DUKE JOURNAL OF Gender Law & Policy

VOLUME 8

SPRING/SUMMER 2001

Editors-In-Chief Timothy Johnson Jessica Carter[†]

Managing Editor Stephanie Dattilo

Research Editor Jana Scharf **Executive Editors** Mary Richardson Carie Little Hersh[†] **Conference Chair** Miriam Goldsmith

Associate Executive Editor Kristi Bowman

Article Editors Kelly Black Sharon Blaskey Pr

Erin Lovall Priya Velamoor

Senior Editor Revella Cook

Staff Editors

Sarah Berger Lisa Cylus Karen Lindsey Amy Richardson Orit Gayerman D'Iorah Hughes Damon McLean Meghan Pound

Katharine T. Bartlett Dean A. Kenneth Pye Professor of Law Duke University School of Law

Theresa Newman Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Duke University School of Law

[†] Journal editors for 2001-2002.

Faculty Advisors Trina Jones Professor of Law Duke University School of Law

Jean O'Barr Director, Graduate Program in Women's Studies Duke University Helen Ladd Director of Graduate Studies, Institute of Public Policy

Duke University

David Menzies Director of Publications Duke University School of Law