# Letter from the President



## Maurella Della Seta

Istituto Superiore di Sanità (retired) Rome, Italy Contact: maurella.dellaseta@iss.it

Dear EAHIL colleagues,

This is my last letter for 2020 and my last letter as President. As you know, my mandate will finish at the end of this year. Lotta Haglund from Sweden will be the new President, and I will uptake the role of Past President for 2021-2022.

These four years as a President passed very quickly, and I am very pleased with the results that we achieved in this period. During my mandate, EAHIL was able to provide four excellent events, i.e., two interactive Workshops (Dublin, 2017, and Basel, 2019), a Conference (Cardiff, 2018) and an online Conference, hosted by the Information and Library Centre of the Medical University of Lodz. This last event was especially challenging since it was the first online conference in the history of our Association. As the Lodz LOC summarised, there was a great participation, a sound scientific program, and the most important, countless smiles (see *Figure 1* for a graphic summary of the Conference). The March 2021 issue of the *JEAHIL* will be dedicated to the Lodz event, and I am looking forward to reading it.

All the above-mentioned events were well attended, and enthusiastically approved by most of the participants in their feedbacks. A warm thank to all the organisers, to the Local Organising Committees and to the IPCs members, who worked so hard to ensure successful and enjoying meetings.

During the last four years I have excellently been supported by the Executive Board and the Council members, and I wish to thank all of them for their help and their work in favour of our association. A special and warm thank goes to the colleagues who are now ending their mandate in the Board: Marshall Dozier (Past President) Karen Buset (Honorary Secretary), Ghislaine Decleve (Treasurer) and Tuulevi Ovaska (Communication Coordinator). I will miss you!

## Results of the Elections for Council members

As you know, last November we had the elections of the new Councillors, for the following countries:

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Moldova, Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, and United Kingdom. We had several meetings with EAHIL Board colleagues, to organise the election process.

I wish to thank all candidates for their involvement in EAHIL activities. I am glad to send my warmest congratulations to the new and re-elected Council members for the 2021-2024 term:

Irma Klerings (Austria); Luc Hourlay (Belgium); Josip Simic (Bosnia & Herzegovina); Dana Zdenkova (Czech Republic); Louise Stenolt (Denmark); Ivika Rande (Estonia); Louise Farragher and Donna O'Doiblin (Ireland); Cinzia Bussolati and Cristina Mancini (Italy); Elina Vela (Latvia); Irina Gangan (Moldova); Eugénie Delvaux and Hans Ket (Netherlands); Maria da Luz Antunes (Portugal); Elisabeth Nylander (Sweden); Alison Bethel (UK).

#### **Governance Committees**

I sincerely want to thank, as well, the members of the Financial audit committee 2017: Helena Bouzkova (Czech Republic) and Susanna Henriques (Portugal); the members of the Nomination committee 2020: Gerhard Bissels, (Switzerland), Regina Küfner Lein, (Norway) and Ivana Truccolo (Italy); and the members of the Election audit committee 2019-2020: Angels Carles (Spain), Katri Larmo (Finland) and Linda Lisgarten (United Kingdom).



**Fig. 1.** EAHIL 2020 in numbers, as summarised by the organisers of the Conference.

### EAHIL Award 2020

As EAHIL President, I presented the EAHIL Award of 2020 in the closing ceremony of the EAHIL 2020 Online conference. The award was posthumously given to Shane Godbolt (1943-2019) in recognition for her immense contribution international to health librarianship (Figure 2). Shane passed away in November 2019, but with awareness of the gravity of her illness, the Board made the exceptional decision to give Shane the award early so that she could know of our deep appreciation while she was still alive. These are the main motivations of the Award, that formally acknowledges Shane's outstanding contribution to Health Librarianship:

Shane was a founding member of EAHIL and had always continued to be active in EAHIL. It is due to Shane that we have stronger collaborative links with our sister association, AHILA. She was founder and editor of the Health Information and Libraries Journal. She was a founder and director of Partnerships in Health Information, a charitable organisation with the aim of addressing information needs of the public and healthcare providers, especially in African countries.

As a conclusion, I would like to wish you a cloudless holiday season and the very best beginning of the year 2021, hoping that it would be better than this tragic 2020.

Maurella

