Dieses Dokument ist eine Zweitveröffentlichung (Postprint) / This is a self-archiving document (accepted version):

Johannes Gehrke, Wolfgang Lehner, Kyuseok Shim, Sang Kyun Cha, Guy Lohman

Message from the ICDE 2015 Program Committee and general chairs

Erstveröffentlichung in / First published in:

2015 IEEE 31st International Conference on Data Engineering. Seoul, 13.-17.04.2015. IEEE, S. i-ii. ISBN 978-1-4799-7964-6.

DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.1109/ICDE.2015.7113264

Diese Version ist verfügbar / This version is available on:

https://nbn-resolving.org/urn:nbn:de:bsz:14-qucosa2-820841







Message from the ICDE 2015 Program Committee and General Chairs

Since its inception in 1984, the IEEE International Conference on Data Engineering (ICDE) has become a premier forum for the exchange and dissemination of data management research results among researchers, users, practitioners, and developers. Continuing this long-standing tradition, the 31st ICDE will be hosted this year in Seoul, South Korea, from April 13 to April 17, 2015. It is our great pleasure to welcome you to ICDE 2015 and to present its proceedings to you.

We are grateful to all the authors who submitted their work to ICDE 2015. We received 409 paper submissions for the Research Track, 33 submissions for the Industrial Track, 11 submissions for the Application Track, 15 tutorial proposals, and 73 demonstration proposals. The Program Committee of the Research Track was subdivided into 15 topic-based areas, each of which was led by an Area Chair who was in charge of supervising the evaluation of submissions assigned to that area. Those Area Chairs are: Brian Cooper, Jonathan Goldstein, Melanie Herschel, Christian S. Jensen, Guido Moerkotte, Mohammed Mokbel, Thomas Neumann, Raymond T. Ng, Dan Olteanu, Rajeev Rastogi, Mirek Riedewald, Ken Salem, Evimaria Terzi, Xiaokui Xiao, and Jeffrey Xu Yu. Each submission was assigned to three reviewers of the Research Program Committee that consisted of 142 members, the Industrial Program Committee that consisted of 21 members, the Application Program Committee that consisted of 18 members.

Narrowed by this deliberate process, the Research Program features 103 accepted papers, the Industrial Program 15 papers, including five invited papers on main-memory databases, and the Demonstration Program contains 29 demonstrations. The conference program also includes nine tutorials, two panels, and the PhD Symposium. As in previous ICDE conferences, all accepted papers in Research, Industry, and Application tracks will be presented at the poster sessions. We have invited two outstanding keynotes to be given by internationally renowned, distinguished scientists Hector Garcia-Molina of Stanford University and Surajit Chaudhuri of Microsoft Research. Last but certainly not least, eight fascinating workshops will be co-located with the main conference.

We would like to thank the area chairs, mentioned above, the Program Committee members, and the following Program Committee Chairs for their extraordinary efforts in assembling this outstanding program: Industrial Program Co-Chairs Wook-Shin Han and Divesh Srivastava; Application Program Co-Chairs Masaru Kitsuregawa, Bongki Moon, and Jignesh M. Patel; Demonstration Co-Chairs Christof Bornhoevd and SangKeun Lee; Tutorial Co-Chairs Stratos Idreos and Sang-Won Lee; Workshop Co-Chairs Kevin Chang, Jun-Ki Min, and Lizhu Zhou; Panel Chair Rakesh Agrawal; Poster Chair Woong-Kee Loh; and PhD Symposium Co-Chairs Lei Chen, Younghoon Kim, and Dongwon Lee. In addition, we also would like to express our gratitude to those who acted as geographical area coordinators: Beng Chin Ooi and Katsumi Tanaka for the Asia Pacific Region; David Lomet for the Americas; and Gustavo Alonso for Europe, the Mideast, and Africa. We would especially like to thank Kyu-Young Whang, who served as the Honorary Chair.

We would like to extend our sincere appreciation for the outstanding work contributed over many months by the Organizing Committee: Sang-Won Lee and Jae-Jin Lee served as the Local Arrangements Co-Chairs; Sang-goo Lee and Junho Shim performed the role of Finance Co-Chairs; Jeong-Hyon Hwang and Yang-Sae Moon compiled the Proceedings; Young-Koo Lee and Steven Whang were responsible for the Conference's web pages; Hwanjo Yu and Xiaofang Zhou coordinated the publicity; Wookey Lee and Ge Yu organized registration; Chulyun Kim acted as the Treasury Chair, and Ki Yong Lee served as the Exhibition Chair. We also wish to express our appreciation to the CMT team at Microsoft for their assistance.

We would like to emphasize that the success of ICDE 2015 would not have been possible without the support of many committed volunteers who generously contributed their time, expertise, and resources toward making the conference an unqualified success.

It has been our honor and privilege to work with such a devoted and talented group of people who genuinely care about ICDE and the data management research community. Without the contributions of each of them, the conference could not have happened. We also gratefully acknowledge the financial support of our sponsors. Finally, we thank all presenters and conference attendees for their participation.

We hope you enjoy the conference!

ICDE 2015 Program Committee Chairs: Johannes Gehrke, Microsoft and Cornell University, USA Wolfgang Lehner, Technische Universität Dresden, Germany Kyuseok Shim, Seoul National University, Korea

ICDE 2015 General Chairs: Sang Kyun Cha, Seoul National University, Korea Guy Lohman, IBM Almaden Research Center, USA