### AFRICAN UNION الاتحاد الأفريقي



#### **UNION AFRICAINE**

#### **UNIÃO AFRICANA**

Addis Ababa, ETHIOPIA

P.O. Box 3243

Telephone: +251-115-517 700

Fax: +251-115517844

website: www. africa-union.org

Reference: BC/OLC/27.2/Vol.VIII REV. 7

COMPOSITION OF
THE SUB-COMMITTEES OF THE
PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVES' COMMITTEE (PRC)
2009 - 2010

# COMPOSITION OF THE SUB- COMMITTEES OF THE PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVES COMMITTEE 2009 - 2010

#### INTRODUCTION

In conformity with Article 21(2) of the Constitutive Act of the African Union, the Permanent Representatives Committee (PRC) "may set up such sub-committees or working groups as it may deem necessary". During its First Ordinary Session held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, on 28 October 2002, the PRC decided to retain a number of Sub-Committees of the PRC. It should be recalled that the geographical distribution agreed to is as follows: Central: 3, East: 3, North: 2, South: 3 and West: 4.

The regional deans have held consultations for the composition 2009-2010 and have forwarded the results to the Commission as follows:

### 1. Advisory Sub-Committee on Administrative, Budgetary and Financial Matters

1. Bureau:

- Equatorial Guinea (Chairperson)

Ghana (1st Vice-Chairperson)
 Algeria (2nd Vice-Chairperson)
 Mauritius (3rd Vice-Chairperson)

- Botswana (Rapporteur)

2. Membership: All Member States

#### 2. Sub-Committee on Programmes and Conferences

1. Bureau:

- Nigeria (Chairperson)

Kenya (1st Vice-Chairperson)
 Egypt (2nd Vice-Chairperson)
 Malawi (3rd Vice-Chairperson)

Gabon (Rapporteur)

2. Membership: All Member States

#### 3. Sub-Committee on Refugees

1. Bureau:

- Uganda (Chairperson)

- S.A.D.R. (1st Vice-Chairperson)

Zambia (2nd Vice-Chairperson)Guinea (3rd Vice-Chairperson)

- Chad (Rapporteur)

2. Membership: All Member States

#### 4. Sub-Committee on Contributions

#### 1. Bureau:

- Malawi (Chairperson)

Rwanda (1st Vice-Chairperson)
 Nigeria (2nd Vice-Chairperson)
 Burundi (3rd Vice-Chairperson)

- Egypt (Rapporteur)

#### 2. Membership:

West: Cote d'Ivoire, Guinea, Nigeria and Togo;

North: Egypt and Tunisia;

East: Djibouti, Rwanda and Somalia;
 Southern: Angola, Lesotho and Malawi;

Central: Burundi, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon.

#### 5. Standing Sub-Committee on the Review of the Scale of Assessment<sup>1</sup>

## 6. Policy Sub-Committee of the Special Emergency Assistance Fund for Drought and Famine in Africa

#### 1. Bureau:

- Algeria (Chairperson)

Zimbabwe (1st Vice-Chairperson)
 Madagascar (2nd Vice-Chairperson)
 Chad (3rd Vice-Chairperson)

- Cote d'Ivoire (Rapporteur)

#### 2. Membership:

West: Cote d'Ivoire, Mali, Niger and Senegal;

- North: Algeria and S.A.D.R.;

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> It should be recalled that the Sub-Committee on the Review of the Scale of Assessment has been replaced by a Ministerial Committee chaired by South Africa and composed as follows: Namibia, Malawi (Southern Africa), Chad, Equatorial Guinea (Central Africa), Kenya, Mauritius (East Africa), Ghana, Nigeria (West Africa), Algeria, Libya (North Africa) [Decision EX.CL/Dec. 4 (II) adopted by the Second Ordinary Session of Council in N'djamena, Chad, in March 2003]. Accordingly, the Sub-Committee will not be operationalised for the time being.

East: Djibouti, Madagascar and Tanzania;
 Southern: Botswana, Malawi and Zimbabwe;
 Central: Burundi, Cameroon and Chad.

#### 7. Sub-Committee on Structural Reforms

1. Bureau:

- Libya (Chairperson)

Congo (1st Vice-Chairperson)
 Senegal (2nd Vice-Chairperson)
 Madagascar (3rd Vice-Chairperson)

Mozambique (Rapporteur)

2. Membership:

West: Benin, Burkina Faso, Nigeria and Senegal;

- North: Libya and Tunisia;

East: Ethiopia, Kenya and Madagascar;
Southern: Angola, Mozambique and Swaziland;
Central: Cameroon, Congo and Equatorial Guinea.

**8.** In conformity with Article 4 (2) of its Rules of Procedure, which stipulates: "The PRC may set up such ad-hoc committees and temporary working groups, as it deems necessary, including a sub-committee on Headquarters and Host Agreements, NEPAD and the Cairo Plan of Action of the Africa/Europe Summit, the PRC has established the following Sub-Committees:

#### i) Sub-committee on Headquarters and Host Agreements

#### 1. Bureau:

- Cameroon (Chairperson)

Sierra Leone (1st Vice-Chairperson)
S.A.D.R. (2nd Vice-Chairperson)
Zambia (3rd Vice-Chairperson)

- Ethiopia (Rapporteur)

#### 2. Membership:

- West: Ghana, Guinea, Nigeria and Sierra Leone;

- North: Egypt and S.A.D.R.;

East: Djibouti, Ethiopia and Madagascar;
 Southern: Lesotho, Namibia and Zambia;

Central: Cameroon, Chad and Equatorial Guinea.

#### ii) Sub-committee on NEPAD

#### 1. Bureau:

South Africa (Chairperson)

Algeria (First Vice-Chairperson)
 Senegal (Second Vice-Chairperson)
 Rwanda (Third Vice-Chairperson)

- Cameroon (Rapporteur)

#### 2. Membership:

West: Benin, Mali, Nigeria and Senegal;

- North: Algeria and Libya;

- East: Mauritius, Rwanda and Uganda;

Southern: Mozambique, South Africa and Zambia;

Central: Cameroon, Chad and Congo.

#### iii) Economic and Trade Matters

#### 1. Bureau:

- Sudan (Chairperson)

Tunisia (1st Vice-Chairperson)
 South Africa (2nd Vice-Chairperson)
 Chad (3rd Vice-Chairperson)

- The Gambia (Rapporteur)

#### 2. Membership:

- West: Benin, Burkina Faso, The Gambia and Nigeria;

- North: Libya and Tunisia;

East: Rwanda, Uganda and Sudan;

Southern: Angola, South Africa and Swaziland;

Central: Burundi, Chad and Congo.

#### iv) Sub-committee on Multilateral Cooperation (the Cairo Plan of Action of the Africa/Europe Summit, multilateral negotiations, TICAD, AGOA, Commission for Africa, etc)

#### 1. Bureau:

- Benin (Chairperson)

Cameroon (1st Vice-Chairperson)
 Egypt (2nd Vice-Chairperson)
 South Africa (3rd Vice-Chairperson)

- Sudan (Rapporteur)

#### 2. Membership:

West: Benin, Mali, Niger and Sierra Leone;

- North: Egypt and Tunisia;

East: Ethiopia, Sudan and Tanzania;
 Southern: Angola, Namibia and South Africa;
 Central: Cameroon, Chad and Congo.

#### 9. Bureau of the PRC<sup>2</sup>

Libya (Chairperson)

Lesotho (First Vice-Chairperson)
 Gabon (Second Vice-Chairperson)
 Sierra Leone (Third Vice-Chairperson)

- Tanzania (Rapporteur)

#### 10. Deans

- Libya (Overall Dean)

Burkina Faso (West)
Algeria (North)
D.R.C. (Central)
Kenya (East)
Zimbabwe (Southern)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> During its Sixth Ordinary Session held in Khartoum, The Sudan, in January 2006, it was decided that the Bureau of the Executive Council and the PRC would be aligned to the membership of the Bureau of the Assembly, which shall be composed of five members.

**Organs** 

African Union Commission

2002-10-28

## Composition of the sub-committees of the permanent representatives' committee (PRC) 2009 - 2010

#### African union

African union

https://archives.au.int/handle/123456789/6441

Downloaded from African Union Common Repository