Georgia Library Quarterly

Volume 57 Issue 4 Fall 2020

Article 11

10-1-2020

Georgia Library Association - 2021 GLA Election Results

Casey M. Long Agnes Scott College, clong@agnesscott.edu

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.kennesaw.edu/glq



Part of the Library and Information Science Commons

Recommended Citation

Long, C. M. (2020). Georgia Library Association - 2021 GLA Election Results. Georgia Library Quarterly, 57(4). Retrieved from https://digitalcommons.kennesaw.edu/glq/vol57/iss4/11

This News is brought to you for free and open access by DigitalCommons@Kennesaw State University. It has been accepted for inclusion in Georgia Library Quarterly by an authorized editor of DigitalCommons@Kennesaw State University. For more information, please contact digitalcommons@kennesaw.edu.

Georgia Library Association - 2021 GLA Election Results Cover Page Footnote Thank you to the Nominations & Elections Committee Members: Amy Eklund, Wendy Cornelison, and Casey Long



Georgia Library Association 2021 GLA Election Results

The Georgia Library Association (GLA) held an election between September 1–30, 2020 to elect new GLA Executive Board and division leaders for 2021. This is the first year that all divisions were required to participate in the September elections. Elections for interest group leaders will continue to be held separately each year in November.

The following individuals were elected as new GLA Executive Board officers. Their term of office will begin in January 2021.

- Vice-President and President-Elect: Karen Manning, Georgia Institute of Technology
- Vice President for Marketing & Branding: Marquita Gooch, Clayton County Library System
- Secretary: Jean Mead, Athens Regional Library System
- ALA Councilor (3-year term, 2021– 2023): Angela Glowcheski, Sequoyah Regional Library System

They will join the following officers currently serving on the GLA Executive Board:

- 2021 President: Wendy Cornelisen, Georgia Public Library Service
- Vice-President of Membership: Janice Shipp, Savannah State University
- Treasurer: Ben Bryson, Marshes of Glynn Libraries
- ALA Councilor (3-year term, 2019– 2021): Tamika Barnes, Georgia State University
- SELA Representative: Ben Carter, Georgia Public Library Service

The following Divisions held elections and elected the following individuals:

Academic Library Division

- Vice Chair/Chair-Elect: Catherine Manci, Georgia Institute of Technology, Public Programming & Community Engagement Specialist
- Secretary: Kristina Lang, Georgia State University, Reference & Instruction Librarian
- ACRL Council Representative: Lamonica Sanford, Georgia College, Assessment Librarian

Georgia Library Trustees, Friends, and Advocates Division

• Chair-Elect: Brienné Coates

New Members Round Table

- Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect: Gina Viarruel, Gwinnett County Public Library, Library Associate
- Secretary: Kelly Williams, Gwinnett County Public Library, Supervisory Librarian, Suwanee Branch

Paraprofessional Division

 Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect: Jessica Tibbetts, Sequoyah Regional Library System, Public Services Specialist

Public Library Division

- Chair: Angel Abounder, Commerce Public Library
- Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect: Rosalind Lett, Clayton County Public Library

 Secretary: Bel Outwater, Commerce Public Library

Special Libraries and Information Services Division

- Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect: Stephen Sherman, Southeastern Council of Foundations
- Secretary: Shelia Devaney, University of Georgia Libraries



