Journal of Mississippi History

Volume 77 | Number 3

Article 6

2015

Program of the 2015 Mississippi Historical Society Annual Meeting

Timothy B. Smith

Follow this and additional works at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh

Recommended Citation

Smith, Timothy B. (2015) "Program of the 2015 Mississippi Historical Society Annual Meeting," *Journal of Mississippi History*: Vol. 77: No. 3, Article 6.

Available at: https://aquila.usm.edu/jmh/vol77/iss3/6

This Annual Meeting Minutes and Summary is brought to you for free and open access by The Aquila Digital Community. It has been accepted for inclusion in Journal of Mississippi History by an authorized editor of The Aquila Digital Community. For more information, please contact aquilastaff@usm.edu.

Program of the 2015 Mississippi Historical Society Annual Meeting

by Timothy B. Smith, 2015 MHS Program Committee Chair

The Mississippi Historical Society held its annual meeting March 5-7, 2015, in Corinth, Mississippi. In observance of the sesquicentennial of the Civil War, the program had as its theme "North Mississippi in the Civil War." Unfortunately, for the first time in modern memory, bad weather affected the annual meeting, delaying members arriving and necessitating some speakers to cancel their travel plans altogether. Still, the meeting provided a thorough investigation of north Mississippi in the tumultuous war years between 1861 and 1865.

Registration began at the Hampton Inn in Corinth on Thursday afternoon, March 5, along with a meeting of the Federation of Mississippi Historical Societies. A welcome reception, sponsored by the Corinth Area Convention and Visitor's Bureau, was held at the Coliseum Civic Center, followed by the Society's board of directors dinner meeting at Vicari restaurant in downtown Corinth.

The actual program began on the morning of March 6. Following a meeting of *The Journal of Mississippi History* staff and Board of Publications, members gathered at the Weaver Center, where President Ann Atkinson Simmons opened the annual meeting. Newly arrived Shiloh National Military Park superintendent Dale Wilkerson joined Mrs. Simmons in welcoming the Society.

The first session focusing on Corinth in the Civil War was to be chaired by Aubrey K. Lucas, president emeritus, the University of Southern Mississippi, but he was unable to attend, as was one of the first session speakers, Todd Sanders of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History. Program chairman Tim Smith introduced Tom Parson of the Corinth Civil War Interpretive Center, a unit of the National Park Service's Shiloh National Military Park, who presented "Corinth Civilians in the Civil War." After a short break, more adaptation was in hand as second session chair Terry Winschel was also unable to attend due to the weather. Mike Ballard, recently retired from Mississippi State University, was likewise unable to

attend, but program chair Smith presided over the session focusing on the military operations in north Mississippi. Jim Woodrick of the Mississippi Department of Archives and History presented "Perfectly Satisfied to Die': Capt. Absalom Dantzler and the Battle of Corinth." Afterward, Tom Cockrell of Northeast Mississippi Community College presented "Unionism in Civil War North Mississippi."

The annual meeting luncheon was held at the Weaver Center. Brother Rogers, associate director, John C. Stennis Center for Public Service, delivered the invocation. Chester "Bo" Morgan of the University of Southern Mississippi introduced Susannah J. Ural, who presented "The Beauvoir Veteran Project." Following the luncheon, the Society's annual business meeting was called to order by president Ann Simmons. The actions taken at the business meeting are recorded in the minutes of the meeting that are published in this edition of *The Journal of Mississippi History*. Following the annual business meeting, Corinth Civil War Interpretive Center park ranger Jim Minor led an afternoon tour of Corinth Civil War sites.

The evening festivities began with the President's Reception, sponsored by Ann and Bill Simmons, at the historic home of Rosemary and Sandy Williams. Musicians Darrell McDonald, Sandy Williams, Kenneth Williams, and Anne and Hoot Wilder entertained the attendees. The members then adjourned to the annual banquet held at the Chop House, where President Ann Simmons presided. After an invocation from Corinth First Presbyterian Church pastor Dr. Don Elliott, Robert Fleegler of the University of Mississippi presented the McLemore Prize to Aram Goudsouzian for his book, *Down to the Crossroads: Civil Rights, Black Power, and the Meredith March Against Fear.* Program chair Tim Smith then introduced the evening speaker, Dr. John F. Marszalek, executive director, Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library, Mississippi State University, who presented an address entitled "Ulysses S. Grant and His Place in Mississippi - Then and Now."

The annual meeting continued the next morning at the Weaver Center, with Elizabeth Payne of the University of Mississippi presiding over a session that featured graduate student work. Justin Rogers of the University of Mississippi presented "Behind the Big House: Coming to Terms with Slavery in North Mississippi," and Eve Wade of the University of Southern Mississippi presented "Beyond the Civil War:

Buffalo Soldiers and the Rise of Mobile Street." After a short break, the last session chaired by Corinth Civil War Interpretive Center park ranger Ashley Berry focused on local historical work, with Rosemary Taylor Williams describing the work of the Siege and Battle of Corinth Commission, Freida Miller reporting on the work of the Corinth Black History Museum, and Edwina Carpenter describing the work of the Brice's Crossroads Battlefield Visitor and Interpretive Center. The awards luncheon took place thereafter, with President Simmons presiding. Following the meal, various Society awards were presented. At the conclusion of the meeting, Mrs. Simmons announced that the Society's new president would be Dr. Dennis Mitchell, Mississippi State University/Meridian, who was unable to attend due to the weather.

The program chair would like to thank the speakers for their fine contributions and the program committee members for their hard work: Michael B. Ballard, Brandon Beck, Dean Burchfield, Thomas D. Cockrell, Elizabeth Ann Payne, Jason Shows, Susannah J. Ural, and Terrence J. Winschel. He also wishes to thank President Ann Atkinson Simmons, the Local Arrangements committee chair, Rosemary Williams, with whom he closely worked, as well as Elbert R. Hilliard for his truly passionate dedication and long-time service as the secretary-treasurer of the Mississippi Historical Society.