University of Montana ScholarWorks at University of Montana

Resolutions, 2007-Present

Associated Students of the University of Montana (ASUM)

10-24-2018

SB10-18/19: Resolution Regarding the Open Space Bond and City Stewardship Levy

Morgan Corkish

Tori Koch

Sylvia Borstad

Eli Brown

Brenna Davis

See next page for additional authors

Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/asum_resolutions

Recommended Citation

Corkish, Morgan; Koch, Tori; Borstad, Sylvia; Brown, Eli; Davis, Brenna; and Parsons, Daniel, "SB10-18/19: Resolution Regarding the Open Space Bond and City Stewardship Levy" (2018). *Resolutions, 2007-Present.* 685. https://scholarworks.umt.edu/asum_resolutions/685

This Institutional Document is brought to you for free and open access by the Associated Students of the University of Montana (ASUM) at ScholarWorks at University of Montana. It has been accepted for inclusion in Resolutions, 2007-Present by an authorized administrator of ScholarWorks at University of Montana. For more information, please contact scholarworks@mso.umt.edu.

Creator

Morgan Corkish, Tori Koch, Sylvia Borstad, Eli Brown, Brenna Davis, and Daniel Parsons

This institutional document is available at ScholarWorks at University of Montana: https://scholarworks.umt.edu/asum_resolutions/ 685

1	The Associated Students of the University of Montana	
2	Resolution Regarding the Open Space Bond and City Stewardship Levy	
3	October 15 th , 2018	
4	SB10-18/19	
5	Authored by: Morgan Corkish, ASUM Senator; Tori Koch, ASUM Senator;	
6	Sponsored by: Sylvia Borstad, ASUM Senator; Eli Brown, ASUM Senator; Brenna Mae	
7	Davis, ASUM Senator; and Daniel Parsons, ASUM Senator;	
8		
9	Whereas, The passing of the Open Space Bond (OSB) would provide approximately \$15 million	
10 11	to Missoula County for acquisitions of land and capital improvements on existing space;	
12	Whereas, These funds may be utilized for, but are not limited to, the improvement of Clark Fork	
13	River access between the Madison Street Bridge and Higgins Street Bridge. This improvement	
14	would include the addition of Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) accessible pathways,	
15	additional riverside beaches, and revegetation for controlled river access;	
16		
17	Whereas, These funds may be utilized for, but are not limited to, the building of additional trail	
18	corridors throughout Missoula to provide safe access to recreational activities for citizens;	
19		
20	Whereas, The passing of the City Stewardship Levy (CSL) would provide approximately	
21 22	\$500,000 a year to cover the cost of preservation for the lands and projects acquired by the OSB;	
23	Whereas, This preservation may include, but is not limited to, the cleaning of homeless	
24	encampments, managing weed populations, improving parking structures near trailheads and	
25	water access points, as well as general trail management;	
26		
27	Whereas, The total cost to property owners for the joint passing of the OSB and CSL would be	
28 29	approximately \$2.50 per month, based on the average property value in the City of Missoula;	
29 30	Whereas, Missoula has historically shown support for similar initiatives, including the OSB	
31	passed in 2006 which provided \$10 million in tax collections from the community, an amount	
32	that was then matched by various Missoula businesses and coalitions to total \$40 million;	
33		
34	Whereas, The passing of the above initiatives would assist University of Montana students and	
35	faculty in upholding our mission to "partner with place" by connecting them to additional and	
36	improved outdoor recreational activities;	
37		
38	Therefore, Let Be Resolved, That ASUM endorses the OSB and CSL appearing on the	
39 40	November 6th, 2018 ballot; Therefore, Let It Be Further Resolved, That this resolution be sent to: Bryan von Lossberg, Hiedi	
40 41	West, Jordan Hess, Mirtha Becerra, Heather Harp, Gwen Jones, John DiBari, Jesse L. Ramos,	
42	Stacie M. Anderson, Julie Armstrong, Michelle Cares, and Julie Merritt, Missoula City Council	
43	Members; Seth Bodnar, President of the University of Montana; Jane Kelly, Missoula	
44	Neighborhoods Coordinator; Jean Curtiss, Cola Rowley, and David Strohmaier, Missoula	

45 County Commissioners.

46		
47		
48	Passed by Committee:	, 2018
49		
50	Passed by ASUM Senate:	, 2018
51		
52		
53		
54		
55	Mariah Welch,	Brenna Davis,
56	Chair of the Senate	Vice Chair of Student Political Action