

Illinois Wesleyan University Digital Commons @ IWU

Chapter Activities IWU AAUP

2011

James D. Dougan Award for Contributions to Faculty Governance

IWU Chapter of the AAUP, Illinois Wesleyan University

Recommended Citation

IWU Chapter of the AAUP, Illinois Wesleyan University, "James D. Dougan Award for Contributions to Faculty Governance" (2011). *Chapter Activities*. Paper 9. http://digitalcommons.iwu.edu/iwuaaup_act/9

This Document is brought to you for free and open access by The Ames Library, the Andrew W. Mellon Center for Curricular and Faculty Development, the Office of the Provost and the Office of the President. It has been accepted for inclusion in Digital Commons @ IWU by the faculty at Illinois Wesleyan University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@iwu.edu.

©Copyright is owned by the author of this document.

James D. Dougan Award for Contributions to Faculty Governance

Purpose: The AAUP chapter of Illinois Wesleyan has created the Dougan Award named in honor of the late Professor of Psychology, James Dougan. The award seeks to recognize meritorious service in the cause of faculty governance in line with Professor Dougan's staunch commitment to defending the faculty's right to participate in shaping the direction of the university.

Eligibility: Any full-time faculty member who has not previously received the award is eligible to receive the award. The award will be given annually.

Guidelines: Nominations should be submitted to the President of the IWU AAUP chapter by March 1. A letter providing rationale for the nomination should be included.

Criteria: The award seeks to recognize an individual who 1) has demonstrated extraordinary commitment to the cause – service that goes beyond the call of the position held or 2) has provided valuable service over an extended period of time to the cause of faculty governance. Examples of such meritorious service include, but are not limited to, advocating for faculty interests, such as advocating for the welfare or academic freedom of individuals or the faculty as a whole, or finding cooperative solutions to campus challenges.

Selection process: The Selection Committee shall consist of at least three members of the IWU AAUP chapter. The president, vice-president, and secretary-treasurer shall be *ex officio* members of the committee. In addition, any member of the chapter who responds to a call for volunteers shall be a member of the committee. Members of the Selection Committee who are nominated for the award will need to recuse themselves from the committee. If the number of members of the selection committee falls below three due to recusals, replacement members will be named by the committee from among the membership of the chapter.