# Buke Law Journal

# VOLUME 1979

# FEBRUARY

# NUMBER 1

#### *Editor-in-Chief* JEAN TAYLOR ADAMS

Executive Editor EVAN H. ZUCKER

Project Editor Carol Murphy Finke

Research & Managing Editors JUDY M. HERRIN TIMOTHY W. MOUNTZ Article Editors Edward W. Kallal, Jr. Gray McCalley, Jr.

Note & Comment Editors Phyllis Glass John R. Holzgraefe Richard Thomas McCoy

Administrative Law Editor CAROL GRAY

#### Editorial Board

Helen Aull Bruce W. Baber Louis J. Barash Janis Merle Caplan Richard C. Finke Richard Gergel Amy D. Hogue Dale E. Hollar Seth H. Hoogasian Mark J. Hulings

MARGRETH BARRETT RUDOLF BEUTTENMULLER GLENN WILLIAM BROWN, JR. BLAIN B. BUTNER DAVID DREIFUS J. SCOTT DYER STEPHEN QUINN GIBLIN THOMAS W. GIEGERICH CAROL R. GRANT LINDA B. GRIFFEY ROBERT M. HALPERIN TERENCE M. HYNES GARY W. JACKSON THOMAS RAY JACKSON GARY L. JUSTICE MARK ALAN KELLEY JODEE SPARKMAN KING MICHAEL LICHTENSTEIN PATRICIA EILEEN NAKTENIS MARY SUSAN PHILP DIANE ELAINE ROWLEY

Staff

GENEVIEVE ANN HARRIS GRANT P. HASKELL MICHAEL J. HOLDEN RUSSELL SCARRITT JONES, JR. MICHAEL W. JORGENSEN GORDON R. KANOFSKY ELIZABETH FAIRBANK KUNIHOLM W. ALAN LAUTANEN JAMES N. LEIK MICHAEL P. MIRANDE

Business Manager PEGGY MILES EDWARDS STEPHEN C. SCHOETTMER CARL J. SCHUMAN JAMES ARTHUR SHERIFF ROBERT BREWER SMITH DANIEL L. TAYLOR MARK AUGUST THIMKE FRED THOMPSON III JEFFREY STEPHEN TURNER STEVEN WASSERMAN AMY WIESENTHAL

RAYMOND F. MONROE ROBERT P. MURPHY JOHN H. PAVLOFF HAPPY RAY PERKINS MARK J. PRAK EDWARD J. SCHNEIDMAN WILLIAM L. THOMPSON JOHN WARREN TITUS BRUCE P. VANN PRISCILLA P. WEAVER WAYNE STEVEN WOODWARD

# **EDITOR'S NOTE**

The *Journal* publishes in this issue its tenth annual survey of major developments in federal administrative law. We are grateful for the valuable assistance which the Board of Advisors has once again rendered in the preparation of this special issue.

### BOARD OF ADVISORS

#### FEDERAL ADMINISTRATIVE LAW DEVELOPMENTS

William H. Allen; Chairman, Committee on Judicial Review, Administrative Conference of the United States; member of District of Columbia bar.

Ernest Gellhorn; Dean, Arizona State University College of Law.

Chisman Hanes; Member, Special Committee on Revision of Administrative Procedure Act of ABA Section of Administrative Law; member of District of Columbia and North Carolina bars.

Charles W. Petty, Jr.; member of California and District of Columbia bars.

Willis B. Snell; Secretary, ABA Section of Administrative Law; Member, Special Committee on Revision of Administrative Procedure Act of ABA Section of Administrative Law; Member, Board of Editors, ADMINISTRATIVE LAW REVIEW; member of District of Columbia bar.

F. Trowbridge vom Baur; member of District of Columbia, New York and Illinois bars.

Paul R. Verkuil; Professor of Law, University of North Carolina.

Jerre S. Williams; Last-Retiring Chairman, ABA Section of Administrative Law; John B. Connally Professor of Civil Jurisprudence, University of Texas Law School; Former Chairman, Administrative Conference of the United States.

١

246