Editorial



Dr. Alain De Mesmaeker President of the Swiss Chemical Society

Dear SCS members,

I hope that this Laureates issue of CHIMIA finds you all well and in perfect health. We went through a too long period dominated by the difficult health issues related to the COVID pandemic. This situation prevented us, unfortunately, to meet in person with most of you and we had to move many events to online meetings, which have been very successful according to your numerous feedbacks. Of course, we all hope that we will be able to return to regular meetings as soon as the pandemic situation and the Federal regulations allow it. CHIMIA, which is celebrating its 75th volume this year, remained one of the society's major channels to inform the Swiss Chemistry Community about the great science performed in Switzerland. In addition to the usual contributions to CHIMIA the present issue contains six articles by the Laureates of very important SCS Awards 2020–2021 and the manuscript of the Laureate of the METAS Award 2020.

We thank you all most sincerely for your understanding of the circumstances and for your support and participation in the virtual SCS meetings. For the second time, the Fall Meeting 2021 will take place as an online conference. Registration to join the conference is mandatory and gives you access to the virtual meeting rooms (Zoom platform). Registration is still open and is free for SCS Members.

Professor Scott Denmark from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign has been awarded the very prestigious Paracelsus Prize 2020 for his numerous and outstanding contributions to synthetic organic chemistry. He describes, together with N. Ian Rinehart and Andrew F. Zahrt as co-authors, recent progress in the design of enantioselective catalysts. Their article is entitled 'Leveraging Machine Learning for Enantioselective Catalysis: From Dream to Reality'.

Professor Raffaella Buonsanti from the Ecole Polytechnique de Lausanne, Sion was awarded the Werner Prize 2021 for her original and significant contributions in the chemistry development of tailored nanomaterials and their applications in catalysis, especially CO₂ electroreduction. Her article is entitled 'Developing the Chemistry of Colloidal Cu Nanocrystals to Advance the CO₂ Electrochemical Reduction'.

Drs. Andreas Schuster, Caroline Maierhofer, Stephan Bachmann, Hans Iding, Christian Lautz, Régis Mondière, Isabelle Thomé-Pfeiffer from the Technical Development Department of Hoffmann-La Roche AG, Basel and Christoph Strasser from Dottikon Exclusive Synthesis AG received the Sandmeyer Award 2020. The team describes, together with their co-authors Philipp Schmidt, Thomas Bär, and André Aebi, their remarkable achievements on the efficient, economical, scalable and sustainable synthetic process which would allow the production of Ipatasertib in Switzerland. Their article is entitled 'Development of the Commercial Manufacturing Process for Ipatasertib'.

Dr. Frank Petersen from Novartis Pharmaceutical Research, Basel received the SCS Senior Industrial Science Award 2020 in recognition of his outstanding research on Natural Products. His article co-authored by Kathrin Buntin, Peter Ertl, Dominic Hoepfner, Philipp Krastel, Edward J. Oakeley, Dominik Pistorius, Tim Schuhmann, Joanne Wong is entitled 'Deliberations on Natural Products and Future Directions in the Pharmaceutical Industry'.

Dr. Hasane Ratni from Hofmann-Laroche Pharmaceutical Research, Basel received for his outstanding contributions to Medicinal Chemistry the SCS Senior Industrial Science Award 2020. His article is entitled 'Contribution to the Discovery of a Novel Medicine for a Neuromuscular Disease and of other Promising Molecules for the Treatment of Neurodevelopmental and Neurodegenerative Diseases'.

Dr. Denis Jacoby from Firmenich SA, Geneva has been awarded the SCS Industrial Science Award 2020 for his great achievements in Process Research and Development of new Flavor & Fragrance ingredients. His article is entitled 'Tailored Catalysis for the F&F Industry'.

Kamyar Mehrabi from ETH Zurich received the METAS Award 2020 given by the Federal Institute of Metrology. His article co-authored by Ralf Kaegi, Detlef Günther and Alexander Gundlach-Graham is entitled 'Quantification and Clustering of Inorganic Nanoparticles in Wastewater Treatment Plants across Switzerland'.

Dr. Alain De Mesmaeker
President of the Swiss Chemical Society