Eastern Illinois University

The Keep

1988

Press Releases

6-17-1988

06/17/1988 - Student Publications Awards

University Marketing and Communications

Follow this and additional works at: https://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases_1988

Recommended Citation

University Marketing and Communications, "06/17/1988 - Student Publications Awards" (1988). *1988*. 314.

https://thekeep.eiu.edu/press_releases_1988/314

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Press Releases at The Keep. It has been accepted for inclusion in 1988 by an authorized administrator of The Keep. For more information, please contact tabruns@eiu.edu.



ART TATE, Assistant Director, University Relations Office: (217) 581-5981 - Home: (217) 348-7553

88-268

June 17, 1988

file

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

STUDENT PUBLICATIONS AWARDS

CHARLESTON, IL.--Eastern Illinois University's Student Publications Department recently held its annual banquet to honor outstanding students in print and broadcast journalism.

Awards presented include the Outstanding Society of Collegiate Journalists (SCJ) member, Julie Lewis; Outstanding Freshman Journalist, Jeff Madsen; SCJ Certificate of Merit, Jean Wright and Jon Sall; and the Kevin Shea Photography Award, Steve Beamer.

Larry Smith and Jeff Britt received the Outstanding Senior Journalist award; Cory Bollinger was named Advertising Representative of the Year; Debbie Pippitt was awarded the Outstanding Warbler Staff Member; and Julie Lewis and Jon Sall received the Student Publications Adviser's Award.

JOURNALISM AWARDS

ADD 1/1/1/1

Several scholarships were also awarded during the banquet, including the Copley Freshman Scholarship, Jeff Madsen and Tiffani Stewart; the Copley Sophomore Scholarship, Matthew Hortenstine and Mary Palliser; and the Copley Minority Scholarship, Cathy Velasco.

Also awarded were the Weir/Waffle Scholarship, Amy Carr; the Hal Middlesworth Scholarship, Chrystal Philpott; and the Warner/Thornburgh Scholarship, Felicia Fulks.

Other awards included the Curtis MacDougall Newspaper Journalism Award, Michael Fitzgerald, and the Ken Hesler Public Relations Award, Lisa McGreal.

Also recognized during the banquet were initiates into Kappa Tau Alpha, a national journalism honor society. They were Jean Wright, Susan Cutsforth, Tina Pauley, Julie Lewis and Tina Poszich.

In addition, thirty-three initiates into Eastern's Society of Collegiate Journalists, a student chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, were recognized during the banquet.

-30-