University of Mississippi eGrove

Correspondence

James W. Silver Collection

10-9-1963

John de J. Pemberton, Jr. to Professor Silver, 9 October 1963

John de J. Pemberton

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/jws_corr

Recommended Citation

Pemberton, John de J., "John de J. Pemberton, Jr. to Professor Silver, 9 October 1963" (1963). *Correspondence*. 852. https://egrove.olemiss.edu/jws_corr/852

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the James W. Silver Collection at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in Correspondence by an authorized administrator of eGrove. For more information, please contact egrove@olemiss.edu.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Ernest Angell Robert Bierstedt Algernon D. Black Ralph S. Brown Robert L. Crowell Edward J. Ennis Luther H. Evans James Farmer Osmond K. Fraenkel Walter Frank Lewis Galantiere Walter Gellhorn Louis M. Hacker August Heckacher Frank S. Horne B. W. Huebsch Sophia Yarnall Jacobs John Paul Jones Dorothy Kenyon Dan Lacy Will Maslow Harry C. Meserve Edward O. Miller Walter Millis Gerard Piel Gerard Piel Harriet Pilpel Herbert Prashker Elemer Rice George Soll Stephen G. Vladeck J. Waties Waring Alan Westin Howard Whiteside Edward Bennett Williams

NATIONAL COMMITTEE

Chairman Francis Biddle (D.C.) Vice Chairmen
Pearl S. Buck (Penna.)
Howard F. Burns (Ohio)
Prof. Albert Sprague Coolidge (Mass.)
Prof. J. Frank Dobie (Texas)
Lloyd K. Garrison (N.Y.)
Dr. Frank P. Graham (U.N.) Dr. Frank (Colo.)
Dr. Karl Menninger (Kans.)
Loren Miller (Calif.)
Morris Rubin (Wisc.)
Lillian E. Smith (Ga.)

Mrs. Sadie Alexander (Penna.) J. Garner Anthony (Hawaii) Thurman Arnold (D.C.) Inurman Arnoid (D.C.) Clarence E. Ayres (Tex.) Roger N. Baldwin (N.Y.) Alan Barth (D.C.) Dr. Sarah Gibson Blanding (N.Y.) Catherine Drinker Bowen (Penna.) Prof. Julian P. Boyd (N.J.) Prof. Julian P. Boyd (N.J.)
John Mason Brown (N.Y.)
Prof. James R. Caldwell (Calif.)
Dr. Robert K. Carr (Ohio)
Prof. Allan Knight Chalmers (Mass.)
Stuart Chase (Conn.)
Grenville Clark (N.H.)
Dr. Rufus E. Clement (Ga.)
Prof. Henry Steele Commager (Mass.)
Prof. Giovanni Costigna (Wasb.) Grenville Clark (N.H.)
Dr. Rufus E. Clement (Ga.)
Prof. Henry Steele Commager (Mass.)
Prof. Giovanni Costigan (Wash.)
Prof. Gorge S. Counts (Hl.)
Prof. Robert E. Cushman (D.C.)
Melvyn Douglas (N.Y.)
Chancellor Thomas H. Eliot (Mo.)
Victor Fischer (Alaska)
Walter T. Fisher (Ill.)
James Lawrence Fly (Fla.)
Dr. Erich Fromm (N.Y.)
Prof. Raiph F. Fuchs (Ind.)
Prof. Williard E. Goslin (Tenn.)
Prof. Mark DeW. Howe (Mass.)
Quincy Howe (N.Y.)
Dr. Robert M. Hutchins (Calif.)
Gerald W. Johnson (Md.)
Dr. Mordecai W. Johnson (D.C.)
James Kerney, Jr. (N.J.)
Benjamin H. Kizer (Wash.)
Prof. Mjiton R. Konvitz (N.Y.)
Max Lerner (N.Y.)
Louis Lusky (Ky.)
Prof. Robert S. Lynd (N.Y.)
Patrick Murphy Malin (Turkey)
Prof. Robert S. Lynd (N.Y.)
Patrick Murphy Malin (Turkey)
Prof. Robert S. Lynd (N.Y.)
Dr. Millicent C. McIntosh (Mass.)
Dr. Alexander Meiklejohn (Calif.)
Sylvan Meyer (Ga.)
Donald R. Murphy (Iowa)
Donald R. Murphy (Iowa)
Dean Frank C. Newman (Calif.)
Dr. J. Robert Oppenheimer (N.J.)
John B. Orr. Jr. (Fla.)
James G. Patton (Colo.)
A. Philip Randloph (N.Y.)
Elmo Roper (N.Y.)
Prof. Arthur Schlesinger, Jr. (D.C.)
Dr. Edward J. Sparling (Ill.)
Prof. George R. Stewart (Calif.)
Mrs. Dorothy Tilly (Ga.)
Jose Trias-Monge (Puerto Rico)
Williams L. White (Kans.)
Thornton Wilder (Conn.)
Aubrey Williams (Ala.)
Marion A. Wright (N.C.)
Dean Benjamin Youngdahl (Mo.)

American Civil Liberties Union

156 FIFTH AVENUE, NEW YORK 10, N. Y. • ORegon 5-5990

Ernest Angell Chairman, Board of Directors and the Corporation

John de J. Pemberton, Jr. Roger N. Baldwin
International Work Adviser

Leanne Golden
Executive Assistant

Ralph S. Brown Sophia Yarnall Jacobs Vice-Chairmen

Alan Reitman Associate Director

Edward J. Ennis Osmond K. Fraenkel General Counsel

Melvin L. Wulf Legal Director Louise C. Floyd Administrative Assistant

Dorothy Kenyon B. W. Huebsch Gordon Haskell Membership & Development Director Colleen Katzowitz

Membership Secretary

Morris Ernst John F. Finerty John Haynes Holmes Norman Thomas Directors Emeritus

Aryeh Neier Field Development Officer

October 9, 1963

Professor James Silver Oxford, Mississippi

Dear Professor Silver:

Leslie Dunbar, of the Southern Regional Council, has alerted us to the apprehension he has of efforts being made at retribution following the address which he anticipates you will make at the annual meeting of the Southern Historical Society next month.

Although our resources are limited, the acts of retribution for an exercise of free speech in these circumstances would be of major concern to the American Civil Liberties Union. I write to inquire whether Les expresses an apprehension shared by you, and if so, whether we may be better informed of all of the anticipated circumstances in order better to arm ourselves to take necessary action.

Would you advise us of your own judgment of the matter, and of what specific courses of action, if any, you think will be available to persons offended by your speech? And, if it is available, would you share with us an advance text of the speech you are preparing?

We have imposed on Les to forward this letter to you home address, and we are taking the liberty of giving him a copy of our inquiry.

Very truly yours,

John de J. Pemberton, Jr. Executive Director

JdeJP'sk cc: Leslie Dunbar