University of Mississippi **eGrove**

Eastland Correspondence: Nixon Administration

James O. Eastland Executive Branch Correspondence

7-13-1970

Wm. Matthew Byrne, Jr. to Senator James O. Eastland, 13 July 1970

William Matthew Byrne

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/joecorr_f



Part of the American Politics Commons

Recommended Citation

Byrne, William Matthew, "Wm. Matthew Byrne, Jr. to Senator James O. Eastland, 13 July 1970" (1970). Eastland Correspondence: Nixon Administration. 1.

https://egrove.olemiss.edu/joecorr_f/1

This Book is brought to you for free and open access by the James O. Eastland Executive Branch Correspondence at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Eastland Correspondence: Nixon Administration by an authorized administrator of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

PRESIDENT'S COMMISSION ON CAMPUS UNREST

1717 H STREET, N.W. WASHINGTON, D.C. 20006

July 13, 1970

Honorable James O. Eastland United States Senate Room 2241 New Senate Office Building Washington, D. C.

Dear Senator Eastland:

Governor William W. Scranton, Chairman of the President's Commission on Campus Unrest, has requested me to advise you that the Commission will convene public hearings on July 15, 16 and 17, 1970. The hearings will be held Wednesday, Thursday afternoon and Friday morning at Room 1202 New Senate Office Building. Twelve persons have been invited to testify including, among others, students, college presidents and law enforcement officers. Senators Hugh Scott and Edward M. Kennedy will also testify. The schedule of appearances is shown on the attached list.

The Commission is planning to hold at least one additional day of public hearings in Washington later this month. We shall keep you informed of the hearing schedule.

Sincerely,

Wm. Matthew Byrne, Jr. Executive Director

Com Musetus Byrnefe.

Enclosure

WITNESS SCHEDOLL ROOM 1202 HZW SZWIII			
	Wednesday, July 15	Thursday, July 16	Friday, July 17
10:00 A.M.	Hon. Hugh Scott U.S. Senate, Minority Leader	111111111111111111111111111111111111111	General W. P. Wilson Head of National Guard Bureau
11:00 A.M.	Hon. Edward M. Kennedy U.S. Senate, Majority Whip	///////////////////////////////////////	Dr. Harold E. Sponberg President, Eastern Michigan University
12:00 Noon	Charles Palmer President, National Student Association	///////////////////////////////////////	Dr. Granville Sawyer President, Texas Southern University
1:00 P.M.	111111111111111111111111111111111111111	Eva Jefferson Student Body President, Northwestern University	
2:00 P.M.	Robben Fleming President, University of Michigan	Chief Jerry Wilson Metropolitan Police Chief, Washington, D.C.	
3:00 P.M.	S. I. Hayakawa President, San Francisco State College	111111111111111111111111111111111111111	
4:00 P.M.	Otis Cochran President, Black American Law Student Association	Robert Rankin, Vice-President of Danforth Foun dation	