Denver Law Review

Volume 50 | Issue 2

Article 2

March 2021

Westminster College of Law 1912-1957

Norma L. Comstock

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.du.edu/dlr

Recommended Citation

50 Denv. L.J. [vii] (1973).

This Front Matter is brought to you for free and open access by the Denver Law Review at Digital Commons @ DU. It has been accepted for inclusion in Denver Law Review by an authorized editor of Digital Commons @ DU. For more information, please contact jennifer.cox@du.edu,dig-commons@du.edu.

DEDICATION

WESTMINSTER COLLEGE OF LAW 1912-1957

It is with great pride that the *Denver Law Journal* dedicates this Anniversary Issue to the alumni of the Westminster College of Law and to its distinguished faculty and trustees.

Organized as a night law school in 1912, Westminster graduated some 700 attorneys during the following 45 years. In 1957, Westminster was merged into the University of Denver College of Law. The new school has maintained the night division and created the Westminster Law Library as a tribute to Westminster College of Law.

Mention of the College's many distinguished graduates, several of whom served in later years as trustees, officers, teachers, and advisors of the institution, would require space not available here. Among the College's graduates are a Governor, United States Secretaries of Agriculture and of the Interior, a member of the Federal Power Commission, numerous judges at every level of the judicial system, several district attorneys, city councilmen, bankers, corporation presidents, and other community leaders beyond count.

Deans John Murray, Hamlet J. Barry, Clifford W. Mills, and William Hedges Robinson, Registrars John E. Nelson, William E. Doyle, and Nellie Ryan, as well as trustees Benjamin Hilliard, Jr., Barnard B. Carraher, Marshall Reddish, Horace N. Hawkins, Charles H. Haines, John W. Shireman, Charles A. Baer, and Sydney E. Shuteran, devoted much time and attention during many years to the school's management. Most of them, in addition to Max D. Melville, Allen Moore, Morrison Shafroth, Harry Riddle, Albert Vogl, Frank A. Wachob, Hubert D. Henry, Richard D. Ryan, Fred M. Winner, Joseph E. Cook, and others, served as teachers for years with little or no compensation, simply for love of their profession and out of deep sympathy for the students in their evening endeavors to become members of that profession. Almost without exception, the students held daytime jobs, but even during times of financial depression and war, struggled on to their goal.

It is indeed fitting that this issue of the *Journal* be dedicated to these men and women — students, teachers, and officials of an institution which will never be forgotten by its graduates.

Norma L. Comstock*

^{*} Attorney, Denver, Colorado; LL.B., 1932, Westminster College of Law; formerly a Member of the Board of Trustees and faculty of the Westminster College of Law.