provided by SWOSU Digital Commons

SWOSU Jazz Groups Plan Final Spring Concert

04.18.2014

The Southwestern Oklahoma State University Music Department has its final jazz concert of the school year planned for Sunday, April 27, at 3 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center on the Weatherford campus. Admission is free, and the public is invited.

The concert will feature Jazz Ensemble 'A', Jazz Ensemble 'B' and the jazz combo, Weatherford Report. The ensembles are led by Dr. Richard Tirk with assistance from graduate assistant Evan Neal and the combo is led by recent SWOSU graduate Bobby Wolfe.

This concert will feature the music of Pat Metheny, Harold Arlen and Sammy Nestico. Featured students are Samantha Canon, tenor sax, of Enid; Austin Hardman, trumpet, of Guymon; and Joaquin Martinez, trumpet, of Anadarko.

For additional information, please contact the SWOSU Music Department at 580.774.3780.

Tirk said the jazz area of the department has had a busy schedule this semester with recent performances at the Clinton Route 66 Festival, Cordell High School and opening for the Bill Cosby event at the Pioneer Cellular Event Center.

Members of **Jazz Ensemble A** include: RHYTHM SECTION—Shane Cokeley, Tuttle; Christina Covington, Choctaw; Jake Lynn, Moore; Huxley Owens, Ponca City; Jordan Satterlee, Putnam City; Bobby Wolfe, Altus. SAXOPHONES—Blake Boily and Samantha Canon, Enid; Clint Kubala, Oolagah; Cody Manning, Washington; Kesha Mashaw, Anadarko. TROMBONE—Brian Fry, Enid; Jayden Goeringer, Cordell; Myles Madden, Clinton; Cherokee Riddle, Muskogee; Anthony Valentine, Oklahoma City. TRUMPET—Jakub Chermack, Enid; Austin Hardman, Guymon; Benjamin King, Champaign-Urbana (IL); Evan Neal, Enid; and Tommy Smith, Elk City.

Members of **Jazz Ensemble B** include Keely Clements, Oklahoma City; Colleen Garrett, Elk City; Laurence Maynard, Oklahoma City; Ali Oldright, Duncan; Kristin Whaley, Collinsville. RHYTHM SECTION—Shane Cokely, Tuttle; Christina Covington, Choctaw; Ashley House, Marlow; Huxley Owens, Ponca City. TRUMPETS—Joaquin Martinez, Anadarko; Jimmy Mayorga, Hinton; Clint Kubala, Oolagah; Noe Ruiz, Marlow; A.J. Yeager, Altus; TROMBONES—Abraham Gonzalez, Kemp (TX); Herbert Herrera, Pond Creek; Myles Madden, Clinton. TUBA—Doug Finley, Duncan.