75

Chimia 78 (2024) 75 © Swiss Chemical Society



## Changes to the Board of the SCNAT Platform Chemistry

Sandra Hofmann and Leo Merz\*

\*Correspondence: E-mail: chemistry@scnat.ch SCNAT, Platform Chemistry, Haus der Akademien, Bern

The Platform Chemistry aims to collect and disseminate expert knowledge in the areas of Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, and Food Science in Switzerland. Collaborating with its member associations, it acts as a basis for knowledge transfer within these disciplines. The platform is directed by a board, consisting of nine scientists who are committed on an extraofficial basis.

On Dec 15, 2023, the executive board of the SCNAT officially endorsed the election of Prof. Dr. *Shana Sturla* (ETH Zurich, President Swiss Society of Toxicology) as president of the SCNAT Platform Chemistry. Having been a board member since 2017, Shana Sturla assumes the presidency from Prof. Dr. *Catherine Housecroft* (University of Basel), who will step down from the platform at the end of 2023, culminating six years of continuous service as a board member, including three as president.

Following this change in roles, the executive board has confirmed the election of Prof. Dr. *Christof Sparr* (University of Basel) as a new board member of the SCNAT Platform Chemistry and confirmed the platform members Dr. *Klemens Koch* (Pädagogische Hochschule Bern, Gymnasium Biel-Seeland and President of the Association of Swiss Science Teachers), Prof. Dr. *Christian Bochet* (University of Fribourg, President Swiss Chemical Society), Prof. Dr. *Thomas Bürgi* (University of Geneva, Board Member Swiss Surface and Interface Community), Prof. Dr. *Laura Nyström* (ETH Zurich and Board Member Swiss Society for Food Chemistry), Prof. Dr. *Rebecca Buller* (ZHAW), Prof. Dr. *Patrick Steinegger* (PSI/ETH Zurich), and Prof. Dr. *Sandra Luber* (University of Zurich).

We, together with the whole board of the Platform Chemistry, wish to express our gratitude to Catherine Housecroft for her unwavering commitment and valuable contributions to the advancement of the platform and hence to the discipline of chemistry in Switzerland. Furthermore, we extend a warm welcome to Christof Sparr as he joins the board of the platform.

More information: chemistry.scnat.ch, or @SCNATChemistry on X and @SCNATChemistry@swiss.social on mastodon.



Catherine E. Housecroft is Professor emerita of Chemistry at the University of Basel, Switzerland and the Editor-in-Chief of CHIMIA. She is the author of a number of textbooks and has had teaching experience in the UK, Switzerland, South Africa and the USA. She has published over 600 research papers and reviews, and her research interests include aspects of coordination

chemistry associated with solar energy conversion, solid state lighting, water oxidation, porous coordination polymers and networks and hierarchical assemblies. She continues to be involved in promoting chemical education in Switzerland along with her role at CHIMIA.



Shana J. Sturla is Professor of Toxicology at the ETH Zürich since 2009. Her research interests are at the intersection of Chemistry and Toxicology, and she is Editor-in-Chief of Chemical Research in Toxicology. She studied Chemistry at UC Berkeley, working in the group of Prof. Clayton Heathcock, and received her PhD from MIT with Prof. Stephen Buchwald. She was at the

University of Minnesota from 2001-2009 as a Postdoctoral Fellow with Prof. Stephen Hecht, and then an independent Assistant Professor. She has been recipient of a Eurotox Lectureship Award, Chemical Research in Toxicology Young Investigator Award, and an ERC consolidator grant.



Christof Sparr received his PhD from the ETH Zurich working in the group of Prof. Ryan Gilmour. He subsequently joined Prof. Dieter Seebach (ETH Zurich) and Prof. Steven V. Ley (University of Cambridge) as postdoctoral researcher. Christof then moved to the University of Basel and became habilitand mentored by Prof. Karl Gademann in 2013, Assistant Professor in 2016

and Associate Professor of Organic Chemistry in 2021. He is recipient of the ETH medal, a SNSF Starting Grant, the 2017 Werner Prize of the Swiss Chemical Society, the 2018 Ruzicka Prize of the ETH Zurich and an ERC Consolidator Grant.

Received: January 09, 2024