## The HKU Scholars Hub

The University of Hong Kong



Title	Message from the program co-chairs
Author(s)	Tse, TH; Chen, TY
Citation	The 1st Asia-Pacific Conference on Quality Software Proceedings, Hong Kong, China, 30-31 October 2000, p. x
Issued Date	2000
URL	http://hdl.handle.net/10722/48432
Rights	Creative Commons: Attribution 3.0 Hong Kong License

## Message from the Program Co-Chairs

The quality of software has an important bearing on the financial and safety aspects in our daily lives. Unfortunately, software systems often fail to deliver according to promises. It is well known that there are still unresolved errors in many of the software systems that we use every day. The Asia-Pacific region is far from being immune to these problems. The prime objective of the Asia-Pacific Conference on Quality Software (APAQS) is to provide a forum to bring together researchers and practitioners from within and outside this region to seriously address this issue.

We are pleased to launch the first APAQS conference in Hong Kong. We extend our warmest welcome to the participants.

We have received a total of 66 submissions from over 20 countries. Both the number of submissions and their quality are quite impressive for a new conference. After a process of thorough peer reviews, 35 papers have been selected for the conference. We are grateful to all the authors for their enthusiastic support.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank members of the Program Committee for their invaluable time and effort in the reviewing process, as well as their constructive comments and suggestions that helped to better shape the papers. We should not forget other reviewers who are not serving on the program committee for their kind help.

Special thanks are due to our keynote speakers Professor Stephen Yau of Arizona State University, and Mr. K.H. Lau, Director of Information Technology Services of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

We hope you will find the conference interesting and useful. We also look forward to your support and participation next year.

T.H. Tse

T.Y. Chen

**Program Co-Chairs**