

Spiritan Horizons

Volume 15 | Issue 15

Article 5

Spring 2020

Editor's Introduction

James Chukwuma Okoye

Follow this and additional works at: https://dsc.duq.edu/spiritan-horizons



Part of the Catholic Studies Commons

Recommended Citation

Okoye, J. C. (2020). Editor's Introduction. Spiritan Horizons, 15 (15). Retrieved from https://dsc.duq.edu/ spiritan-horizons/vol15/iss15/5

This Editor's Introduction (English, French, and Portuguese) is brought to you for free and open access by the Spiritan Collection at Duquesne Scholarship Collection. It has been accepted for inclusion in Spiritan Horizons by an authorized editor of Duquesne Scholarship Collection.

Editor's Introduction

In preparation for the 2020 General Chapter in Lichen, Poland, the superior general and his council organized a Spiritan Forum on Interreligious Dialogue. This met on the island of Zanzibar, 3–9 December, 2018.

The general assistant, Marc Tyrant, C.S.Sp., led the facilitators and organizing committee made up Jude Nnorom, C.S.Sp., Florentine Mallya, C.S.Sp., William Headley, C.S.Sp., and Louison Bissila Mbila, C.S.Sp.

The general council appointed resource persons, who also formed a listening committee and delivered position papers. They were:

- Marinus Iwuchukwu (head of the theology department of Duquesne University);
- Marc Botzung, C.S.Sp. (provincial superior of France);
- William Headley, C.S.Sp. (founding dean of the Joan B. Kroc School of Peace Studies at the University of San Diego);
- Innocent Nweke, C.S.Sp. (lecturer in African Traditional Religion at the Spiritan International School of Theology (SIST) Nigeria; and
- Marielle Beusmans (a member of the mission animation team of the Dutch province) Lay Spiritan.

Besides the three Spiritans and the Lay Spiritan who presented position papers, twelve other Spiritans, engaged in interreligious dialogue in various parts of the globe, were invited to also present situations on the ground.

- North Africa: Bertrand Mbella from Algeria presented in powerpoint, text not available;
- West Africa: Juan Ayanz Otano from Cameroon; Florian Mababe Mohizi from Mauritania; Augustine Isah Katuka from Nigeria/NW
- Central Africa: Olaf Derenthal from Central African Republic; Chrislain Loubelo from Congo Brazzaville – text not available;
- East Africa: Peter Ndegwa Githui from Kenya;
- Mauritius: Maximil Tambyapin;
- Europe: Aurélien Saniko Teponnou from Brussels, Belgium;
- *India*: Jean-François Salomon;
- Pakistan: Jose Harivola Randrianjanakolona; and
- Philippines: Adam Bago.