## University of Mississippi

## **e**Grove

Eastland Correspondence: Ford Administration

James O. Eastland Executive Branch Correspondence

2-27-1976

Senator James O. Eastland, Bill Brock; Thomas J. McIntyre; Edward M. Kennedy; Richard S. Schweiker; Edmund S. Muskie; Thomas F. Eagleton; Charles McC. Mathias, Jr.; Howard Baker; J. Glenn Beall; Lowell Weicker, Jr.; William D. Hathaway; Dale Bumpers; John A. Durkin; Stuart Symington; Clairborne Pell; Hugh Scott; Edward W. Brooke; Birch Bayh; Henry M. Jackson; John L. McClellan; Gaylord Nelson; Ted Stevens; Ernest F. Hollings; Robert Morgan; Jesse Helms; Dick Stone; & Jennings Randolph to President Gerald R. Ford, 27 Februray 1976

James O. Eastland

Froillipanth Espaers and Broomsk works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/joecorr\_g



## Edward M. Kennedy Recommended Citation

Eastland, James O.; Brock, William Emerson; McIntyre, Thomas J.; and Kennedy, Edward M., "Senator James O. Eastland, Bill Brock; Thomas J. McIntyre; Edward M. Kennedy; Richard S. Schweiker; Edmund S. Muskie; Thomas F. Eagleton; Charles McC. Mathias, Jr.; Howard Baker; J. Glenn Beall; Lowell Weicker, Jr.; William D. Hathaway; Dale Bumpers; John A. Durkin; Stuart Symington; Clairborne Pell; Hugh Scott; Edward W. Brooke; Birch Bayh; Henry M. Jackson; John L. McClellan; Gaylord Nelson; Ted Stevens; Ernest F. Hollings; Robert Morgan; Jesse Helms; Dick Stone; & Jennings Randolph to President Gerald R. Ford, 27 Februray 1976" (1976). *Eastland Correspondence: Ford Administration*. 65.

https://egrove.olemiss.edu/joecorr\_g/65

This Book is brought to you for free and open access by the James O. Eastland Executive Branch Correspondence at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Eastland Correspondence: Ford Administration by an authorized administrator of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

## United States Benate

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20510

February 27, 1976

COMMITTEES:
FINANCE
GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS
SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON AGING
SELECT COMMITTEE ON
SMALL BUSINESS

Imports Exports
(frotween)

The Honorable Gerald Ford
President, United States of America
The White House
Washington, D.C.

Dear Mr. President:

We have all reviewed the determination of the International Trade Commission in the Escape Clause case on non-rubber footwear. The unanimous finding of the Commission that the domestic non-rubber footwear industry is being seriously injured by imports supports the position which the domestic industry and the Congress have taken over the years. We are pleased that this position has been fully upheld by the Commission.

The matter is now before you for action. Certainly, if this industry is to survive and if lost jobs are to be restored, it is essential that prompt and effective action be taken by you to implement a remedy which will limit the flow of non-rubber footwear imports into this market.

The Trade Act of 1974, which you supported when you were a Member of the House and which you signed as President, was written to allow industries which have been seriously injured by imports, such as the non-rubber footwear industry, to secure relief. The International Trade Commission conducted an intensive investigation over a period of six months. Public hearings were held at which all interested parties, including retailers, importers, foreign shoe manufacturers, and consumer interests, presented their views fully. The Commission has now made its determination. Unless effective action is taken to stem the flow of imports, the entire escape clause procedure laid out in the Trade Act will be called into question by American industry and its workers. We strongly urge that you act promptly to put into effect a remedy which will be consistent with the unanimous finding of the Commission with regard to the serious injury faced by this industry.

Sincerely,

THOMAS J. MCZNYYRE

RICHARD S. SCHWEIKER

|   | -2-                                  |                     |
|---|--------------------------------------|---------------------|
|   | Lucy Shushin                         | John all            |
|   | EDMUND S. MUSKIE                     | JOHN A. DURKIN      |
|   | Mornes F Eagliber THOMAS F. EAGLETON | STUART SYMINGTON    |
|   | CHARLES McC. MATHIAS, JR.            | CLAIBORNE PELL      |
|   | HOWARD BAKER                         | HUGH SCOTT          |
| 1 | J. GLENN BEALL                       | Edward W. BROOKE    |
|   | LOWELL WEICKER, JR.                  | BIRCH BAYH          |
|   | Bill Hall WILLIAM D. HATHAWAY        | HENRY M. JACKSON    |
|   | Dale BUMPERS DALE BUMPERS            | JOHN L. McCLELLAN ( |
|   |                                      |                     |

GAYLORD NELSON ROBERT MORGAN Ted Stevens DICK STONE (O.S.) JENNINGS RANDOLPH