North East Linguistics Society

Volume 13 Issue 1 ALNE 13 / NELS 13

Article 1

1983

Front Matter

Peter Sells

Charles Jones

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umass.edu/nels



Part of the Linguistics Commons

Recommended Citation

Sells, Peter and Jones, Charles (1983) "Front Matter," North East Linguistics Society: Vol. 13: Iss. 1, Article 1.

Available at: https://scholarworks.umass.edu/nels/vol13/iss1/1

This Front Matter is brought to you for free and open access by the Graduate Linguistics Students Association (GLSA) at ScholarWorks@UMass Amherst. It has been accepted for inclusion in North East Linguistics Society by an authorized editor of ScholarWorks@UMass Amherst. For more information, please contact scholarworks@library.umass.edu.

PROCEEDINGS OF ALNE 13 / NELS 13

Edited by
Peter Sells
Charles Jones

GLSA UMass/Amherst Amherst, MA March 1983

PREFACE

The papers collected here were delivered at the Thirteenth Annual Meeting of ALNE / NELS.

We regret that the papers presented by the following participants do not appear in this volume.

Judith Aissen
Joseph Aoun & Norbert Hornstein
Victoria Bergvall & John Whitman
Reineke Bok-Bennema & Anneke Groos
Hagit Borer
Ellen Broselow
James Higginbotham
Jean Lowenstamm & Jonathan Kaye
Carmen Lozano
Maria-Rita Manzini
Robert May
Malka Rappaport
Eric Reuland
Dominique Sportiche
Tarald Taraldsen

The ALNE 13 / NELS 13 logo was designed by Alain Babin.

Peter Sells Charles Jones

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

ALNE XIII/NELS XIII was held at UQAM on November 5, 6 and 7, 1982. We wish to thank all those who contributed to the planning and the organization of the meeting: the ALNE XIII/NELS committee: Judith McA'Nulty, Anne-Marie di Sciullo, Jonathan Kaye, Claire Lefebvre, and Anne Rochette; the twenty members of the selection committee, who must unfortunately remain nameless; all the others who volunteered their time and efforts before and after the conference, José Bonneau, Rose-Marie Dechaine, Doua Blé Siméon, Francine Doyon, André Dugas, Fernande Dupuis, Hilda Koopman, Pierre Lavoie, Huguette Maisonneuve, Ann Murchison, Doris Pilote, Reine Pinsonneault, Michael Rouzier, Paul Sauvageau, Dominique Sportiche and Astrid Vercaingne-Ménard; the Department of Linguistics and its chairman, Paul Pupier; and those who chaired the sessions, Philippe Barbaud, Anne-Marie di Sciullo, Frank Heny, John T. Jensen, Jan Koster, and Henk van Riemsdijk.

Finally, ALNE XIII/NELS XIII was funded by the Programme d'aide financière aux chercheurs et aux créateurs (PAFACC) at UQAM, by the Humanities Research Council of Canada (HRCC) and by you, the participants.

Judith McA'Nulty

Anne-Marie di Sciullo

For the ALNE XIII/NELS XIII committee.

CONTENTS

'A Symmetric Theory of Anaphoric Relations'
Joseph Aoun
'Yawelmani Verb Morphology and 3-Dimensional Phonology'
Diana Archangeli
'The Avoid Pronoun Principle and the Elsewhere Principle'
Denis Bouchard
'Binding and Logical Form'
John Bowers
'On the Interpretation of Resumptive Pronouns'
Wynn Chao & Peter Sells 47
'On the Fine Structure of the Binding Theory: Principle A'
Robert Friedin & Wayne Harbert 63
'On the Relationship of Rhythm to Destressing'
Michael Hammond
'COMP Accessibility and the Projection Principle'
Wayne Harbert
'The Role of Metrical Trees in Rhythmic Adjustment'
Bruce Hayes
'The θ-Criterion and Pronominal Binding'
Shalom Lappin
"Unaccusative Verbs in Basque'
Beth Levin
'The Principal Branching Direction Parameter in First Language
Acquisition of Anaphora'
B. Lust & L. Mangione
'Multi-level Binding'
Judith McA'Nulty
'The Syntax of Inflection in Modern Irish'
James McCloskey & Ken Hale 173

'On Certain (Tough) Differences between Spanish and English'	
Mario Montalbetti & Mamoru Saito	191
'Parasitic Trees'	
Pieter Muysken	199
'A Lexical Treatment of Tone in Tiv'	
Doug Pulleyblank	211
'Missing Subjects, Post-verbal Subjects and the Definiteness	
Effect'	
Ken Safir	229
'Some Problems of Syllable Structure in Axininca Campa'	
Moira Yip	243

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Judith Aissen

Yale University

Joseph Aoun

USC

Diana Archangeli

MIT

Victoria Bergvall

Harvard University

Reineke Bok-Bennema

Katholike Hogeschool Tilburg

Hagit Borer

University of California - Irvine

Denis Bouchard

University of Ottawa

John Bowers

Cornell University

Ellen Broselow

U of Iowa/ U of Texas at Austin

Wynn Chao

University of Ottawa

Robert Friedin

McGill University

Anneke Groos

Katholike Hogeschool Tilburg

Ken Hale

MIT

Michael Hammond

UCLA/MIT

Wayne Harbert

Cornell University

Bruce Hayes

UCLA

James Higginbotham

MIT

Norbert Hornstein

Columbia University

Jonathan Kaye

Université de Ouebec à Montréal

Shalom Lappin

University of Ottawa

Beth Levin

TIM

Carmen Lozano

Ohio State University

Jean Lowenstamm

U of Texas at Austin/U Tel Aviv

B. Lust

Cornell University

L. Mangione

Cornell University

Maria Rita Manzini

MIT

Robert May

Columbia University

Judith McA'Nulty

Université de Quebec à Montréal

James McCloskey

University College Dublin

Mario Montalbetti

MIT

Pieter Muysken

University of Amsterdam

Douglas Pulleyblank

MIT

Malka Rappaport

MIT

Eric Reuland

Groningen

Ken Safir

University of Pennsylvania

Mamoru Saito

MIT

Peter Sells

University of Massachusetts - Amherst

Dominique Sportiche

Université de Quebec à Montréal

Tarald Taraldsen

University of Tromsø

John Whitman

Harvard University

Moira Yip

Brandeis University