Howard University Digital Howard @ Howard University

University Archives

Finding Aids

2024

Howard University Presidents, as of 5.19.23

Sonja Woods

Follow this and additional works at: https://dh.howard.edu/hua_finaid

Presidents of Howard University - 20 Elected and 17 Inaugurated

Name	Election Number and Tenure	Inauguration Number
Charles Brandon Boynton	1 (Mar. 19, 1867 – Aug. 27, 1867)	1
Bryon Sunderland	2 (Aug. 28, 1867 – Apr. 5, 1869)	2
Oliver Otis Howard	3 (Apr. 5, 1869 – Dec. 25, 1874)	3
George Whipple	4 (Jun. 16, 1875 – Dec. 16, 1875)	Declined Position in Letter to the Board
Edward Parmelee Smith	5 (Dec. 16, 1875 – Jun. 15, 1876)	4
William Weston Patton	6 (Apr. 25, 1877 – Dec. 31, 1889)	5
Jeremiah Eames Rankin	7 (Jan. 1, 1890 – Feb. 24, 1903)	6
John Gordon	8 (May 26, 1903 – Jun. 30, 1906)	7
Wilbur Patterson Thirkield	9 (Sept. 1, 1906 – Jun. 30, 1912)	8
Stephen Morrell Newman	10 (Jul. 1, 1912 – Jun. 30, 1918)	9
James Stanley Durkee	11 (Jul. 1, 1918 – Jun. 30, 1926)	10
John A. Gregg	12 (Jun. 8, 1926 – Jun. 30, 1926)	Declined Position in Letter to the Board
Mordecai Wyatt Johnson	13 (Sept. 1, 1926 – Jun. 30, 1960)	11
James M. Nabrit, Jr.	14 (Jul. 1, 1960 – Jun. 30, 1969)	14*
James E. Cheek	15 (Jul. 1, 1969 – Jun. 30, 1989)	15^
Franklyn G. Jenifer	16 (Apr. 1, 1990 – Jun. 30, 1994)	14+
H. Patrick Swygert	17 (Aug. 1, 1995 – Jun. 30, 2008)	15
Sidney A. Ribeau	18 (Aug. 1, 2008 – Dec. 31, 2013)	16
Wayne A. I. Frederick	19 (Sept. 1, 2014 – Aug. 31, 2023)	17
Ben Vinson, III	20 (Sept. 1, 2023 – TBD)	18

*Note: James M. Nabrit, Jr. inaugurated himself the 14th president, but he was actually Howard's 12th president. ^Note: James E. Cheek inaugurated himself the 15th president, but he was actually Howard's 13th president. +Franklyn G. Jenifer corrected the numbering by inaugurating himself Howard's 14th president.

Presidents of Howard University - including Acting and Interim

Sequence and Name	Official/Acting or Interim/Tenure	<u>Name – Acting and/or Interim</u>
1 st – Charles B. Boynton	Mar. 19, 1867 – Aug. 27, 1867	
2 nd – Byron Sunderland	Aug. 27, 1867 – Apr. 5, 1869	
3 rd – Oliver O. Howard	Apr. 5, 1869 – Dec. 25, 1874	
	Sept. 9, 1872 – 1873 Dec. 1, 1873 – Jun. 30, 1875 Jul. 14, 1875 – Dec. 15, 1875	Amzi L. Barber, Acting John M. Langston, Acting Frederic W. Fairfield, Acting
4 th – Edward P. Smith	Dec. 16, 1875 – Jun. 15, 1876	
	Jun. 16, 1876 – Mar. 31, 1877	Frederic W. Fairfield, Acting
5 th – William W. Patton	Apr. 25, 1877 – Dec. 31, 1889	
6 th – Jeremiah E. Rankin	Jan. 1, 1890 – Feb. 24, 1903	
	Feb. 24, 1903 – Sept. 15, 1903	Tenius S. Hamlin, Acting
7 th – John Gordon	May 26, 1903 – Jun. 30, 1906	
	Jun. 1, 1906 – Aug. 31, 1906	Frederic W. Fairfield, Acting
8 th – Wilbur P. Thirkield	Sept. 1, 1906 – Jun. 30, 1912	
9 th – Stephen M. Newman	Jul. 1, 1912 – Jun. 30, 1918	
10 th – James S. Durkee	Jul. 1, 1918 – Mar. 25, 1926	

Presidents of Howard University - including Acting and Interim

Sequence and Name	Official/Acting or Interim/Tenure	<u>Name – Acting and/or Interim</u>
11 th – Mordecai W. Johnson	Sept. 1, 1926 – Jun. 30, 1960	
12 th – James M. Nabrit, Jr.	Jul. 1, 1960 – Jun. 30, 1969	
	Oct. 1965 – Jan. 1967	Stanton L. Wormley, Acting
13 th – James E. Cheek	Jul. 1, 1969 – Jun. 30, 1989	
	Jul. 1, 1989 – Mar. 31, 1990	Carlton P. Alexis, Interim
14 th – Franklyn G. Jenifer	Apr. 1, 1990 – May 13, 1994	
	May 14, 1994 – Jun. 30, 1994 Jul. 1, 1994 – Jun. 30, 1995	Joyce A. Ladner, Acting Joyce A. Ladner, Interim
15 th – H. Patrick Swygert	Sept. 1, 1995 – Jun. 30, 2008	
16 th – Sidney A. Ribeau	Aug. 1, 2008 – Dec. 31, 2013	
	Jan. 1, 2014 – Jul. 13, 2014	Wayne A. I. Frederick, Interim
17 th – Wayne A. I Frederick	Jul. 14, 2014 – Aug. 31, 2023	
18 th – Ben Vinson, III	Sept. 1, 2023 – TBD	