



Illinois Wesleyan University **Digital Commons** @ IWU

Dougan Award Winners

IWU AAUP

2015

Kathleen O'Gorman, 2015 James D. Dougan Award Presentation

Rebecca Roesner Chapter President, Illinois Wesleyan University

IWU Chapter of the AAUP, Illinois Wesleyan University

Recommended Citation

Roesner, Rebecca and IWU Chapter of the AAUP, Illinois Wesleyan University, "Kathleen O'Gorman, 2015 James D. Dougan Award Presentation" (2015). *Dougan Award Winners*. Paper 5. http://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/iwuaaup_win/5

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by The Ames Library, the Andrew W. Mellon Center for Curricular and Faculty Development, the Office of the Provost and the Office of the President. It has been accepted for inclusion in Digital Commons @ IWU by the faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

©Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

2015 Dougan award announcement

Each year, the IWU AAUP Chapter selects an active, vocal member of the faculty for the "James D. Dougan Award for Contributions to Faculty Governance." The award honors the memory of the late Professor of Psychology James Dougan and his staunch commitment to defending the faculty's right to participate in shaping the direction of the university.

Our winner this year has demonstrated extraordinary service to her...or his department and the overall campus community. This faculty member has not only served on some of IWU's most important committees but has also frequently held leadership positions on those committees. This faculty member has also assumed leadership roles in program and departmental capacities and has served on a reaccreditation self-study and on external committees that serve the interests of wider liberal arts communities.

This faculty member's other service activities are no less remarkable: notable among them are serving as a new faculty mentor for 18 consecutive years and founding and serving for nearly as long on the Health Care Advocacy Committee. *She* has offered workshops to faculty in her areas of expertise and has served as IWU AAUP Chapter President.

On top of all of these achievements, our recipient contributes to a perhaps less glamorous and often overlooked aspect of governance. As noted by her nominator, "year after year and at every first Monday of the month, [she] comes prepared to faculty meetings and when necessary voices concerns that have the faculty's best interest in mind."

And so, for her consistent and meritorious commitment to faculty governance and, more broadly, to Illinois Wesleyan, it is my great pleasure and honor to name the recipient of the fifth annual James D. Dougan Award for Contributions to Faculty Governance: Professor Kathie O'Gorman.