

# Provided by HKU Scholars Hub The HKU Scholars Hub The University of Hong Kong





Title	Division VI: Interstellar Matter
Author(s)	Millar, T; Chu, YH; Dyson, J; Breitschwerdt, D; Burton, M; Cabrit, S; Caselli, P; de Gouveia Dal Pino, E; Ferland, G; Juvela, M; Koo, BC; Kwok, S; Lizano, S; Rozyczka, M; Tóth, V; Tsuboi, M; Yang, J
Citation	International Astronomical Union Proceedings, v. 6, Transactions T27B, p. 213-214
Issued Date	2010
URL	http://hdl.handle.net/10722/128489
Rights	International Astronomical Union Proceedings . Copyright © Cambridge University Press.

#### **DIVISION VI** INTERSTELLAR MATTER

(MATIÈRE INTERSTELLAIRE)

**PRESIDENT** Tom Millar VICE-PRESIDENT PAST PRESIDENT

You-Hua Chu John Dyson

**BOARD** 

Dieter Breitschwerdt, Mike Burton, Sylvie Cabrit, Paola Caselli, Elisabete de Gouveia Dal Pino, Gary Ferland, Mika Juvela, Bon-Chul Koo, Sun Kwok, Susana Lizano, Michal Rozyczka, Viktor Tóth,

Masato Tsuboi, Ji Yang

#### PARTICIPATING COMMISSIONS

Commission 34 Interstellar Matter

#### DIVISION WORKING GROUPS

Astrochemistry Planetary Nebulae Star Formation

### **BUSINESS MEETING 10 August 2009**

#### 1. Introduction

The business meeting of Division VI was held on Monday 10 October 2009. Apologies had been received in advance from D Breitschwerdt, P Caselli, G Ferland, M Juvela, S Lizano, M Rozyczka, V Tóth, M Tsuboi, J Yang and B-C Koo.

## 2. Election of Division Officers and New Organising Committee Members

An election was held among the members of the Organising Committee to elect new officers for the triennium 2009–2012. Following nominations, Sun Kwok (China, Hong Kong) was elected as Vice-President and Mike Burton (Australia) elected as Secretary. You-Hua Chu (USA) takes over as President of the Division following her term as Vice-President.

Two members of the Organising Committee, Gary Ferland (USA), and Susana Lizano (Mexico), finished their term of office in 2009 and an election was organised among the Division membership for their replacements. Following an electronic call to the membership for nominations, a list of 20 nominations from 7 countries was circulated by e-mail. Over 200 votes were cast with new members elected for the 2009-2012 triennium being Thomas Henning (Germany) and Neal Evans II (USA).

## 3. Possible New Working Group

Jacco van Loon (UK) had asked that the OC consider setting up a new Working Group on the Diffuse Interstellar Medium. In principle the OC felt that it would be useful to have such a WG but it broadened the discussion to consider whether the current structure of Division VI, one of the few Divisions that contained one Commission, was fit for purpose. The advantage of having all areas of interstellar medium science contained within one Commission had the disadvantage that it necessitated a very large OC with a subsequent lack of focus. The discussion centred around the possibility that Division VI might be better organised with two or three Commissions that would allow a diverse range of topics to be hosted within each Commission and provide membership for a smaller OC for Division VI.

It was agreed that the new OC for Division VI would consult with the membership with the intention of bring any proposed changes to the next General Assembly.

## 4. Mailing List

The President had spent a significant amount of time in the past triennium trying to clean up the e-mail addresses of the current membership, significant numbers of whom did not seem to be active in astronomy at present, with many not having published a journal article in the past 10–15 years. The President agreed to update his contacts file once he had been informed by the Secretariat of the details of new members joining the Division at this GA.

#### 5. Website

For several triennia it has been customary that the Division website has resided at the institution of the President with the result that the Division/Commission has several extant websites. It was agreed that significant work was required to update the website and to remove heritage sites from the web. An offer from Dr V Tóth to provide support for this activity was noted with gratitude.

## 6. Closing remarks

The President would like to thank the officers and members of the Organising Committee for their dedication in supporting the work of Division VI and, in particular, for all their efforts in ranking the large number of proposals for IAU Symposia, Joint Discussions and Special Sessions, particularly those associated with this GA, the results of which were clearly evident in the high-quality meetings currently underway in Rio de Janeiro.

Tom Millar President of the Division Queen's University Belfast