

Montclair State University Montclair State University Digital Commons

2022-2023

John J. Cali School of Music Performances

12-2-2022

University Jazz Ensemble (December 2, 2022)

John J. Cali School of Music

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.montclair.edu/cali-performances-2022-2023 Part of the Music Performance Commons, and the Theatre and Performance Studies Commons

MONTCLAIR STATE JAZZ ENSEMBLE

Oscar Perez, Director

FRIDAY | **DECEMBER 2** | **7:30PM** ALEXANDER KASSER THEATER



Jonathan Koppell President

Junius J. Gonzales Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Daniel Gurskis Dean, College of the Arts

Anthony Mazzocchi Director John J. Cali School of Music



John J. Cali School of Music

PROGRAM

| Cherry Point | Composed and arranged for the Count Basie Orchestra by Neal Hefti (1922-2008) |
|------------------|---|
| Long Yellow Road | Composed and arranged by Toshiko Akiyoshi (b. 1929) |
| Con Alma | Composed by Dizzy Gillespie (1917-1993) Arranged by Michael Philip Mossman (b. 1959) |
| In a Mellow Tone | Composed by Duke Ellington (1899-1974) Arranged for the Count Basie Orchestra by Frank Foster (1928-2011) |
| First Love Song | Composed and arranged by Bob Brookmeyer (1929-2011) |
| Squatty Roo | Composed by Johnny Hodges (1906-1970) Arranged for the Clayton-Hamilton Orchestra by John Clayton (b. 1952) |
| Absolution | Composed and arranged by Jim McNeely (b. 1949) |
| Fables of Faubus | Composed by Charles Mingus (1922-1979) Arranged by Steve Slagle (b. 1951) |
| Black Narcissus | Composed by Joe Henderson (1937-2001) Arranged by Bob Belden (1956-2015) |
| Cubauza | Composed and arranged by Michael Philip Mossman (b. 1959) |

PERFORMERS

The MONTCLAIR STATE JAZZ ENSEMBLE. under the direction of Jazz Studies coordinator Oscar Perez, is honored to present a varied program of music from Duke Ellington, Bob Brookmeyer, Bob Mintzer, Chick Corea, Michael Philip Mossman, Sy Johnson, Thad Jones, and on his centennial birthday, the inimitable Charles Mingus. The MSUJE, which is comprised of majors in Jazz Studies as well as other music majors, is dedicated to the performance of music representative of contemporary literature composed for the large jazz ensemble, as well as music of historical importance to the genre. Last year, we featured new trumpet faculty Marcus Printup, well-known as a longtime member of the Jazz Lincoln Center Orchestra, along with vocal professor Aubrey Johnson and long-standing guitar faculty member Dave Stryker in our Spring '22 concert. Last spring also saw the MSUJE, along with Cali's Wind Symphony and the University Singers performing at the Metropolitan Museum's Grace Rainey Rogers Concert Hall. Our December 2021 Crawford Concert featured Vertical Voices alongside our vocal jazz ensemble, Vocamotion. In recent years, the MSU Jazz Ensemble has performed with a variety of guest soloists, including long-time friend and colleague David Bixler, the Grammy award-winning leader of the New York Voices, Darmon Meader, trumpeter/arranger Michael Philip Mossman, Grammy-nominated trombonist/ composer Alan Ferber, trumpeter/composer John Daversa, trumpeter Ingrid Jensen, saxophonist/ composer Ed Palermo, harmonica virtuoso Hendrik Meurkens, percussionist/composer Roland Vazquez, jazz guitar legend Bucky Pizzarelli, Grammy awardwinning vocal group New York Voices (2006 Crawford Concert), trumpeters Terell Stafford and Tony Kadleck, saxophonists Don Braden, Dave Demsey, and Andy Fusco, trombonist Tom "Bones" Malone, guitarist Dave Stryker, vocalist Holli Ross, and drummer Steve Johns. Along with a concert performance each semester on the MSU campus, the band served as the clinic ensemble for Dennis Mackrel at the 2016 NJAJE Conference, has performed at Cecil's Jazz Club in West Orange, Trumpets Jazz Club in Montclair, the Villanova Jazz Festival, and The University of the Arts Jazz Festival, and has appeared locally as guests of

the Bloomfield Youth Band and Belleville High School Jazz Festival. Select students have also been chosen to participate in the NJAJE Intercollegiate Jazz Band since the inception of that ensemble twenty years ago. We are looking forward to our end-of-the-semester concert on Friday, December 2 as well as Dizzy's Club Coca-Cola on April 17th, 2023.

Oscar Perez, a New York City native, has played in the musical groups of Phoebe Snow, Wycliffe Gordon, Christian McBride, Charenee Wade, Dave Stryker, Steve Turre, Eddie Allen, Ted Chubb, Abel Mireles LatiNext Project, Mingus Big Band, Charlie Porter, Roseanna Vitro, Bruce Williams and Don Braden. Oscar is Coordinator of Jazz Studies at the Cali School of Music at Montclair State University. He has been an educator through Carnegie Hall, the Kupferberg Center at Queens College, Jazz House Kids in Montclair, Jazz at Lincoln Center and has held faculty positions at Drew University and the Manhattan School of Music.

He is currently enrolled in the Manhattan School of Music Jazz Arts Doctoral program under the tutelage of **Jim McNeely** and **Stefon Harris**. Previous studies at the New England Conservatory, University of North Florida and the Aaron Copland School of Music, gave him the opportunity to serve under the guidance of **Danilo Perez**, **Michael Mossman**, and **Sir Roland Hanna**, respectively. During his formative years he shared the stage with jazz legends **Bunky Green**, **George Russell, Dianne Reeves** and **Curtis Fuller**.

He is the recipient of the 2006 ASCAP/IAJE Commission in honor of Billy Strayhorn. Oscar's group featuring Antonio Hart premiered the work at the 2007 International Association of Jazz Education Convention. He has also been commissioned to arrange music for Chick Corea, Regina Carter and the MSM Jazz Orchestra featuring Sean Jones. His critically acclaimed CD Afropean Affair, is the result of a New Works Grant by Chamber Music America for his septet Oscar Perez Nuevo Comienzo. He placed 2nd in the 2014 Jacksonville Jazz Piano Competition. His latest endeavor, Prepare a Place for Me, is available through all media outlets.

MONTCLAIR STATE JAZZ ENSEMBLE PERSONNEL

Saxophones

Nico Martin Andrew Morrison Alex De Lazzari Rodrigo Romero Ryan Huston

Trumpets

Gavin Ard Will Schetelich Manny Reyes Adrienne Bazile John Rivas

Trombones

Martin Pyda Dan Harkins Ryan Haupt Matthew Veal JT Adinolfi, *tuba*

Rhythm Section

Pierce Sparnroft, *vibraphone* Lornaa Morales, *piano* Felipe Orozco, *bass* Matt Vera-Corcoran, *drums* Vic Ortiz, *percussion*