Awards of the XXXVII COMU 2018.

Editorial

XXXVII COMU Scientific Awards

Dear readers,

The Scientific Department (DC) of University of São Paulo has the honor to welcome everyone to the *XXXVII Congresso Médico Universitário* (COMU) of Faculty of Medicine of University of São Paulo (FMUSP).

Created in 1940, COMU is organized annually by DC, representing the results of the creativity and initiative of academics of FMUSP, gaining recognition for its excellency. COMU offers a broad scientific program which includes scientific projects presentations, courses and workshops targeted to academics from health schools. Since 2016 we managed to consolidate a partnership program that contributed to expand the participation of health academics from all over Brazil.

The Scientific Awards of COMU intend to nourish part of our institutional policy of internationalization amongst the academics. Therefore, since the 2016 edition of the Awards, we have accepted exclusively projects written and presented in English. It was a challenge, however we were able to overcome this by the dedication of the students and the always present support of the Professors from FMUSP, as part of a very-high-level Examination Board.

This year we accepted 41 scientific projects to apply for the traditional and renowned Oswaldo Cruz Awards, Panel Awards and Monograph Awards. All the projects were evaluated focusing to improve the medical formation, excellence in teaching, commitment to the research and to prepare qualified professional.

Finally, we thank everyone of the Scientific Department and all the Organizing Commission for their help and support, always essential to our Congress, our Professors and the participants for making this event as great as it is now. We would like to congratulate all the academic authors for their dedication to research and science.

Marta Imamura

Professor at FMUSP Honorary President of the Scientific Awards

Guilherme Tetsuo Yokoy Numakura Academic at FMUSP President of the Scientific Department President of the Scientific Awards