

## **Bellwether Magazine**

Volume 1 Number 14 *Spring* 1985

Article 13

4-1-1985

## Centennial Award of Merit

This paper is posted at ScholarlyCommons. http://repository.upenn.edu/bellwether/vol1/iss14/13 For more information, please contact libraryrepository@pobox.upenn.edu.

Alumni and Continuing Education Corner

Our "thanks" to the 500 practitioners and 45 exhibitors who attended the 1985 Penn Annual Conference on Jan. 30 and 31 at the Adam's Mark Hotel in Philadelphia. Forty speakers presented lectures over the two-day conference, including Dr. Franklin Loew, who discussed the "History. Science and Politics of the Use of Animals in Research." Dean Robert R. Marshak hosted a reception for all participants Jan. 30 that continued well into the evening. Mark the 1986 dates for the 1986 Penn Annual Conference on your calendar: Wednesday, Jan. 29, and Thursday, Jan. 30, at the Adam's Mark.

Next year will be even better!!

Watch your mail for the Spring 1985 Continuing Education Program. Large and small animal courses are planned for April and May.



Dr. Norbert McManus (V'47) (left), Mrs. McCullough, Dr. John D. McCullough (V'43)



Dr. A. Cleveland Brown (V'59) (right) and friends

## Centennial Award of Merit



Dean Robert R. Marshak presented 36 Centennial Awards of Merit at a special ceremony on Dec. 8 in Philadelphia. Among the honorees were nine Pennsylvania legislators and state officials who were cited for their outstanding support of veterinary medicine.

Honored were Walter Baran, Frackville, the secretary of general services and executive director of the General State Authority; Penrose Hallowell, Ottsville, secretary of agriculture; Representative Samuel W. Morris (D-155), Pottstown; Representative Carmel A. Sirianni (R-111), Montrose; Senator Patrick Stapleton (D-41), Indiana; Senator John Stauffer (R-19), Phoenixville; Senator Noah W. Wenger (R-36), Ephrata; Senator Roy W. Wilt (R-50) Meadville; Robert C. Wilburn, former Pennsylvania secretary of education; George B. Wolff, Harrisburg, and Alvin M. Myers, Jr., Camp Hill, the director of governmental relations for the Pennsylvania Farmers Association.

Awards also were presented to a group of researchers and scientists from this country and from abroad for their outstanding contributions to veterinary medicine.

Those recipients were Dr. Jonathan Adler, Jerusalem, Israel; Dr. Duane T. Albrecht, Denver; Dr. Robert B. Altman, Franklin Square, NY; Dr. Uri Bargai, Shimstron, Israel; Prof. Ian Beveridge, Cambridge, England; Dr. Frank Bloom, Miami, FL; Dr. Daniel Cohen, Tel Aviv, Israel; Prof. O.O. Dipeolu, Ibadan, Nigeria; Dr. Stephen Ettinger, Los Angeles.

Also, Dr. Lawrence J. Hutchinson, University Park, PA; Dr. William F. H. Jarrett, Glasgow, Scotland; Dr. William J. Kay, New York; Dr. Edwin J. Kersting, Manchester, Ct.; Dr. Robert W. Kirk, Ithaca, NY; Dr. Harry Magrane, Mishawaka, IN; Dr. Roy Mack, Surrey, England; Dr. John R. McCoy, Piscataway, NJ; Dr. Benjamin S. Pomeroy, St. Paul, MN; Dr. Wayne H. Riser, Gainesville, FL; Dr. Harry Rubin, Berkeley, CA; Prof. Dr. Heinrich Spörri, Zürich, Switzerland; Dr. James H. Steele, Houston; Dr. Joseph M. Stoyak (V'52), Springfield MA; Dr. Gus W. Thornton, Boston, and Prof. Eberhard Trautvetter, Berlin, W-Germany.



Dr. Max Herman (V'59) (left) and Dr. Lawrence Hutchinson



State Senator Patrick J. Stapleton is presented the Centennial Award of Merit



Professor O. O. Dipeolu receives the Centennial Award of Merit



Dr. Wayne H. Riser accepts the Centennial Award of Merit

## Centennial Distinguished Service Award

At a special luncheon Dec. 18, Dean Robert R. Marshak presented the Centennial Distinguished Service Award to School employees with 18 or more years of service.

The recipients were: Richard S. Barker, Thomas Barker, James Leroy Bruce, Clarence Chapman, Vera Duncan, Betty T. England, Cathryn E. Fluellen, William Garman, Rosetta Goss, Mary R. Hammond, Harry E. Hance, Suzanne Hindman, Alice Holton, Evelyn V. Huntington, Ralph lannuzzi, Harriet L. Izenberg, Raye Johnson, Lynne Klunder, Helen J. Linwood, Larue A. Manning, Joseph J. McGrane, Derek W. Muncey, Grace V. Pinhak, George Pournaras, William R. Schnarr, Jane F. Shirer, Sarah B. Smith, Wilbert Underwood, Dr. Marvin J. Silverman and Renata Worth.