

University of North Dakota
UND Scholarly Commons

Usher Burdick Papers

Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections

5-16-1956

Letter Forwararding Telegram from Martin Cross to the Members of the Indian Affairs Subcommittee, May 16, 1956

Hilda Henderson National Congress of American Indians

Martin Cross

Follow this and additional works at: https://commons.und.edu/burdick-papers

Recommended Citation

Henderson, Hilda and Cross, Martin, "Letter Forwararding Telegram from Martin Cross to the Members of the Indian Affairs Subcommittee, May 16, 1956" (1956). *Usher Burdick Papers*. 301. https://commons.und.edu/burdick-papers/301

This Book is brought to you for free and open access by the Elwyn B. Robinson Department of Special Collections at UND Scholarly Commons. It has been accepted for inclusion in Usher Burdick Papers by an authorized administrator of UND Scholarly Commons. For more information, please contact und.commons@library.und.edu.

National Congress of American Indians

226 DUPONT CIRCLE BUILDING, 1346 CONNECTICUT AVENUE, N.W. WASHINGTON 6, D. C. Telephone ADams 2-3390 1956 OFFICERS PRESIDENT Joseph R. Garry, Coeur d'Alene FIRST VICE PRESIDENT Clarence Wesley, San Carlos Apache SECOND VICE PRESIDENT Frank George, Colville-Nez Perce RECORDING SECRETARY Vyola Olinger, Agua Caliente, Mission TREASURER Ruth Muskrat Bronson, Cherokee

May 16, 1956

To the Members of the Indian Affairs Subcommittee Committee on Interior & Insular Affairs House of Representatives Room 1324 House Office Building Washington, D. C.

Since our Executive Director, Mrs. Helen L. Peterson, is out of the city, Iaan setting forth below a telegram which we received a short while ago from Martin Cross, Chairman, Fort Berthold Tribal Council, Newtown, North Dakota, relative to certain bills you will be discussing on May 17, 1956.

PARSHALL N DAK 16 939AMC-

HELEN PETERSON 226 DUPONT CIRCLE BLDG.

COUNCIL URGES YOU TO ATTEND HEARING MAY 17TH SUPPORT H.R. 9324 AND S. 1528 OR H.R. 10222 FORT BERTHOLD BILLS THIS WILL SERVE AS YOUR AUTHORITY UNABLE TO ATTEND HEARING.

MARTIN CROSS

Sincerely yours, eda Henderson Office Manager

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL: Elected members who will serve out unexpired terms, through 1956 convention — Lorena D. Iorg, Utah Ute; James R. Mosier, Osage; Frank Parker, Shoshone-Bannock; through 1957 convention — Martin Cross, Gros Ventre; Nelson Jose, Gila River Pima; John C. Rainer, Taos Pueblo; Walter S. Wetzel, Blackfeet; Edward Wilson, Chippewa; through 1958 convention — Harvey Moses, Colville; Elizabeth B. Peratrovich, Tlingit; Alex Saluskin, Yakima; Moses Twobulls, Oglala Sioax; Woodrow Wilson, Cheyenne-Arapaho. Appointed to Executive Council by respective member tribes — Robert LaFromboise, Blackfeet; George Owl, Eastern Band of Cherokees; Oswald George, Coeur d'Alene; Daniel Eddy, Colorado River Tribes; Glen Whitelaw, Colville; Jay R. Morago, Jr., Gila River Pima; Vyola Olinger, Agua Caliente, Mission; Rupert Parker, Hualapai; Charles Picard, Keweenah Bay; Gustavus White, Omaha; Jesse Stevens, San Carlos Apache; Teola Truchot, Shoshone-Bannock; Arthur Manning, Shoshone Paiute; Mary C. Howard Suquamish; Henry Cuch, Utah Ute. (List incomplete pending notices from tribes.) STAFF: Helen L. Peterson, Oglala Sioux, Executive Director; Mildred Sparks, Regional Representative in Alaska; Thomas Segundo, Papago, Regional Representative.