Sound Scripts

Volume 2 | Issue 1

Article 17

2009

Contributor Biographies

Recommended Citation

(2009). Contributor Biographies. *Sound Scripts*, 2(1). Retrieved from https://ro.ecu.edu.au/soundscripts/vol2/iss1/17

This Article is posted at Research Online. https://ro.ecu.edu.au/soundscripts/vol2/iss1/17

Contributor Biographies

Keynote Speakers

Michel van der Aa

Dutch composer Michel van der Aa is one of Europe's most sought-after contemporary composers. For Van der Aa, music is more than just organised sound or structured notes. Rather, his music possesses expressive power and an idiomatic stage sensibility comprised of ever-changing combinations of sounds, images, poetry, the virtual and the real. Van der Aa studied composition with Diderik Wagenaar, Gilius van Bergeijk and Louis Andriessen, as well as film-making and direction at the New York Film Academy. Van der Aa is the winner of numerous international awards, including the prestigious 2006 Paul Hindemith Prize. Michel van der Aa's THNMF visit is supported by the Netherlands Culture Fund, Gaudeamus, Donemus and Dutch Jazz Connection.

Philip Brophy

Philip Brophy has scored and sound-designed his own films as well as numerous other works. Extending across film, video and audio, his current audiovisual projects include the performance of live music to videos/films (the *Beautiful Cyborg Series* and *Aurévélateur*); Dolby 5.1 video installations (*Fluorescent* and *Evaporated Music*); as well as live surround-sound performances (*Voiceless* and *I Am Piano*). Having created the Soundtrack Stream in Media Arts at RMIT, Philip continues to lecture and publish internationally on film, sound, and music. His recent publications include 100 Modern Soundtracks for the British Film Institute, London.

Editor/Convenor

Cat Hope

Cat Hope is a multidisciplinary artist based in Perth, Western Australia whose work is grounded in sound. Trained as a classical flautist she later moved to bass playing, noise, improvisation, rock, video art and installation and is currently the head of composition and music technology at WAAPA, ECU. She is a passionate performer and researcher with an active international publication and touring schedule, as a soloist, academic and in her groups Abe Sada and Decibel. She runs a small label, Bloodstar Music, and is a founding member of sound art collective Metaphonica. Her research interests include low frequency sound, film music and new music performance. She founded the WAAPA Music Research Group, which co-hosts the conference with Tura New Music. www.cathope.com

Co-Editor/Presenter

Jonathan W. Marshall

Jonathan W. Marshall recently relocated from his post as research fellow at the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts, Edith Cowan University, Perth (2004-08), to take up the position of lecturer in Theatre & Performing Arts Studies at the University of Otago, New Zealand. Marshall is a contributor for the national arts magazine, *RealTime Australia* and *TheatreView NZ* (2000-present; www.realtimearts.net; www.theatreview.org.nz). He has written academic & journalistic articles on all aspects of the arts, with a particular specialisation on issues of theatricality and how they interact with medical practice & its history. Marshall's research has appeared in such journals as *Australasian Drama Studies* (2001-03), *Forum for Modern Language Studies* (2007), *Art Bulletin of Victoria* (2007), *Sound Scripts* (2007, 2009), *Modernity/Modernism* (2008) and *About Performance* (2008). Marshall was a convenor of the 2008 Fotofreo Conference and is a member of the organising committee of the 2009 Australasian Drama Studies Association Conference in Perth.