and two guests were present on Oahu, six members present via Polycom in Hilo, and two members were present via the Halawai online internet broadcast.

Program: Guest speaker Dr. Krishna Bayyareddy, Monsanto. Dr. Bayyareddy presented "Glimpses of Monsanto in Hawaii and Sustainable Pest Management."

Reports of Committees:

President: The President reported that the Executive Committee has been trying to get members to be more active in the various society committees. Over the years, the Executive Committee has been undertaking most of these duties. An update to the HES Constitution is necessary to make society business easier and more up-to-date with current times, such as digital voting.

Editorial: The Editor of the Proceedings of the Hawaiian Entomological Society announced Dr. Gordon Bennett as the new co-editor.

Other: President Elect Jesse Eiben suggested The Society try to streamline business for easier collaborations, video conferencing, and to make HES more relevant for members on all islands.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE, 2015

President	Dr. William Haines
President-Elect	Dr. Jesse Eiben
Secretary	Ms. Janis Matsunaga
Treasurer	
Advisor	Mr. Dick Tsuda

MEMBERSHIP 2015

HONORARY MEMBERS

Balock, J. W.	Harris, Ernest J.	Mau, R.F.L.	Shiroma, E.
Conant, Patrick	Howarth, F.G.	Morrill, A.W.	Tamashiro, M.
Haramoto, F.H.	Look, W.C.	Samuelson, G.A.	Tanada, Y.

RETIRED MEMBERS

Andrews, W.B.	Heu, R.	McInnis, D.	Rutschky, C.W.
Armstrong, J.W.	Higa, S.	Nagamine, W.	Schaefer, P.W.
Brennan, B.M.	Hinkley, A.D.	Nakahara, L.	Shimoda, L.
Brown, W.	Kaya, H.	Nakahara, S.	Swift, S.F.
Early-Chun, M.	Kohn, M.A.	Nagamine, W.	Tanabe, A.
Easton, E.	Kumashiro, B.	Nampompeth, B.	Teramoto, K.
Fujii, J.	Kunishi, R.K.	Nisson, J.N.	Thompson, F.C.
Funasaki, G.Y.	Markin, G.P.	Oatman, E.R.	Yano, K.
Hara, A.	Matayoshi, S.	Pierce, L.	Yoshioka, E.
Haverty, M.	McCombs, S.D.	Pinter, L.	

ACTIVE MEMBERS

Aarness, E.	Grace, J.K.	Manoukils, N.	Richardson, M.
Adkins, P.	Haines, W.	Martin, C.	Roy, K.
Armstrong, E.	Heath, G.	Matsunaga, J.	Rubinoff, D.
Bautista, R.	Henne, D.	McGrath, C.	Scharf, M.
Bayyareddy, K.	Hight, S.	McHugh, J., Jr.	Shelly, T.
Burnett, E.	Jameson, M.	McQuate, G.	Smith, C.
Burnham-Larish, L.	Joe, S.	Medeiros, M.	Snook, K.
Bushe, B.C.	Kirkpatrick, J.	Mello, C.	Spafford, H.
Caldwell, D.	Kishimoto, C.	Messing, R.	Starr, F.
Campbell, R.	Kruschelnycky, P.	Meyers, K.	Starr, K.
Chaney, N.	Lance, D.	Miller, S.	Strazanac, J.S.
Cheng, Z.	Leblanc, L.	Montgomery, S.L.	Tateno, A.
Ching, A	Lee, S.	Oboyski, P.	Taylor, A.
Craddock, E.	Leong, M.	Ocenar, J.	Tornel, M.
Culliney, T.W.	Liebherr, J.	Ogura-Yamada, C.	Tsuda, D.M.
Davenport. C.	Liquido, N.J.	Oi, D.H.	Tudor-Long, M.
Dunlap, J.	Loechelt-	Oi, F.M.	Uyesato, R.
Eiben, J	Yoshioka, H.	Oishi, D.	Vargas, R.I.
Ewing, C.	Lynch, C.	Peck, R.	Wright, M.
Follett, P.	Magnacca, K.	Perreira, W.D.	Yalemar, J.
Fukada, M.	Manoukils, N.	Ramadan, M.	Yang, P-J.
Gagné, B.H.	Mafra-Neto, A.	Reil, B.	Yates III, J.R.
Giffin, J.	Magnacca, K.	Reimer, N.J.	Yuen, N.