

# Preface

*Citation for published version (APA):* Baeten, J. C. M., & Corradini, F. (2005). Preface. In *Proceedings 11th International Workshop on Expressiveness in Concurrency (EXPRESS 2004, London, UK, August 30, 2004)* (pp. 1-3). (Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science; Vol. 128). https://doi.org/10.1016/j.entcs.2004.11.025, https://doi.org/10.1016/0304-3975(94)90161-9

DOI: 10.1016/j.entcs.2004.11.025 10.1016/0304-3975(94)90161-9

### Document status and date:

Published: 01/01/2005

#### Document Version:

Publisher's PDF, also known as Version of Record (includes final page, issue and volume numbers)

#### Please check the document version of this publication:

• A submitted manuscript is the version of the article upon submission and before peer-review. There can be important differences between the submitted version and the official published version of record. People interested in the research are advised to contact the author for the final version of the publication, or visit the DOI to the publisher's website.

• The final author version and the galley proof are versions of the publication after peer review.

 The final published version features the final layout of the paper including the volume, issue and page numbers.

Link to publication

#### General rights

Copyright and moral rights for the publications made accessible in the public portal are retained by the authors and/or other copyright owners and it is a condition of accessing publications that users recognise and abide by the legal requirements associated with these rights.

- · Users may download and print one copy of any publication from the public portal for the purpose of private study or research.
- You may not further distribute the material or use it for any profit-making activity or commercial gain
  You may freely distribute the URL identifying the publication in the public portal.

If the publication is distributed under the terms of Article 25fa of the Dutch Copyright Act, indicated by the "Taverne" license above, please follow below link for the End User Agreement:

www.tue.nl/taverne

#### Take down policy

If you believe that this document breaches copyright please contact us at:

openaccess@tue.nl

providing details and we will investigate your claim.



Available online at www.sciencedirect.com



Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science

Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science 128 (2005) 1–3

www.elsevier.com/locate/entcs

## Preface

The EXPRESS workshops aim at bringing together reseachers interested in the relations between various formal systems in computer science, in particular in the field of concurrency. More specifically, they focus on the comparison between programming concepts (such as concurrent, functional, imperative, logic and object-oriented programming) and between mathematical models of computation (such as process algebras, Petri nets, event structures, modal logics, rewrite systems etc.) on the basis of their relative expressive power.

The EXPRESS workshops were originally held as meetings of the HCM project EXPRESS, which was active with the same focus from January 1994 until December 1997. The first three workshops were held in Amsterdam (1994, chaired by Frits Vaandrager), Tarquinia (1995, chaired by Rocco De Nicola) and Dagstuhl (1996, co-chaired by Ursula Goltz and Rocco De Nicola). The workshop in 1997, which took place in Santa Margherita Ligure and was co-chaired by Catuscia Palamidessi and Joachim Parrow, was organized as a conference with a call for papers and a significant attendance from outside the project. As of 1998 (so, also this year), the workshops are held as satellite workshops of the CONCUR conferences. In 1998, this was in Nice, cochaired by Ilaria Castellani and Catuscia Palamidessi, in 1999 in Eindhoven, co-chaired by Iliaria Castellani and Björn Victor, in 2000 at Pennsylvania State University, co-chaired by Luca Aceto and Björn Victor, in 2001 at BRICS, Aalborg University, co-chaired by Luca Aceto and Prakash Panangaden, in 2002 in Brno, co-chaired by Uwe Nestmann and Prakash Panangaden and finally in 2003 in Marseille, co-chaired by Flavio Corradini and Uwe Nestmann.

This year, in response to the call for papers, we received 22 submissions. The program committee selected 9 of these for presentation at the workshop. In addition, the workshop contains two invited presentations, by Rocco De Nicola and Rob van Glabbeek. As a result, this proceedings contains 11 papers. We would like to thank the authors of the submitted papers, the invited speakers, the members of the program committee and their subreferees for their contribution to both the meeting and this volume. We also would like to thank the CONCUR organizing committee at Imperial College in London for their help in printing this volume and hosting EX-PRESS'04, in particular the workshop organizers Vladimiro Sassone and Julian Rathke and local organizer Iain Phillips. Michael Mislove helped with style files, Erik Luit with Cyberchair and Sonja Joosten took care of the webpage http://www.win.tue.nl/express04.

### **EXPRESS 2004 Program Committee**

Robert Amadio
Jos Baeten
Marco Bernardo
Luca Cardelli
Flavio Corradini
Mariangiola Dezani-Ciancaglini
Anna Ingolfsdottir

Marta Kwiatkowska Catuscia Palamidessi Jaco van der Pol Davide Sangiorgi Steve Schneider Irek Ulidowski Walter Vogler

### **EXPRESS 2004 Subreferees**

Alessandro Aldini Gavin Bierman Elmar Bihler Viviana Bono Edoardo Bontà Nadia Busi Diletta Romana Cacciagrano Stefano Cattani Silvia Crafa Stefan Dantchev Maria Rita Di Berardini Marie Duflot Cedric Fournet Georges Gonthier Andy Gordon Xudong Guan Pascal Honore Benedetto Intrigila Misa Keinänen

Francesca Levi **Bas** Luttik Aad Mathiissen Emanuela Merelli Kees Middelburg Madhavan Mukund Uwe Nestmann Vincent van Oostrom Ernesto Pimentel G. Michele Pinna Marco Pistore Ivano Salvo Simone Semprini Ehud Shapiro Natalia Sidorova Jiri Srba Colin Stirling M. G. Vigliotti Marc Voorhoeve

Naoki Kobayashi Maciej Koutny Barbara Koenig Ivan Lanese Xu Wang Lucian Wischik Nobuko Yoshida Pascal Zimmer

Jos Baeten (Technische Universiteit Eindhoven) Flavio Corradini (Università di Camerino) Editors