NEWS FROM EAHIL

Letter from the President



Marshall Dozier

Information Services University of Edinburgh Edinburgh, UK Contact: marshall.dozier@ed.ac.uk

Dear Colleagues,

With 2015 we begin a new two-year cycle in the life of our Association, and I would like to use this letter to thank those who have just finished their terms of office, and welcome those who are new or continuing in roles for this next period. After the elections last year, we have refreshed Board and Council, but we also have members involved in other capacities, which I will outline in this letter. Part of my aim in describing these roles is to make some of the operations of our Association, which might not be well-known, a little less mysterious.

As this is the start of a new planning cycle in the Board after elections in 2014, we welcome a new executive Board member for the 2015-2018 term, Lotta Haglund (Sweden), and also welcome as co-opted members for the term 2015-2016, Karen Buset (Norway) and Francesca Gualtieri (Italy). The officers elected at the Board meeting in February are: Ghislaine Declève as Treasurer, Karen Buset as Secretary, and Lotta Haglund as Vice President to the Board. Peter Morgan continues in the role of Past President, and Maurella Della Seta, Anna Kågedal and Tuulevi Ovaska continue as executive members, and Anna has taken on the role of Webmaster as part of leading on the development of EAHIL's new website. Suzanne Bakker continues as a non-executive Board member, as supervisor of the Secretariat, which is based in the Netherlands, where EAHIL is formally registered. Suzanne is also doing the work of managing EAHIL's mailing lists and membership database, as well as liaising with the providers hosting those services. Federica Napolitani, who has succeeded Sally Wood as the chief editor of this Journal, is also a non-executive member of the Board to ensure good communication between the Board and the Journal's editorial team.

I'd like to welcome new Councillors for the 2015-2018 term too, both those new to the Council and those re-elected at the end of 2014: Inge Discart (Belgium), Jette Frost Jepsen (Denmark), Sigrid Prank (Estonia), Tiina Heino, Elise Johansson and Minna Liikala (Finland), Gaetan Kerdelhue (France), Sabine Buroh and Ulrich Korwitz (Germany), Valeria Scotti (Italy), Daiva Jurksaitiene (Lithuania), Ingeborg van Dusseldorp (Netherlands), Hanne Dybvik, Regina Küfner Lein and Jannicke Rusnes Lie (Norway), Octavia-Luciana Madge (Romania), Larisa Zhmykhova (Russian Federation), Vesna Cafuta (Slovenia), Alicia F Gómez and Verónica Juan-Quilis (Spain), and Helen Sjöblom, Margareta Sundin and Linda Thorn (Sweden), Mesra Sendir (Turkey), and Deirdre Beecher, Isla Kuhn and Helen Buckley Woods (United Kingdom). The complete list of Councillors for the next period is published in this issue of *JEAHIL*.

With the start of this new term we also have two new auditors of the EAHIL accounts, Witold Kozakiewicz and Ulrich Korwitz, who were elected at the General Assembly in 2014. We thank Patricia Flor and Jarmila Potomkova, who performed the work of auditing in the last two-year period. The role of the auditors is to scrutinise independently, and, all being well, confirm the accuracy of the presentation of accounts made by

the Treasurer and the Secretariat for each financial period.

EAHIL also has a nominations committee, which has the role of encouraging candidates for each election, to try and ensure there are plenty of candidates from all eligible countries in each election. We thank committee members who stood down in 2014: Ronald van Dieën, Patricia Flor, Margarida Meira and Sally Wood. We welcome new committee members for the next period: Ann de Meulemeester, Tiina Heino and Ioana Robu whose areas of recruiting work are west, north and eastern Europe respectively. We are still seeking one more member from the south of Europe.

Following our statutory requirements, we have an elections committee, the role of which is to audit the election mechanisms and processes to ensure that all comply with our statutes. We thank Lotta Haglund who stepped down in 2014, and welcome Katri Larmo, who now starts as a new committee member, as well as Helena Bouzková and Linda Lisgarden who are continuing in the role for a new term.

Finally, the Journal of the Association, *JEAHIL*, has its own Editorial Board which comprises Federica Napolitani (Editor in Chief); Petra Wallgren-Bjork, Fiona Brown, Katri Larmo, Oliver Obst and Michelle Wake. With the start of this year, we welcome Katri as the newest member, and we say thanks and good bye to Giovanna Miranda who left the Board and to Sally Wood who has stepped down from the role of Editor in Chief.

Very many thanks to all these colleagues who have made and will continue to make these efforts on behalf of the Association!

Looking ahead to the coming two years, I hope to see as many of you as possible at the Workshop in Edinburgh this coming June, and also at the next conference in Seville in 2016!

I'd like to encourage you to become more actively involved in EAHIL - here are a few ways:

- 1. Attend the Council meeting in June as an observer
- 2. Join or initiate a Special Interest Group
- 3. Submit papers to the *Journal of EAHIL (JEAHIL)*
- 4. Submit a proposal to host a future EAHIL event in your country

Kindest wishes,

Marshall