PROGRAMME AND ABSTRACTS

International Association for Statistical Computing 3rd World Conference on Computational Statistics & Data Analysis

Amathus Beach Hotel, Limassol, Cyprus 28-31 October, 2005 http://www.csdassn.org/europe/csda2005/

Typesetting: Marc Hofmann, University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland. $$T_{\rm E}\!X$$

(F7.3) 25-13 Extended leaps: a modern implementation of a time tested classic

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

Welcome to the 3rd International Association for Statistical Computing (IASC) World Conference on Computational Statistics and Data Analysis. The conference co-chairs are happy to host this international conference in Cyprus.

The conference aims at bringing together researchers and practitioners to discuss recent developments in computational methods, methodology for data analysis and applications in statistics. It is associated with the Computational Statistics and Data Analysis (CSDA), the official journal of the IASC. This is an international journal dedicated to the dissemination of methodological research and applications in the areas of computational statistics and data analysis. The CSDA impact factor has risen dramatically over the past years to 1.022, thanks to the effort of the Editorial Board. We wish to personally thank the Associate Editors who have worked so hard and diligently.

The Conference consists of a number of topics (tracks) with their own "Call For Papers" and Chairs. The programme consists of 70 regular sessions, 4 keynote talks, 4 tutorials and over 400 presentations. There are approximately 500 participants. Peer review papers will be considered for publication in thematic special issues of the CSDA journal, or speedily reviewed for publication in regular issues. We are encouraging all participants to consider the CSDA as the medium of publishing their research results.

The co-chairs have endeavored to provide a balanced and stimulating programme that will appeal to the diverse interests of the IASC and its 700 members. The local organizing committee hope that the conference venue will provide the appropriate environment to enhance your contacts and to establish new ones.

The conference is a collective effort of many individuals and organizations. The Advisory Board, Scientific Programme Committee, the Local Organizing Committee and volunteers have contributed substantially to the organization of the conference. We are acknowledging the support of our sponsors and particularly the Department of Public and Business Administration, University of Cyprus, the ERCIM consortium, the European and International Affairs Department of INRIA and INRIA-IRISA, Rennes, France. We are especially grateful to the members of the Matrix Computations and Statistics group Petko Yanev, Mark Hofmann, Cristian Gatu and Paolo Foschi. They have handled most of the technical and organizational aspects of this conference.

We hope that you enjoy the conference and your stay in Cyprus.

The conference co-chairs: Stanley Azen, Erricos John Kontoghiorghes and Jae Chang Lee

Co-Chairs:

Stanley Azen, University of Southern California. Erricos John Kontoghiorghes (Chair), University of Cyprus and University of London, UK. Jae Chang Lee, Korea University.

Advisory board:

C. Asano, D.A. Belsley, P.M. Bentler, M.B. Brown, M.A. Cameron, B. Efron, G. Golub, C. Lauro, M.E. Muller, P. Naeve, B. Philippe, C.R. Rao, B. Rustem, Y. Tanaka, N. Victor, E.J. Wegman.

Programme committee:

Marco Alfo, Alessandra Amendola, Jesse Barlow, Giovanni Barone-Adesi, Axel Benner, Lynne Billard, Hans-Hermann Bock, Dankmar Bohning, Paula Brito, Edgar Brunner, Wai-Sum Chan, Rong Chen, Chun-houh Chen, Wynne W. Chin, Claudio Conversano, Renato Coppi, Christophe Croux, Brian R. Cullis, Ioannis C. Demetriou, Edwin Diday, Chris Ding, Peter Filzmoser, Paolo Foschi, Christian Francq, Efstratios Gallopoulos, Bernard Garel, Cristian Gatu, James Gentle, Robert Gentleman, Maria A. Gil, Manfred Gilli, Giuseppe Giordano, Matthias Greiner, Patrick Groenen, Trevor Hastie, Georges Hebrail, John Hinde, Ivana Horova, Moon Huh, Siem Jan Koopman, Michele La Rocca, Fred C. Lam, Sik-Yum Lee, Jan Magnus, Donato Malerba, Wenceslao G. Manteiga, Spiridon Martzoukos, Geoff McLachlan, Jacqueline J. Meulman, Martina Mittlbock, Irini Moustaki, Junji Nakano, Markus Neuhauser, Michael Ng, Joyce Niland, Marius Ooms, Panos Pardalos, Valentin Patilea, Roger Payne, Aloke Phatak, Dimitris N. Politis, D.S.G. Pollock, Tommaso Proietti, Gilbert Saporta, Michael G. Schimek, David W. Scott, Wilfried Seidel, Simon Sheather, Roberta Siciliano, Stavros Siokos, Vicenc Torra, Antony Unwin, Stefan Van Aelst, Herman van Dijk, Maurizio Vichi, Philippe Vieu, Vincenzo E. Vinzi, Huiwen Wang, Rand Wilcox, Adalbert Wilhelm, Peter Winker, Evdokia Xekalaki, Petko Yanev, Qiwei Yao, Ruben Zamar, Hongyuan Zha, Eric Zivot, Zahari Zlatev.

Local organizing committee:

Erricos John Kontoghiorghes (Chair), Petko Yanev, Marc Hofmann, Cristian Gatu, Paolo Foschi, Spiridon Martzoukos, Marinos Ioannides.

Volunteers:

L. Morille, D. Nedyalkova, Y. Chrysanthou, M. Fyrillas, P. Christodoulides.

SUPPORTERS

v

The International Association for Statistical Computing gratefully acknowledges the generous support of our sponsors, exhibitors and advertisers:

Department of Public and Business Administration University of Cyprus sponsor

Mediterranean Research Institute, Cyprus sponsor

School of Computer Science and Information Systems Birkbeck College, University of London, UK sponsor

INRIA, France sponsor of the ERCIM working group meeting

European Research Consortium for Informatics and Mathematics sponsor of the ERCIM working group meeting

University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland sponsor

Cyprus Tourism Organisation sponsor

> Cyprus Airways Official Air Carrier

Podium Engineering sponsor

Citigroup sponsor

Elsevier *exhibitor*

Springer *advertiser*

Chapman & Hall/CRC advertiser

John Wiley & Sons, Ltd advertiser