University of Montana

ScholarWorks at University of Montana

University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present

University Relations

5-17-1988

UM students win journalism awards, scholarships

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Recommended Citation

University of Montana--Missoula. Office of University Relations, "UM students win journalism awards, scholarships" (1988). *University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present*. 11102. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/newsreleases/11102

This News Article is brought to you for free and open access by the University Relations at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in University of Montana News Releases, 1928, 1956-present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.



Office of University Relations • Missoula, Montana 59812 • (406) 243-2522

May 17, 1988

MEDIA RELEASE UM STUDENTS WIN JOURNALISM AWARDS, SCHOLARSHIPS

MISSOULA ---

The University of Montana School of Journalism distributed \$15,950 in awards and scholarships at the Dean Stone Night banquet May 13 in Missoula.

The first \$1,200 Dorothy Rochon Powers Scholarship was awarded to Marlene Mehlhaff of **Billings**. Powers, columnist and associate editor emeritus for <u>The Spokesman-Review</u> and <u>Spokane</u> <u>Chronicle</u>, was the Dean Stone Night keynote speaker.

A \$15,000 gift to create five renewable \$600 journalism scholarships at UM was also announced at the banquet. The scholarships are named in honor of UM journalism Professor Warren J. Brier, who has cancer.

Another award in honor of Brier was also announced and presented.

Deborah Richie a UM graduate student in journalism from <u>Prairie City, Ore.</u>, won the \$1,000 Warren J. Brier Prize, donated by the journalism school's current and former faculty and deans. The prize honors Brier, who has been a journalism professor at UM since 1962 and who was the school's dean from 1968 to 1982. Richie also won the \$200 Grace Crane Newman Award.

Students winning awards and scholarships are as follows:

- more -

Jours.rl -- 2

\$200 Last Chance Press Club Award -- Kate Ripley of Juneau, Alaska: \$100 Mary Decker Award -- Laurel Lindell of Polson; \$350 Butte Press Club Award -- Gabrielle Tolliver of Billings; \$300 McLean Clark Television Scholarship -- Kelly Monahan of Butte; \$250 Blanche Coppo Lanstrum Dean Stone Scholarship -- Kerin Smart of Big Timber.

\$200 Dorcas Keach Northey Award -- Abe Metzler of <u>East</u> <u>Missoula</u>; \$250 Great Falls Newspaper Guild Award -- Chris Ransick of <u>Missoula</u>; \$100 Newspaper Design Award -- Scott Crandell of <u>Columbia Falls</u>; four \$100 Dean's Awards -- Karen Nichols of <u>Silver Spring, Md.</u>, Joseph Edwin of <u>Petaling Jaya</u>, <u>Malaysia</u>, Kevin McRae of <u>Kalispell</u> and Bruce Whiting of <u>Sidney</u>.

\$100 Robert L. Wolfe Award for photography -- Doug Loneman of <u>Carroll, Iowa</u>; \$200 Richard Shirley Scholarship -- Patricia Swan Smith of <u>East Missoula</u>; \$100 Glenn Chaffin Scholarship --Amber Underhill of <u>Lolo</u>; \$250 TV News Documentarian of the Year -- Scott Fralick of <u>Edmonton, Alberta</u>; \$400 David Rorvik Award -- Grant Sasek of <u>East Helena</u>.

Seven \$100 Ronald E. Miller Scholarships -- Barbara Reichert of <u>Huntley</u>, David Kirkpatrick of <u>Livingston</u>, Woody Kipp of <u>Browning</u>; Kjetil Rod of <u>Aukra, Norway</u>, Eric Johnson of <u>Missoula</u>. Shane Vannatta of <u>Bainville</u> and Robert Massee of <u>White Sulphur</u> <u>Springs</u>; Kirkpatrick also won the \$100 Art Jette Kaimin Service Award.

Two \$300 Montana Newspaper Association Dean Stone Awards --

Jour\$.rl -- 3

4

2

Aaron Aylsworth of <u>Eagle, Colo.</u>, and Joel Drake of <u>Helena</u>; \$300 Norman A. Johnson Memorial Award -- Anette With of <u>Oslo, Norway</u>. With also won the Broadcast Faculty Award.

\$100 Olaf J. Bue Scholarship -- John Firehammer of <u>Bozeman</u>; four \$100 Melvin and Myrtle Lord Awards -- Jim Mann of <u>Missoula</u>, Michelle Willits of <u>Great Falls</u>, Kerie Hagler of Los Angeles, Calif., and Peter Barker of Adelaide, <u>South Australia</u>; \$100 Outstanding Senior Woman Award -- Tammy Mohawk Justice of <u>Libby</u>. Justice also won the Sigma Delta Chi Society of Professional Journalists Award.

\$250 Guy Mooney Award -- Janelle Ruffcorn of Spokane; \$200
Don Durgin Memorial Award -- Thom Jensen of Missoula; \$1,000
Scripps Howard Scholarship -- Kevin Grieves of Missoula; \$500
Myre-McGaugh Journalism Scholarship -- Sam Gomez of Billings;
\$500 Lee Newspapers Award -- Grant Sasek of East Helena.

Three Great Falls Tribune Awards: \$500 -- Todd Goodrich of <u>Troy</u>; \$500 -- Lou Joon Yee of <u>Taiping, Malaysia</u>; \$1,000 -- Bruce Farling of <u>Downington, Pa.</u>; two \$850 D.J. Shults Journalism Scholarships -- Judy Matovich of <u>Missoula</u> and Dan Rapkoch of <u>Lewistown</u>; \$900 Connie Craney Scholarship -- Richard Lyons of <u>Hamilton</u>; \$1,000 Don Anderson Scholarship -- Carol Roberts of <u>Fort Collins, Colo.</u>

The annual banquet is held in memory of Arthur L. Stone, the founder and first dean of the journalism school.

###

JD hometowns