## Letter from the President



## Maurella Della Seta

Knowledge Service/Documentation Istituto Superiore di Sanità Rome, Italy Contact: maurella.dellaseta@iss.it

Dear EAHIL Colleagues,

This is my first letter for 2019, so, before anything else, I wish you the very best for your professional and personal life in this New Year. Also, best wishes to our association, which is always lively and active, thanks to your contribution and participation.

At the time of writing this letter, we have just had our February Board meeting in Rome. This was the right opportunity to welcome our new Board member for the 2019-2022 term, Tiina Heino (Finland), and to thank Eirik Reiert (Norway), who left the Board at the end of 2018. I am starting this year my second and last term (2019-2020) as EAHIL President. I am looking forward to collaborating with all the colleagues of the Board, who confirmed their roles or took up new ones. Namely, Marshall Dozier (UK) is our Past President, and Lotta Haglund (Sweden) was elected as vice President; she will liaise with sister organizations, and chair EAHIL Council. The Board elected Karen Buset (Norway) and Ghislaine Declève (Belgium) as Honorary Secretary and Treasurer, respectively. Tuulevi Ovaska (Finland) will be our Communications leader; Witold Kozakiewicz (Poland) is taking up the role of Deputy Treasurer, while Marshall Dozier (UK) and Francesca Gualtieri (Italy) will still be our System Administrators, managing EAHIL operational systems such as web server, mail and so on. The new Board member Tiina Heino will take care of contacts with sponsors, and of continuing education programmes.

Federica Napolitani will continue in her role as editor-in-chief of the JEAHIL, leading and ensuring communications with the Journal's editorial team.

My warmest welcome to new and re-elected Councilors for the 2019-2022 term:

Dina Vrkić (Croatia), Jette Frost Jepsen (Denmark), Sarah Hagström, Elise Johansson and Ritva Miikki (Finland), Helge Knüttel and Dietrich Rebholz-Schuhmann (Germany), Artemis Chaleplioglou (Greece), Anna Sigríður Guðnadóttir (Iceland), Caroline Rowan (Ireland), Valeria Scotti (Italy), Daiva Jurksaitiene (Lithuania), Katrine Aronsen, Irene Hunskår and Hilde Strømme (Norway), Justyna Zawada and Paulina Milewska (Poland), Octavia-Luciana Madge (Romania), David Ožura (Slovenia), Rebeca Isabel Gómez and Virgili Páez Cervi (Spain), Ann-Catrin Ekelund and Eva Hessman (Sweden), Shona Kirtley, Mala Mann and Madeleine Still (UK).

My best wishes and thanks to all the other Council members, hoping to be able to meet old and new Councilors at the next Basel EAHIL workshop next June. My hope is to receive from the Council many new ideas and proposals for the future of our association. Unfortunately, some countries, although having

vacancies, did not elect any representative. I really hope that colleagues from Austria, Bulgaria, France, Moldova, Russian Federation and Turkey can find members willing to become a Councilor in the upcoming elections.

I sincerely want to thank, as well, the members of the Financial audit committee 2017-2019: Helena Bouzkova (Czech Republic) and Susanna Henriques (Portugal); the members of the Nomination committee 2017-2018: Ann De Meulemeester (Belgium) and Ivana Truccolo (Italy); and the members of the Election audit committee 2019-2020: Angels Carles (Spain), Katri Larmo (Finland) and Linda Lisgarten (United Kingdom).

As regards the future EAHIL events, by the time you will read this letter, registration will be open for the 2019 EAHIL Workshop. As you know, it will be held in Basel, Switzerland between the 17th and the 20th of next June. The themes developed by the International Programme Committee (IPC) together with the Local Organising Committee (LOC) are: Roadmap of our Profession; Technology Uptake; Ecology of Scholarly Communications; Impact and Assessment; Benchmarking and Advocacy, Evidence-Based Practice. I personally took part in many in-person and online meetings of the IPC and the LOC. Both the scientific and the social programmes look very promising. A programme detailed view with all abstracts is available on the website of the Workshop. I recommend you to register as soon as possible, since places are limited.

I remind you that the Executive Board already accepted the proposals for the EAHIL Conference in 2020: it will take place in Łódź, Poland, in the month of June.

Events from 2021 onward are still to be set, although we had very interesting proposals. Therefore, I renew my invitation to send expressions of interest or proposals to the secretariat email address (EAHIL-SECR@LIST.ECOMPASS.NL). Please feel free to contact me or other Board members for discussion and support.

Looking forward to hearing from you with proposals or suggestions,

Maurella