University of Mississippi

eGrove

Clippings

James W. Silver Collection

5-12-1955

Forum Committee Advisor At University Refutes 'Mississippi Notebook Remark'

James W. Silver

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/jws_clip

Recommended Citation

Silver, James W., "Forum Committee Advisor At University Refutes 'Mississippi Notebook Remark'" (1955). *Clippings*. 314. https://egrove.olemiss.edu/jws_clip/314

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the James W. Silver Collection at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Clippings by an authorized administrator of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

The People Speak <u>5/12/55</u> Forum Committee Advisor At University Refutes 'Mississippi Notebook' Remark

Editor, State Times:

There has been much honest difference of opinion regarding the need or lack of it for screening speakers who have access to students in the institutions of higher learning in Mississippi. Much confusion results from ignorance, a prime example of which may be found in a recent column of Tom Ethridge, whose "Mississippi Notebook" is widely published in our state.

Mr. Ethridge writes: "It seems odd that while many colleges always have the latch-string out for leftwing thinkers, they appear reluctant to hear speakers sympathetic with the status quo. Although Mississippians by and large favor segregation, for instance, we know of no occasion where their spokesmen have been invited to any state campus to express their views."

views." The outstanding speaker program in the state of Mississippi is that which Omicron-Delta Kappa and Mortar Board (leadership groups for men and women at Ole Miss) have conducted at the University of Mississippi since 1940. Each year the forum committee, made up of from a dozen to twenty students and faculty, decides in democratic fashion whom it wishes to bring to the campus. For sixteen years it has made a distinct effort to offer the students a balanced program. Attendance at the forums has not been compulsory and there has almost always been a lively discussion.

ways been a lively discussion. Even though it takes considerable space, I would appreciate your publishing the names of the speakers who have been brought to the University of Mississippi under this program. Only then, it seems to me, can the people of Mississippi decide whether there has been an effort to indoctrinate students along any line of thinking.

students along any line of thinking. The list of speakers who have appeared: Frank Shea, John D. Miller, Alexander Kerensky, Clarence Streit, Virginius Dabney, Emil Ludwig, David Cohn, Turner Catledge, Lord Wilmot, Ely Culbertson, Leland Stowe, Joseph C. O'Mahoney, Kirby Page, David Lilienthal, Kurt von Schuschnigg, Sherwood Eddy, Hodding Carter, Morris Fishbein, John Rankin, Eric Sevareid, Clinton S. Golden, Clayton Rand, John Stennis, Mark Ethridge, Brook Hays, Ross Col-

lins, T. V. Smith, James F. Barrett, James Street, Charles E. Martin, Gus Dyer, I. W. Duggan, Walter Durham, E. W. Palmer, F.H. Law, Lynn Haydell, Edwin Mims, Harry Harrison Kroll, Marshall Wingfield, Elizabeth Burns-Burian, Owen Cooper, John R. Robinson, H.S.S. Polak, No Yong Park, John Faulkner, Robert Turner, Stanley Horn, Walter Spiva, Kumar Goshal, Emily Woodward, Harnett Kane, Harrison Forman, William Mandell, E. D. Kenna, G e o r g e Rony, George Benson, Peter Drucker, Bell Wiley, George McLean, Frank Dobie, Ransom Aldrich, Anton Carlson, Oliver Emmerich, Ney Gore, Byron Long, Joel Blass, Si Corley, MacDonald Horne, Hudson Kyle, Harry Rutherford, William Bird, Hugh Clegg, Inez Robb, Claude Bowers, Eddy Gilmore, Hanson Baldwin, Norman Bradley, Philip Jessup, Frank Smith, J. P. Coleman, Walter Johnson, Jamie Whitten, Alfred Robens, Tom Tubb and Major General Robert E. Lee Eaton.

Even more instructive may be a list of speakers who have been asked to come to the University but who, for one reason or another, have been unable to do so. This list is not complete but is illustrative and no one has been left out who can be remembered. The list:

and no one has been left out who can be remembered. The list: Jonathan Daniels, William Alexander Percy, Walter Sillers, James O. Eastland, Frank Graham, Harold Butler, Roane Waring, Clifford Davis, Thurman Arnold, Thomas Bailey, Clark Eichelberger, Eleanor Roosevelt, Ralph McGill, Herbert Agar, Ellis Arnall, Sumner Welles, William Green, Eric Johnson, George Meany, Tom Connally, deLesseps Morrison, Mike Monroney, Edward Weeks, Clare Booth Luce, William Clayton, Thomas Finletter, J. W. Fulbright, John F. Kennedy, Walter Lippmann, Spruille Braden, Robert Hutchins, William C. Bullitt, Harry Truman, Herbert Hoover, Robert R. Young, George Messersmith, Charles Luckman, Frank Ahlgren, Owen Roberts, Lucius Clay, James F. Byrnes, Fielding Wright, Mark Starr, James Cary, Albert (Happy) Chandler, Harold Ickes, Josh Lee, Lister Hill, Margaret Chase Smith, Karl Mundt, Edward Barrett, Joseph McCarthy, James Reston, Elmer Davis, Stuart Symington, C. Albin Barkley, Fred Sullens, Hugh White, Trygvie Lie, Alistair Cooke, Sir Archie Gordon, Lord Halifax, Gene Talmadge, Wall Doxey.

To every prospective speaker goes a mimeographed sheet which explains the purpose of the forums. It says, in part: "From the beginning the forum committee has made a strenuous effort . . . to present all sides of southern, national, and international problems. The committee itself has no axe to grind and feels that student reception of speakers brought to the campus is proof enough of the capacity of the student body to think for itself, to evaluate evidence, to draw conclusions. . . There has been almost universally an eager, informed, sometimes heated, exchange of views. In practically every case there has been at least a minority opposition to whatever point of view is presented."

Among the students on the campus, leadership in the forum program has been taken by those of impeccable integrity, such as William Winter of Grenada, Tom Bourdeaux of Meridian, J. O. Em-

merich Jr., of McComb, E ard (killed in World War Meridian, the late Huey B. Howerton of University, George Thatcher of Gulfport, Hunter Gholson of Columbus, Owen Palmer of Gulfport, and George Rogers of Vicksburg.

lumbus, Owen Palmer of Gulfport, and George Rogers of Vicksburg. It is up to the people of Mississippi to decide whether there has been any attempt at indoctrination or subversion in the ODK-Mortar Board forum program at the University of Mississippi.

James W. Silver Faculty Advisor, Forum Committee, University of Mississippi