Acknowledgements

We would like to dedicate this volume to the undergraduate scholars at WVU. MURR was re-established because the countless hours of work done by undergraduates at West Virginia University should not go unnoticed. We at MURR would like to thank the Office of Undergraduate Research (UGR) for its help in the development of MURR. Without our project directors, Kevin Walden and Dr. Michelle Richards-Babb, MURR's existence would not be possible. We would like to thank the UGR's assistant director, Dr. Cinthia Pacheco, for sharing her expertise in developing undergraduate research journals. Next, we would like to thank the Honors College and the Honors EXCEL program; specifically, we extend our gratitude to Dr. Dana Huebert Lima, Colleen Good, and Dr. Ken Blemings for their constant support in the growth of MURR. Dr. Ian Harmon, scholarly communications librarian and an expert in open-access and copyright law, was instrumental in steering us in the direction of open-access publishing, and we sincerely thank him for his help throughout the process of producing MURR Volume 5. Our success in producing this volume would not have been possible without the guidance of Drs. Katlin Swisher and Laura Brady. Furthermore, we would like to express our sincere gratitude to our faculty reviewers: Kristina Olson, Drs. Jessica Allen, Cinthia Pacheco, Kate Staples, Cangliang Shen, Tina Moroose, and Radhica Ganapathy. We are incredibly grateful for the Undergraduate Research Association (URA) keeping the spirit of the journal alive in the years since its last publication and indebted to the groundwork established by the original student founders of MURR.

See you next issue!

Jeffrez Petty Jachany Hiljim Delle gulen Bench Coice

Mountaineer Undergraduate Research Review Leadership

Jeffrey Petty, Editor-in-Chief Zachary Gilpin, Editor-in-Chief David Sokolov, Head Section Editor (STEM) Julean Bender, Head Section Editor (HASS) Caitlyn Wilczek, Design Editor