The Accounting Historians Notebook

Volume 9 Number 2 Fall 1986

Article 7

1986

Hourglass award won by Leonard Spacek

Academy of Accounting Historians

Follow this and additional works at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook



Part of the Accounting Commons, and the Taxation Commons

Recommended Citation

Accounting Historians, Academy of (1986) "Hourglass award won by Leonard Spacek," The Accounting Historians Notebook: Vol. 9: No. 2, Article 7.

Available at: https://egrove.olemiss.edu/aah_notebook/vol9/iss2/7

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the Archival Digital Accounting Collection at eGrove. It has been accepted for inclusion in The Accounting Historians Notebook by an authorized editor of eGrove. For more information, please contact memanuel@olemiss.edu.



LEONARD SPACEK

HOURGLASS AWARD WON BY LEONARD SPACEK

Leonard Spacek, a retired partner with Arthur Andersen & Co., is this year's recipient of the prestigious Hourglass Award for his book and videotape entitled *The Growth of Arthur Andersen & Co., 1928-1973, an Oral History.* The Hourglass Award is presented annually to a person(s) who has made a significant contribution to the study of accounting history.

The oral interview for which Mr. Spacek won the award was captured on nine hours of videotape. It was a project undertaken by the Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University. Arthur Andersen & Co. provided the financing.

Mr. Spacek joined the firm of Arthur Andersen & Co. in 1928. He became a partner in 1940. He became the firm's chief executive officer in 1947 upon the death of Arthur Andersen. It was under Spacek's leadership that the firm grew and gained the position it holds today. He retired in 1973 after a distinguished career. At one time or another Mr. Spacek has received virtually every honor that can be bestowed upon accountants. He was elected to the Accounting Hall of Fame in 1975.

Mr. Spacek was on hand in New York to accept the award at the Academy's annual meeting. The award consists of a limited edition 12-inch hourglass with an engraved nameplate. Numerous Arthur Andersen partners, including international managing partner, Duane



Academy president, Merv Wingfield, chuckles at one of Leonard Spacek's remarks.

Kullberg, were in attendance at the annual meeting to honor Mr. Spacek. Mr. Spacek delighted the crowd with a rousing acceptance speech.

Leonard Spacek joins an elite group of scholars by winning the Hourglass Award. The previous Hourglass winners, and the publications that won them the award are as follows:

- 1973 Steve Zeff, Forging Accounting Principles in Five Countries.
- 1974—Michael Chatfield, A History of Accounting Thought.
- 1975 Hanns-Martin W. Schoenfeld, Cost Terminology and Cost Theory: A Study of its Development and Present State in Central Europe.
- 1976—Osamu Kojima and Basil Yamey, for reproduction of Ympyn's A Notable and Very Excellent Worke (1547).
- 1977 A Van Seventer, for translation of O. Ten Have's: A History of Accountancy.

- 1978 David A. R. Forrester, Schmalenbach and After.
- 1979 Murray Wells, Accounting for Common Costs.
- 1980 Gary John Previts and Barbara D. Merino, A History of Accounting in America.
- 1981— H. Thomas Johnson, for a series of articles on "The Development of Management Accounting."
- 1982—Williard Stone, for a series of articles on "American Accounting History."
- 1983—Richard P. Brief, for authoring many books and articles and editing 196 volumes on accounting history subjects.
- 1984—Esteban Hernandez Esteve, Contribution to the Study of Spanish Accounting History.
- 1985—H. Edgar Jones, Accountancy and the British Economy, 1840-1980: The Evolution of Ernst & Whinney.