Iowa Science Teachers Journal

Volume 10 | Number 4

Article 14

1973

Army Junior Science, Engineering and Humanities Symposium

Anne Marie Herman

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj



Part of the Science and Mathematics Education Commons

Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Copyright © Copyright 1973 by the Iowa Academy of Science

Recommended Citation

Herman, Anne Marie (1973) "Army Junior Science, Engineering and Humanities Symposium," Iowa Science Teachers Journal: Vol. 10: No. 4, Article 14.

Available at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj/vol10/iss4/14

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Iowa Academy of Science at UNI ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in Iowa Science Teachers Journal by an authorized editor of UNI ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@uni.edu.

betterment projects. The IJAS Leadership Team consists of the following:

Student Program Committee
Daryl D. Smith, Chairman, UNI (76)
Henry J. Biere, Anamosa High School (74)
Daniel S. Sheldon, U of I (74)
Frank W. Starr, Waterloo Comm. Sch. Dist. (75)
Gary E. Downs, SDPI (75)
Frederick P. DeLuca, ISU (76)
Edward L. Pizzini. U of I (ex-officio)

Director Edward L. Pizzini, U of I (75)

Science Education Advisory Council
Gary E. Downs, SDPI
Don E. Murphy, ISTA
Robert C. Goss, UNI Symposium (Director)
Edward L. Pizzini, U of I Symposium (Director)
Daniel S. Sheldon, Community Betterment
(Project ASSIST)
Lynn W. Glass, ISU Short Course
Frank W. Starr, IJAS Field Program Coordinator

Student Advisory Council
Patricia L. Cable, Cedar Falls
Darlene Mollenhauer, Center Point
Roxanne Green, Carroll
Christine DeMars, Des Moines
Sharon Happel, Ottumwa
Diane Ales, Muscatine
Peggy McBeth, Ottumwa
Tim Taeger, Burlington
Albert Allen, Davenport
Derek Davis, Davenport

Regional Student Program Chairmen Bettendorf - Larry Myers Burlington - Patricia Knopp Cedar Rapids - Kenneth Moore Council Bluffs - Jon Iverson Decorah - Marvin Cooper Denison - Sister F. Seidl Des Moines - Thomas Scott Dubuque - Michael Marty Fort Dodge - Dennis Hewett Marshalltown - Ray Mitchem Mason City - Dennis Vrba Ottumwa - Vernon Slaymaker Perry - Steve Patterson Red Oak - Jerry Tom Sioux City - Lawrence Benne Spencer - Carl Gochenauer Waterloo - Frank Starr

Secretary
Ms. Cynthia Hill, 455 Physics Building
University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa 52242

In addition, many teachers, coordinators and consultants assist in and/or coordinate the various activities afforded students.

ARMY JUNIOR SCIENCE, ENGINEERING AND HUMANITIES SYMPOSIUM

Do a research project, explore it, put time, hard work, and study into it and numerous rewards come about. Especially for six Iowa students selected to go to the National Junior Science and Humanities Symposium held at West Point Academy, New York, May 9-12, 1973. These six students boarded flights into New York where they accompanied students from 31 other regions.

An interesting part of the Symposium was meeting and exchanging thoughts and ideas with other students.

The top student presentor from each region reported on their projects in National competition to determine who would be selected to enter International competition in London, England. Projects were of every type and interest to the attending students.

Students participated in several group discussions concerning the "Changing Earth" throughout their stay at West Point.

Tours of the Academy were provided, with students observing the cadet's disciplined and orderly life. A trait of the cadets which stood out was their respect for others. These traits were observed over the entire Academy in several different cadet class tours and when the cadets performed a very impressive close order drill.

The stay concluded with tours of the UN Building and other tourist attractions in New York City.

Anne Marie Herman

*The six students who represented Iowa at the Symposium were: Paul Sugg, Presentor, Knoxville Sr. High School Kevin Baker, Spirit Lake High School Joe Depenbusch, Emmetsburg Comm. High School Anne Marie Herman, Sigourney Comm. High School Bruce Luxon, West Waterloo High School Gordon Waite, Maquoketa Senior High School